Farewell to the East End

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Ecco
Pub. Date:
2013
Language:
English
Description
The third and final book in the bestselling 'Call the Midwife' series
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780062270078
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Tagging
Tags:

No Tags, Be the first to tag this record!


Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID0eb728a8-86e9-5c94-3a70-08a94fc8a82d
Grouping Titlefarewell to the east end
Grouping Authorjennifer worth
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2021-06-20 05:18:11AM
Last Indexed2021-06-20 05:34:14AM
Novelist Primary ISBN9780297844655

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
authorJennifer Worth
author_displayJennifer Worth
available_at_addisonOnline OverDrive Collection
detailed_location_addisonOnline OverDrive Collection
display_description

The last book in the trilogy begun by Jennifer Worth's New York Times bestseller and the basis for the PBS series Call the Midwife

When twenty-two-year-old Jennifer Worth, from a comfortable middle-class upbringing, went to work as a midwife in the poorest section of postwar London, she not only delivered hundreds of babies and touched many lives, she also became the neighborhood's most vivid chronicler. Call the Midwife: Farewell to the East End is the last book in Worth's memoir trilogy, which the Times Literary Supplement described as "powerful stories with sweet charm and controlled outrage" in the face of dire circumstances.

Here, at last, is the full story of Chummy's delightful courtship and wedding. We also meet Megan'mave, identical twins who share a browbeaten husband, and return to Sister Monica Joan, who is in top eccentric form. As in Worth's first two books, Call the Midwife: A Memoir of Birth, Joy, and Hard Times and Call the Midwife: Shadows of the Workhouse, the vividly portrayed denizens of a postwar East End contend with the trials of extreme poverty--unsanitary conditions, hunger, and disease--and find surprising ways to thrive in their tightly knit community.

A rich portrait of a bygone era of comradeship and midwifery populated by unforgettable characters, Call the Midwife: Farewell to the East End will appeal to readers of Frank McCourt, Katherine Boo, and James Herriot, as well as to the fans of the acclaimed PBS show based on the trilogy.

format_addisoneBook
format_category_addisoneBook
id0eb728a8-86e9-5c94-3a70-08a94fc8a82d
isbn9780062270078
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
overdrive:18a6953f-9b95-4ad2-a3e1-764eae96aaed1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook0falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
overdrive:18a6953f-9b95-4ad2-a3e1-764eae96aaed-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook1falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
last_indexed2021-06-20T10:34:14.446Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formNon Fiction
literary_form_fullNon Fiction
local_callnumber_addisonOnline OverDrive
owning_library_addisonAddison Public Library Online
owning_location_addisonOnline OverDrive Collection
primary_isbn9780062270078
publishDate2013
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
overdrive:18a6953f-9b95-4ad2-a3e1-764eae96aaedeBookeBookEnglishEcco2013
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_addison
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:18a6953f-9b95-4ad2-a3e1-764eae96aaed1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
overdrive:18a6953f-9b95-4ad2-a3e1-764eae96aaed-1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
seriesCall the midwife trilogy
series_with_volumeCall the midwife trilogy|
title_displayFarewell to the East End
title_fullFarewell to the East End
title_shortFarewell to the East End
topic_facetBiography & Autobiography
History
Medical
Nonfiction