Revenge of a Not-So-Pretty Girl

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Random House Children's Books
Pub. Date:
2013
Language:
English
Accelerated Reader:
IL: UG - BL: 5.1 - AR Pts: 12
Lexile measure:
HL: High-Low 800L
Description
Fans of Walter Dean Myers and Rita Williams-Garcia's One Crazy Summer will cherish this gripping story of an African American girl living in 1980s Brooklyn, who overcomes abuse and neglect in discovering real friendship, self-respect, and that pretty and mean don't always win.

Girls who are pretty have a way of looking down their perfect noses at anyone they feel isn’t worthy of sharing the air with them. They have a way of making regular girls like me feel inferior for not winning the gene pool lottery. Tormenting them is my way of getting even.
Everyone knows that pretty equals mean, and Evelyn Ryder used to be a beautiful movie star—never mind that it was practically a lifetime ago. There’s no time limit on mean. So if you think I feel guilty about mugging her, think again.
But for something that should have been so simple, it sure went horribly wrong.

A JUNIOR LIBRARY GUILD SELECTION

A Bankstreet Best Book of the Year

"Definitely a page-turner!"--Seventeen.com

“Exhilarating . . . compelling and believable.”—Kirkus Reviews, Starred

“A well-told story of an empowering friendship.”—The Bulletin, Recommended

“This realistic portrayal of emotions, decisions, and hardships will appeal to teens who are also struggling with their identities.”—SLJ

“Blythe, in her first book for teens, explores karma, guilt, morality, and taking responsibility for one’s actions. . . . the story provides a thoughtful glimpse of what it’s like to reevaluate one’s life at any age.”—Publisher’s Weekly

“This is a classic coming-of-age story . . . Faye’s personal growth and her eventual escape from a dark home life are rewarding.”—Booklist

Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780307978455
Accelerated Reader:
UG
Level 5.1, 12 Points
Lexile measure:
HL: High-Low 800L
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Tagging
Tags:

No Tags, Be the first to tag this record!


Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID204e7e93-6fa8-d056-0939-33d014d0b23f
Grouping Titlerevenge of a not so pretty girl
Grouping Authorcarolita blythe
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2021-07-28 04:51:48AM
Last Indexed2021-07-28 05:11:38AM
Novelist Primary ISBN9780385742863

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_levelUG
accelerated_reader_point_value12
accelerated_reader_reading_level5.1
authorCarolita Blythe
author_displayCarolita Blythe
available_at_addisonOnline OverDrive Collection
detailed_location_addisonOnline OverDrive Collection
display_descriptionFans of Walter Dean Myers and Rita Williams-Garcia's One Crazy Summer will cherish this gripping story of an African American girl living in 1980s Brooklyn, who overcomes abuse and neglect in discovering real friendship, self-respect, and that pretty and mean don't always win.
  Girls who are pretty have a way of looking down their perfect noses at anyone they feel isn’t worthy of sharing the air with them. They have a way of making regular girls like me feel inferior for not winning the gene pool lottery. Tormenting them is my way of getting even.
Everyone knows that pretty equals mean, and Evelyn Ryder used to be a beautiful movie star—never mind that it was practically a lifetime ago. There’s no time limit on mean. So if you think I feel guilty about mugging her, think again.
But for something that should have been so simple, it sure went horribly wrong. 
A JUNIOR LIBRARY GUILD SELECTION

A Bankstreet Best Book of the Year
"Definitely a page-turner!"—Seventeen.com

“Exhilarating . . . compelling and believable.”—Kirkus Reviews, Starred
“A well-told story of an empowering friendship.”—The Bulletin, Recommended
“This realistic portrayal of emotions, decisions, and hardships will appeal to teens who are also struggling with their identities.”—SLJ
“Blythe, in her first book for teens, explores karma, guilt, morality, and taking responsibility for one’s actions.  . . . the story provides a thoughtful glimpse of what it’s like to reevaluate one’s life at any age.”—Publisher’s Weekly
 
“This is a classic coming-of-age story . . . Faye’s personal growth and her eventual escape from a dark home life are rewarding.”—Booklist
format_addisoneBook
format_category_addisoneBook
id204e7e93-6fa8-d056-0939-33d014d0b23f
isbn9780307978455
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
overdrive:d9f6ec0e-c8bc-48be-88f9-97b8f12742c11Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook0falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
overdrive:d9f6ec0e-c8bc-48be-88f9-97b8f12742c1-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook1falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
last_indexed2021-07-28T10:11:38.278Z
lexile_codeHL: High-Low
lexile_score800
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
local_callnumber_addisonOnline OverDrive
owning_library_addisonAddison Public Library Online
owning_location_addisonOnline OverDrive Collection
primary_isbn9780307978455
publishDate2013
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
overdrive:d9f6ec0e-c8bc-48be-88f9-97b8f12742c1eBookeBookEnglishRandom House Children's Books2013
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_addison
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:d9f6ec0e-c8bc-48be-88f9-97b8f12742c11Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
overdrive:d9f6ec0e-c8bc-48be-88f9-97b8f12742c1-1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
title_displayRevenge of a Not-So-Pretty Girl
title_fullRevenge of a Not-So-Pretty Girl
title_shortRevenge of a Not-So-Pretty Girl
topic_facetYoung Adult Fiction
Young Adult Literature