The Cay

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
For fans of Hatchet and Island of the Blue Dolphins comes Theodore Taylor’s classic bestseller and Lewis Carroll Shelf Award winner, The Cay.   Phillip is excited when the Germans invade the small island of Curaçao. War has always been a game to him, and he’s eager to glimpse it firsthand–until the freighter he and his mother are traveling to the United States on is torpedoed.   When Phillip comes to, he is on a small raft in the middle of the sea. Besides Stew Cat, his only companion is an old West Indian, Timothy. Phillip remembers his mother’s warning about black people: “They are different, and they live differently.”    But by the time the castaways arrive on a small island, Phillip’s head injury has made him blind and dependent on Timothy.“Mr. Taylor has provided an exciting story…The idea that all humanity would benefit from this special form of color blindness permeates the whole book…The result is a story with a high ethical purpose but no sermon.”—New York Times Book Review   “A taut tightly compressed story of endurance and revelation…At once barbed and tender, tense and fragile—as Timothy would say, ‘outrageous good.’”—Kirkus Reviews   * “Fully realized setting…artful, unobtrusive use of dialect…the representation of a hauntingly deep love, the poignancy of which is rarely achieved in children’s literature.”—School Library Journal, Starred   “Starkly dramatic, believable and compelling.”—Saturday Review   “A tense and moving experience in reading.”—Publishers Weekly   “Eloquently underscores the intrinsic brotherhood of man.”—Booklist  "This is one of the best survival stories since Robinson Crusoe."—The Washington Star · A New York Times Best Book of the Year · A School Library Journal Best Book of the Year · A Horn Book Honor Book · An American Library Association Notable Book · A Publishers Weekly Children’s Book to Remember · A Child Study Association’s Pick of Children’s Books of the Year · Jane Addams Book Award · Lewis Carroll Shelf Award · Commonwealth Club of California: Literature Award · Southern California Council on Literature for Children and Young People Award · Woodward School Annual Book Award · Friends of the Library Award, University of California at Irvine
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780739345351
9780307800145
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Tagging
Tags:

No Tags, Be the first to tag this record!


Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID02bdad74-12df-7bda-bac6-f5cf64b70311
Grouping Titlecay
Grouping Authortheodore taylor
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2020-11-29 04:58:48AM
Last Indexed2020-11-29 05:13:04AM
Novelist Primary ISBN9780385079068

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
authorTheodore Taylor
author2-role3M Company.
Baker & Taylor Axis 360.
author_displayTaylor, Theodore
detailed_location_addisonAxis 360
Online OverDrive Collection
display_descriptionFor fans of Hatchet and Island of the Blue Dolphins comes Theodore Taylor’s classic bestseller and Lewis Carroll Shelf Award winner, The Cay.
   Phillip is excited when the Germans invade the small island of Curaçao. War has always been a game to him, and he’s eager to glimpse it firsthand–until the freighter he and his mother are traveling to the United States on is torpedoed.
   When Phillip comes to, he is on a small raft in the middle of the sea. Besides Stew Cat, his only companion is an old West Indian, Timothy. Phillip remembers his mother’s warning about black people: “They are different, and they live differently.”
    But by the time the castaways arrive on a small island, Phillip’s head injury has made him blind and dependent on Timothy.
“Mr. Taylor has provided an exciting story…The idea that all humanity would benefit from this special form of color blindness permeates the whole book…The result is a story with a high ethical purpose but no sermon.”—New York Times Book Review
 
“A taut tightly compressed story of endurance and revelation…At once barbed and tender, tense and fragile—as Timothy would say, ‘outrageous good.’”—Kirkus Reviews
 
* “Fully realized setting…artful, unobtrusive use of dialect…the representation of a hauntingly deep love, the poignancy of which is rarely achieved in children’s literature.”—School Library Journal, Starred
 
“Starkly dramatic, believable and compelling.”—Saturday Review
 
“A tense and moving experience in reading.”—Publishers Weekly
 
“Eloquently underscores the intrinsic brotherhood of man.”—Booklist
 
"This is one of the best survival stories since Robinson Crusoe."—The Washington Star
· A New York Times Best Book of the Year
· A School Library Journal Best Book of the Year
· A Horn Book Honor Book
· An American Library Association Notable Book
· A Publishers Weekly Children’s Book to Remember
· A Child Study Association’s Pick of Children’s Books of the Year
· Jane Addams Book Award
· Lewis Carroll Shelf Award
· Commonwealth Club of California: Literature Award
· Southern California Council on Literature for Children and Young People Award
· Woodward School Annual Book Award
· Friends of the Library Award, University of California at Irvine
format_addisoneAudiobook
eBook
format_category_addisonAudio Books
eBook
eBooks
id02bdad74-12df-7bda-bac6-f5cf64b70311
isbn9780307800145
9780739345351
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
axis360:bk0012209910bk0012209910Axis 360Online Axis 360eAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueAxis 360http://ereadil.axis360.baker-taylor.com/Title?itemid=0012209910Available OnlineAxis 360
overdrive:7b5462d2-dbe9-40d2-985f-2ae390a86e30-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook1falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadChecked Out
external_econtent:ils:.b12556373Online1falsetrueCloud Libraryhttp://ebook.3m.com/library/AddisonPublicLibrary-document_id-vv5g9Available Onlinejd
itype_addisoneCollection
last_indexed2020-11-29T11:13:04.783Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
local_callnumber_addisonOnline
owning_library_addisonAddison Public Library Online
primary_isbn9780739345351
publishDate2011
2017
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
axis360:bk0012209910eAudiobookAudio BooksUnabridged.EnglishRandom House Digital Dist, 2017.1 online resource
overdrive:7b5462d2-dbe9-40d2-985f-2ae390a86e30eBookeBookEnglishRandom House Children's Books2011
external_econtent:ils:.b12556373eBookeBooksEnglishRandom House Children's Books, 2011.144 p.
ils:.b12556373eBookeBooksEnglishRandom House Children's Books, 2011.144 p.
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_addison
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
axis360:bk0012209910bk0012209910Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsefalse
overdrive:7b5462d2-dbe9-40d2-985f-2ae390a86e30-1Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsefalse
external_econtent:ils:.b12556373Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsetrue
subject_facetElectronic books
JUVENILE FICTION / Action & Adventure / Survival Stories
JUVENILE FICTION / Classics
JUVENILE FICTION / Social Issues / Prejudice & Racism
Other -- People & Places
title_displayThe Cay
title_fullThe Cay
The Cay Taylor, Theodore.
The Cay [electronic resource] Taylor, Theodore.
title_shortThe Cay
topic_facetClassic Literature
JUVENILE FICTION / Action & Adventure / Survival Stories
JUVENILE FICTION / Classics
JUVENILE FICTION / Social Issues / Prejudice & Racism
Juvenile Fiction
Juvenile Literature
Other