Counting by 7s

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Accelerated Reader:
IL: MG - BL: 5.6 - AR Pts: 10
Lexile measure:
770L
Description
A New York Times BestsellerIn the tradition of Out of My Mind, Wonder, and Mockingbird, this is an intensely moving middle grade novel about being an outsider, coping with loss, and discovering the true meaning of family. Willow Chance is a twelve-year-old genius, obsessed with nature and diagnosing medical conditions, who finds it comforting to count by 7s. It has never been easy for her to connect with anyone other than her adoptive parents, but that hasn&;t kept her from leading a quietly happy life . . . until now.   Suddenly Willow&;s world is tragically changed when her parents both die in a car crash, leaving her alone in a baffling world. The triumph of this book is that it is not a tragedy. This extraordinarily odd, but extraordinarily endearing, girl manages to push through her grief. Her journey to find a fascinatingly diverse and fully believable surrogate family is a joy and a revelation to read.  * &;Willow's story is one of renewal, and her journey of rebuilding the ties that unite people as a family will stay in readers' hearts long after the last page.&;&;School Library Journal starred review* &;A graceful, meaningful tale featuring a cast of charming, well-rounded characters who learn sweet&;but never cloying&;lessons about resourcefulness, community, and true resilience in the face of loss.&;&;Booklist starred review* &;What sets this novel apart from the average orphan-finds-a-home book is its lack of sentimentality, its truly multicultural cast (Willow describes herself as a &;person of color&;; Mai and Quang-ha are of mixed Vietnamese, African American, and Mexican ancestry), and its tone. . . . Poignant.&;&;The Horn Book starred review"In achingly beautiful prose, Holly Goldberg Sloan has written a delightful tale of transformation that&;s a celebration of life in all its wondrous, hilarious and confounding glory. Counting by 7s is a triumph."&;Maria Semple, author of Where&;d You Go, Bernadette
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780142422861
9781101591352
9781524774967
9780803738553
9781624069031
Accelerated Reader:
MG
Level 5.6, 10 Points
Lexile measure:
770L
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Tagging
Tags:

No Tags, Be the first to tag this record!


Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID1d27905c-5fe9-5af6-7e29-2d9598654e79
Grouping Titlecounting by 7s
Grouping Authorholly goldberg sloan
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2020-11-25 22:00:01PM
Last Indexed2020-11-25 22:02:30PM
Novelist Primary ISBNnone

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_levelMG
accelerated_reader_point_value10
accelerated_reader_reading_level5.6
auth_author2Miles, Robin,
Miles, Robin.
authorHolly Goldberg Sloan
author2-roleMiles, Robin,narrator.
Miles, Robin.
hoopla digital.
author_displaySloan, Holly Goldberg
available_at_addisonAddison Public Library
collection_addisonChildren
detailed_location_addison1st Floor- Children's Audio Books
1st Floor- Children's Books
Axis 360
Online Hoopla Collection
Online OverDrive Collection
display_descriptionTwelve-year-old genius and outsider Willow Chance must figure out how to connect with other people and find a surrogate family for herself after her parents are killed in a car accident.
format_addisonBook
Book on CD
eAudiobook
eBook
format_category_addisonAudio Books
Books
eBook
id1d27905c-5fe9-5af6-7e29-2d9598654e79
isbn9780142422861
9780803738553
9781101591352
9781524774967
9781624069031
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
hoopla:MWT11024179Online Hoopla CollectionOnline HooplaeAudiobookAudio Books1falsetruehooplahttps://www.hoopladigital.com/title/11024179?utm_source=MARCAvailable Online
axis360:bl2017021519bl2017021519Axis 360Online Axis 360eAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueAxis 360http://ereadil.axis360.baker-taylor.com/Title?itemid=0013484853Available OnlineAxis 360
overdrive:7c7bdfce-b589-4e07-9ed1-60a8fd1e26f2-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook2falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
ils:.b19633919.i138776161st Floor- Children's Audio BooksjAUDIO BOOK FIC SLOAN H.1falsefalseCheck Shelfjabrb
ils:.b15190845.i133115421st Floor- Children's BooksjFIC SLOAN H.1falsefalseCheck ShelfJun 19, 2018jfic
itype_addisonJuvenile Audiobook on CD
Juvenile Fiction
last_indexed2020-11-26T04:02:30.274Z
lexile_score770
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
local_callnumber_addisonjAUDIO BOOK FIC SLOAN H.
jFIC SLOAN H.
owning_library_addisonAddison Public Library
owning_location_addisonAddison Public Library
primary_isbn9780142422861
publishDate2013
2017
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
hoopla:MWT11024179eAudiobookAudio BooksUnabridged.EnglishDreamscape Media, LLC, 2013.1 online resource (1 audio file (7hr., 15 min.)) : digital.
axis360:bl2017021519eAudiobookAudio BooksUnabridged.EnglishListening Library, [2017]1 online resource (1 audio file)
overdrive:7c7bdfce-b589-4e07-9ed1-60a8fd1e26f2eBookeBookEnglishPenguin Young Readers Group2013
ils:.b19633919Book on CDAudio BooksUnabridged.EnglishListening Library, [2017]6 audio discs (7 hr., 30 min.) : digital ; 4 3/4 in.
ils:.b15190845BookBooksEnglishDial Books for Young Readers, c2013.380 p. ; 22 cm.
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_addison
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
hoopla:MWT11024179Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsefalse
axis360:bl2017021519bl2017021519Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsefalse
overdrive:7c7bdfce-b589-4e07-9ed1-60a8fd1e26f2-1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
ils:.b19633919.i13877616On ShelfCheck Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 12, 20, 21
ils:.b15190845.i13311542On ShelfCheck Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 12, 20, 21
subject_facetAudiobooks
Battle of the Books, Indian Trail 2016-2017
Children's audiobooks
Eccentrics and eccentricities -- Fiction
Eccentrics and eccentricities -- Juvenile fiction
Gardening -- Fiction
Gardening -- Juvenile fiction
Genius -- Fiction
Genius -- Juvenile fiction
High schools -- Juvenile fiction
Orphans -- Fiction
Orphans -- Juvenile fiction
Rebecca Caudill Young Readers' nominee book, 2016
Schools -- Juvenile fiction
title_displayCounting by 7s
title_fullCounting by 7s
Counting by 7s / Holly Goldberg Sloan
Counting by 7s [electronic resource] / Holly Goldberg Sloan
title_shortCounting by 7s
topic_facetEccentrics and eccentricities
Gardening
Genius
High schools
Juvenile Fiction
Juvenile Literature
Orphans
Schools