A simple favor: a novel
(eBook)

Book Cover
Average Rating
Published:
New York, NY : Harper, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers, [2017].
ISBN:
9780062497796 :, 0062497790 :
Status:
Axis 360
Description
<p>Soon to be a major motion picture from Lionsgate starring Anna Kendrick, Blake Lively and Henry Golding, and directed by Paul Feig</p><p><strong>"Riveting and brilliantly structured, <em>A Simple Favor</em> is an edge-of-your seat domestic thriller about a missing wife and mother that relies on a rotating cast of unreliable narrators to ingeniously examine the cost of competitive mom-friends, the toll of ordinary marital discontent and the fallacy of the picture-perfect, suburban family."—Kimberly McCreight, <em>New York Times</em> bestselling author</strong></p><p><em>She’s your best friend.</em></p><p><em>She knows all your secrets.</em></p><p><em>That’s why she’s so dangerous.</em></p><p>A single mother's life is turned upside down when her best friend vanishes in this chilling debut thriller in the vein of <em>Gone Girl </em>and <em>The Girl on the Train.</em></p><p>It starts with a simple favor—an ordinary kindness mothers do for one another. When her best friend, Emily, asks Stephanie to pick up her son Nicky after school, she happily says yes. Nicky and her son, Miles, are classmates and best friends, and the five-year-olds love being together—just like she and Emily. A widow and stay-at-home mommy blogger living in woodsy suburban Connecticut, Stephanie was lonely until she met Emily, a sophisticated PR executive whose job in Manhattan demands so much of her time. </p><p>But Emily doesn’t come back. She doesn’t answer calls or return texts. Stephanie knows something is terribly wrong—Emily would never leave Nicky, no matter what the police say. Terrified, she reaches out to her blog readers for help. She also reaches out to Emily’s husband, the handsome, reticent Sean, offering emotional support. It’s the least she can do for her best friend. Then, she and Sean receive shocking news. Emily is dead. The nightmare of her disappearance is over.</p><p>Or is it? Because soon, Stephanie will begin to see that nothing—not friendship, love, or even an ordinary favor—is as simple as it seems. </p><p><em>A Simple Favor</em> is a remarkable tale of psychological suspense—a clever and twisting free-fall of a ride filled with betrayals and reversals, twists and turns, secrets and revelations, love and loyalty, murder and revenge. Darcey Bell masterfully ratchets up the tension in a taut, unsettling, and completely absorbing story that holds you in its grip until the final page.</p><p></p>
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
Format:
eBook
Edition:
First edition.
Language:
English

Notes

Description
"She's your best friend. She knows all your secrets. That's why she's so dangerous. A single mother's life is turned upside down when her best friend vanishes, in this chilling debut thriller in the vein of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train"--,Provided by publisher.
Description
"A debut psychological thriller--in the vein of GONE GIRL or GIRL ON A TRAIN--that focuses on a mommy blogger, her best friend who disappears suddenly, and the latter's husband--with betrayals and reversals, a dead body, and the ever-revolving question of who is duping whom"--,Provided by publisher.
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Tagging
Tags:

No Tags, Be the first to tag this record!


Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

Bell, D. (2017). A simple favor: a novel. First edition. New York, NY: Harper, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Bell, Darcey. 2017. A Simple Favor: A Novel. New York, NY: Harper, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Bell, Darcey, A Simple Favor: A Novel. New York, NY: Harper, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers, 2017.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Bell, Darcey. A Simple Favor: A Novel. First edition. New York, NY: Harper, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers, 2017. Web.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2010. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
48054b99-2b19-8a1a-4148-f807c69a8ca3
Go To GroupedWork

Record Information

Last File Modification TimeSep 02, 2020 12:14:59 AM
Last Grouped Work Modification TimeJan 25, 2022 04:40:49 AM

MARC Record

LEADER02737nam a2200577 i 4500
001oc2018006565
00520180925101602.0
006m     o  d        
007cr un ---uuuuu        
008180206s2017    nyu     o     000 1 eng d
010 |a oc2018006565
020 |a 9780062497796 :
020 |a 0062497790 :
035 |a (OCoLC)973332563|z (OCoLC)1041816427
040 |a NjBwBT|b eng|e rda|c NjBwBT|d UtOrBLW
05000|a PS3602.E45255|b S86 2017
069 |a 03426316
08200|a 813/.6|2 23
084 |a FIC030000|2 bisacsh
1001 |a Bell, Darcey,|e author.
24512|a A simple favor :|b a novel /|c Darcey Bell.
250 |a First edition.
264 1|a New York, NY :|b Harper, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers,|c [2017]
300 |a 1 online resource (298 pages)
336 |a text|b txt|2 rdacontent
337 |a computer|b c|2 rdamedia
338 |a online resource|b cr|2 rdacarrier
347 |a text file|2 rda
520 |a "She's your best friend. She knows all your secrets. That's why she's so dangerous. A single mother's life is turned upside down when her best friend vanishes, in this chilling debut thriller in the vein of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train"--|c Provided by publisher.
588 |a Description based on print version record.
520 |a "A debut psychological thriller--in the vein of GONE GIRL or GIRL ON A TRAIN--that focuses on a mommy blogger, her best friend who disappears suddenly, and the latter's husband--with betrayals and reversals, a dead body, and the ever-revolving question of who is duping whom"--|c Provided by publisher.
650 0|a Single mothers|v Fiction.
650 0|a Bloggers|v Fiction.
650 0|a Female friendship|v Fiction.
650 0|a Missing persons|v Fiction.
650 0|a Deception|v Fiction.
650 7|a Bloggers.|2 fast|0 (OCoLC)fst01940000
650 7|a Deception.|2 fast|0 (OCoLC)fst00888968
650 7|a Female friendship.|2 fast|0 (OCoLC)fst00922609
650 7|a Missing persons.|2 fast|0 (OCoLC)fst01023702
650 7|a Single mothers.|2 fast|0 (OCoLC)fst01119370
650 7|a FICTION / Thrillers / Suspense.|2 bisacsh
655 7|a Psychological fiction.|2 lcgft
650 7|a FICTION / Suspense.|2 bisacsh
655 7|a Suspense fiction.|2 gsafd
655 4|a Electronic books.
655 7|a Fiction.|2 fast|0 (OCoLC)fst01423787
655 7|a Psychological fiction.|2 fast|0 (OCoLC)fst01726481
77608|i Electronic reproduction of (manifestation):|a Bell, Darcey.|t Simple favor|d New York, NY : Harper, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers, [2017]|z 9780062497772|w (DLC) 2016032303|w (OCoLC)947145431
8564 |u http://ereadil.axis360.baker-taylor.com/Title?itemid=0018767458
935 |a NEW917-EBOOK