The story of Arthur Truluv: a novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
Series:
Mason novels volume 1.
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
“I dare you to read this novel and not fall in love with Arthur Truluv. His story will make you laugh and cry, and will show you a love that never ends, and what it means to be truly human.”—Fannie FlaggAn emotionally powerful novel about three people who each lose the one they love most, only to find second chances where they least expect them“Fans of Meg Wolitzer, Emma Straub, or [Elizabeth] Berg’s previous novels will appreciate the richly complex characters and clear prose. Redemptive without being maudlin, this story of two misfits lucky to have found one another will tug at readers’ heartstrings.”—Booklist For the past six months, Arthur Moses’s days have looked the same: He tends to his rose garden and to Gordon, his cat, then rides the bus to the cemetery to visit his beloved late wife for lunch. The last thing Arthur would imagine is for one unlikely encounter to utterly transform his life.  Eighteen-year-old Maddy Harris is an introspective girl who visits the cemetery to escape the other kids at school. One afternoon she joins Arthur—a gesture that begins a surprising friendship between two lonely souls. Moved by Arthur’s kindness and devotion, Maddy gives him the nickname “Truluv.” As Arthur’s neighbor Lucille moves into their orbit, the unlikely trio band together and, through heartache and hardships, help one another rediscover their own potential to start anew. Wonderfully written and full of profound observations about life, The Story of Arthur Truluv is a beautiful and moving novel of compassion in the face of loss, of the small acts that turn friends into family, and of the possibilities to achieve happiness at any age.Praise for The Story of Arthur Truluv“For several days after [finishing The Story of Arthur Truluv], I felt lifted by it, and I found myself telling friends, also feeling overwhelmed by 2017, about the book. Read this, I said, it will offer some balance to all that has happened, and it is a welcome reminder we’re all neighbors here.”Chicago Tribune “Not since Paul Zindel’s classic The Pigman have we seen such a unique bond between people who might not look twice at each other in real life. This small, mighty novel offers proof that they should.”People, Book of the Week
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9781400069903
9780679605133
9781501954764
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Tagging
Tags:

No Tags, Be the first to tag this record!


Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID2168bc44-5cc8-2d78-b733-125da420249c
Grouping Titlestory of arthur truluv
Grouping Authorelizabeth berg
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2020-11-23 04:51:30AM
Last Indexed2020-11-23 05:05:26AM
Novelist Primary ISBN9781400069903

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
auth_author2Berg, Elizabeth.
authorElizabeth Berg
author2-roleBerg, Elizabeth.
cloudLibrary.
hoopla digital.
author_displayBerg, Elizabeth
available_at_addisonAddison Public Library
collection_addisonAdults
detailed_location_addison2nd Floor- Adult Books
Axis 360
Online Hoopla Collection
Online OverDrive Collection
display_description"Truluv is a moving novel about three people who have lost the person they love most, and must find their way back to happiness. Arthur, a widower, meets Maddy, an angry and friendless teenage girl, while visiting his late wife at the cemetery, where he goes every day for lunch. Against all odds, the two strike up a friendship that pulls them out of a serious rut. They band together with Arthur's nosy neighbor Lucille, to create lives that are truly worth living. Proving that life's most precious moments are sweeter when shared, they go from strangers, to friends, to an untraditional but loving family. Betrayal, loneliness, romance and family are at the heart of this honey of a book, a must-read for fans of Elizabeth Berg's early work. This is a story about life being affirmed at all ages, old and young, and about finding happiness when hope seems lost. Readers will laugh, cry, and love Truluv"--
format_addisonBook
eAudiobook
eBook
format_category_addisonAudio Books
Books
eBook
eBooks
id2168bc44-5cc8-2d78-b733-125da420249c
isbn9780679605133
9781400069903
9781501954764
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
external_econtent:ils:.b20577783Online1falsetrueCloud Libraryhttps://ebook.yourcloudlibrary.com/library/AddisonPublicLibrary-document_id-nnsqez9Available Onlinead
hoopla:MWT13521319Online Hoopla CollectionOnline HooplaeAudiobookAudio Books1falsetruehooplahttps://www.hoopladigital.com/title/13521319?utm_source=MARCAvailable Online
overdrive:1f863958-af0d-4036-87b6-196e4239deaf-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook5falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
ils:.b19627270.i139752012nd Floor- Adult BooksFIC BERG E.1falsefalseCheck ShelfJun 22, 2020afic
ils:.b19627270.i139751952nd Floor- Adult BooksFIC BERG E.1falsefalseCheck ShelfFeb 15, 2020afic
axis360:bl2017030377bl2017030377Axis 360Online Axis 360eBookeBook1falsetrueAxis 360http://ereadil.axis360.baker-taylor.com/Title?itemid=0019779497Available OnlineAxis 360
itype_addisonFiction
eCollection
last_indexed2020-11-23T11:05:26.58Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
local_callnumber_addisonFIC BERG E.
Online
owning_library_addisonAddison Public Library
Addison Public Library Online
owning_location_addisonAddison Public Library
primary_isbn9781400069903
publishDate2017
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
ils:.b20577783eBookeBooksEnglishRandom House Publishing Group, 2017.240 p.
external_econtent:ils:.b20577783eBookeBooksEnglishRandom House Publishing Group, 2017.240 p.
hoopla:MWT13521319eAudiobookAudio BooksUnabridged.EnglishRecorded Books, Inc., 2017.1 online resource (1 audio file (6hr., 53 min.)) : digital.
overdrive:1f863958-af0d-4036-87b6-196e4239deafeBookeBookEnglishRandom House Publishing Group2017
ils:.b19627270BookBooksFirst edition.EnglishRandom House, [2017]222 pages ; 22 cm.
axis360:bl2017030377eBookeBookFirst edition.EnglishRandom House, [2017]1 online resource
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_addison
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
external_econtent:ils:.b20577783Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsetrue
hoopla:MWT13521319Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsefalse
overdrive:1f863958-af0d-4036-87b6-196e4239deaf-1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
ils:.b19627270.i13975201On ShelfCheck Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 12, 20, 21
ils:.b19627270.i13975195On ShelfCheck Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 12, 20, 21
axis360:bl2017030377bl2017030377Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsefalse
seriesMason novels
series_with_volumeMason novels|1
subject_facetContemporary Women -- FICTION
Domestic fiction
Electronic books
FICTION -- Contemporary Women
FICTION -- Family Life
FICTION -- Literary
FICTION / Contemporary Women
FICTION / Family Life
FICTION / Literary
Family Life -- FICTION
Fiction
Interpersonal relations
Interpersonal relations -- Fiction
Literary -- FICTION
Teenage girls
Teenage girls -- Fiction
Widowers
Widowers -- Fiction
title_displayThe story of Arthur Truluv : a novel
title_fullThe Story of Arthur Truluv
The Story of Arthur Truluv A Novel [electronic resource] Berg, Elizabeth.
The story of Arthur Truluv : a novel / Elizabeth Berg
The story of Arthur Truluv : a novel / elizabeth berg
The story of Arthur Truluv : a novel [electronic resource] / Elizabeth Berg
title_shortThe story of Arthur Truluv
title_suba novel
topic_facetContemporary Women
FICTION
FICTION / Contemporary Women
FICTION / Family Life
FICTION / Literary
Family Life
Fiction
Interpersonal relations
Literary
Literature
Teenage girls
Widowers