Revenge of a Not-So-Pretty Girl

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Accelerated Reader:
IL: UG - BL: 5.1 - AR Pts: 12
Lexile measure:
HL: High-Low 800L
Description
Fans of Walter Dean Myers and Rita Williams-Garcia's One Crazy Summer will cherish this gripping story of an African American girl living in 1980s Brooklyn, who overcomes abuse and neglect in discovering real friendship, self-respect, and that pretty and mean don't always win.
  Girls who are pretty have a way of looking down their perfect noses at anyone they feel isn’t worthy of sharing the air with them. They have a way of making regular girls like me feel inferior for not winning the gene pool lottery. Tormenting them is my way of getting even.
Everyone knows that pretty equals mean, and Evelyn Ryder used to be a beautiful movie star—never mind that it was practically a lifetime ago. There’s no time limit on mean. So if you think I feel guilty about mugging her, think again.
But for something that should have been so simple, it sure went horribly wrong. 
A JUNIOR LIBRARY GUILD SELECTION

A Bankstreet Best Book of the Year
"Definitely a page-turner!"—Seventeen.com

“Exhilarating . . . compelling and believable.”—Kirkus Reviews, Starred
“A well-told story of an empowering friendship.”—The Bulletin, Recommended
“This realistic portrayal of emotions, decisions, and hardships will appeal to teens who are also struggling with their identities.”—SLJ
“Blythe, in her first book for teens, explores karma, guilt, morality, and taking responsibility for one’s actions.  . . . the story provides a thoughtful glimpse of what it’s like to reevaluate one’s life at any age.”—Publisher’s Weekly
 
“This is a classic coming-of-age story . . . Faye’s personal growth and her eventual escape from a dark home life are rewarding.”—Booklist
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9781666160079
9780307978455
Accelerated Reader:
UG
Level 5.1, 12 Points
Lexile measure:
HL: High-Low 800L
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Tagging
Tags:

No Tags, Be the first to tag this record!


Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID204e7e93-6fa8-d056-0939-33d014d0b23f
Grouping Titlerevenge of a not so pretty girl
Grouping Authorcarolita blythe
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2022-12-01 04:40:42AM
Last Indexed2022-12-01 05:08:51AM

Solr Fields

accelerated_reader_interest_level
UG
accelerated_reader_point_value
12
accelerated_reader_reading_level
5.1
auth_author2
Abbott-Pratt, Joniece
author
Blythe, Carolita
author2-role
Abbott-Pratt, Joniece
hoopla digital
author_display
Blythe, Carolita
available_at_addison
Online OverDrive Collection
detailed_location_addison
Online Hoopla Collection
Online OverDrive Collection
display_description
Fans of Walter Dean Myers and Rita Williams-Garcia's One Crazy Summer will cherish this gripping story of an African American girl living in 1980s Brooklyn, who overcomes abuse and neglect in discovering real friendship, self-respect, and that pretty and mean don't always win.
  Girls who are pretty have a way of looking down their perfect noses at anyone they feel isn’t worthy of sharing the air with them. They have a way of making regular girls like me feel inferior for not winning the gene pool lottery. Tormenting them is my way of getting even.
Everyone knows that pretty equals mean, and Evelyn Ryder used to be a beautiful movie star—never mind that it was practically a lifetime ago. There’s no time limit on mean. So if you think I feel guilty about mugging her, think again.
But for something that should have been so simple, it sure went horribly wrong. 
A JUNIOR LIBRARY GUILD SELECTION

A Bankstreet Best Book of the Year
"Definitely a page-turner!"—Seventeen.com

“Exhilarating . . . compelling and believable.”—Kirkus Reviews, Starred
“A well-told story of an empowering friendship.”—The Bulletin, Recommended
“This realistic portrayal of emotions, decisions, and hardships will appeal to teens who are also struggling with their identities.”—SLJ
“Blythe, in her first book for teens, explores karma, guilt, morality, and taking responsibility for one’s actions.  . . . the story provides a thoughtful glimpse of what it’s like to reevaluate one’s life at any age.”—Publisher’s Weekly
 
“This is a classic coming-of-age story . . . Faye’s personal growth and her eventual escape from a dark home life are rewarding.”—Booklist
format_addison
eAudiobook
eBook
format_category_addison
Audio Books
eBook
id
204e7e93-6fa8-d056-0939-33d014d0b23f
isbn
9780307978455
9781666160079
last_indexed
2022-12-01T11:08:51.534Z
lexile_code
HL: High-Low
lexile_score
800
literary_form
Fiction
literary_form_full
Fiction
local_callnumber_addison
Online OverDrive
owning_library_addison
Addison Public Library Online
owning_location_addison
Online OverDrive Collection
primary_isbn
9781666160079
publishDate
2013
2022
publisher
Random House Children's Books
Tantor Media, Inc
recordtype
grouped_work
subject_facet
African Americans -- Fiction
African Americans -- Juvenile fiction
Bildungsromans
Brooklyn (New York, N.Y.) -- Fiction
Brooklyn (New York, N.Y.) -- Juvenile fiction
Catholic schools -- Fiction
Catholic schools -- Juvenile fiction
Conduct of life -- Fiction
Conduct of life -- Juvenile fiction
Family problems -- Fiction
Family problems -- Juvenile fiction
Mothers and daughters -- Fiction
Mothers and daughters -- Juvenile fiction
Old age -- Fiction
Old age -- Juvenile fiction
Schools -- Fiction
Schools -- Juvenile fiction
title_display
Revenge of a Not-So-Pretty Girl
title_full
Revenge of a Not-So-Pretty Girl
Revenge of a not-so-pretty girl [electronic resource] / Carolita Blythe
title_short
Revenge of a Not-So-Pretty Girl
topic_facet
African Americans
Catholic schools
Conduct of life
Family problems
Mothers and daughters
Old age
Schools
Young Adult Fiction
Young Adult Literature

Solr Details Tables

item_details

Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent URLDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocation
overdrive:d9f6ec0e-c8bc-48be-88f9-97b8f12742c1-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook1falsetrueOverDriveAvailable Online
overdrive:d9f6ec0e-c8bc-48be-88f9-97b8f12742c11Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook0falsetrueOverDriveAvailable Online
hoopla:MWT14587318Online Hoopla CollectionOnline HooplaeAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueHooplahttps://www.hoopladigital.com/title/14587318?utm_source=MARCAvailable Online

record_details

Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
overdrive:d9f6ec0e-c8bc-48be-88f9-97b8f12742c1eBookeBookEnglishRandom House Children's Books2013
hoopla:MWT14587318eAudiobookAudio BooksUnabridgedEnglishTantor Media, Inc20221 online resource (1 audio file (540 min.)) : digital.

scoping_details_addison

Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:d9f6ec0e-c8bc-48be-88f9-97b8f12742c1-1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
overdrive:d9f6ec0e-c8bc-48be-88f9-97b8f12742c11Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
hoopla:MWT14587318Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsefalse