Between shades of gray

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(0)
4 star
 
(1)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Accelerated Reader:
IL: MG+ - BL: 3.6 - AR Pts: 9
Lexile measure:
HL: High-Low 490L
Description
The inspiration for the major motion picture Ashes in the Snow!"Few books are beautifully written, fewer still are important; this novel is both." --The Washington PostFrom New York Times and international bestseller and Carnegie Medal winner Ruta Sepetys, author of Salt to the Sea, comes a story of loss and of fear -- and ultimately, of survival.New York Times notable bookAn international bestsellerA Carnegie Medal nomineeA William C. Morris Award finalistA Golden Kite Award winnerFifteen-year-old Lina is a Lithuanian girl living an ordinary life -- until Soviet officers invade her home and tear her family apart. Separated from her father and forced onto a crowded train, Lina, her mother, and her young brother make their way to a Siberian work camp, where they are forced to fight for their lives. Lina finds solace in her art, documenting these events by drawing. Risking everything, she imbeds clues in her drawings of their location and secretly passes them along, hoping her drawings will make their way to her father's prison camp. But will strength, love, and hope be enough for Lina and her family to survive?A moving and haunting novel perfect for readers of The Book Thief.Praise for Between Shades of Gray:"Superlative. A hefty emotional punch." --The New York Times Book Review"Heart-wrenching . . . an eye-opening reimagination of a very real tragedy written with grace and heart." --The Los Angeles Times"At once a suspenseful, drama-packed survival story, a romance, and an intricately researched work of historial fiction." --The Wall Street Journal* "Beautifully written and deeply felt . . . An important book that deserves the widest possible readership." --Booklist, starred review “A superlative first novel. A hefty emotional punch.”--The New York Times Book Review “A brilliant story of love and survival.”--Laurie Halse Anderson, bestselling author of Speak and Wintergirls  * “Beautifully written and deeply felt…an important book that deserves the widest possible readership.”--Booklist, Starred Review
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
Contributors:
Klein, Emily. Narrator
ISBN:
9780399254123
9781101978245
9781101476154
Accelerated Reader:
MG+
Level 3.6, 9 Points
Lexile measure:
HL: High-Low 490L
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Tagging
Tags:

No Tags, Be the first to tag this record!


Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID24f5c0b1-0590-3880-a1ea-47ae7c51069c
Grouping Titlebetween shades of gray
Grouping Authorruta sepetys
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2020-11-29 04:58:48AM
Last Indexed2020-11-29 05:11:48AM
Novelist Primary ISBNnone

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_levelMG+
accelerated_reader_point_value9
accelerated_reader_reading_level3.6
auth_author2Klein, Emily.
authorSepetys, Ruta,
author2-roleKlein, Emily.|Narrator
author_displaySepetys, Ruta
available_at_addisonAddison Public Library
collection_addisonTeens
detailed_location_addison2nd Floor- Teen Books
Axis 360
Online OverDrive Collection
display_descriptionIn 1941, fifteen-year-old Lina, her mother, and brother are pulled from their Lithuanian home by Soviet guards and sent to Siberia, where her father is sentenced to death in a prison camp while she fights for her life, vowing to honor her family and the thousands like hers by burying her story in a jar on Lithuanian soil. Based on the author's family, includes a historical note.
format_addisonBook
eAudiobook
eBook
format_category_addisonAudio Books
Books
eBook
id24f5c0b1-0590-3880-a1ea-47ae7c51069c
isbn9780399254123
9781101476154
9781101978245
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
ils:.b12100626.i139798992nd Floor- Teen BooksYA FIC SEPETYS R.1falsefalseCheck ShelfMay 29, 2020yfic
axis360:bl2014035731bl2014035731Axis 360Online Axis 360eBookeBook1falsetrueAxis 360http://ereadil.axis360.baker-taylor.com/Title?itemid=0009512478Available OnlineAxis 360
overdrive:f3f81487-c186-4965-abb6-5c84fc75fd0a-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books3falsetrueOverDriveOverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive ListenAvailable Online
axis360:bl2016030430bl2016030430Axis 360Online Axis 360eAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueAxis 360http://ereadil.axis360.baker-taylor.com/Title?itemid=0016668686Available OnlineAxis 360
overdrive:8ad64b44-3bed-4ee7-9331-6f1b06f9484d-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook2falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
itype_addisonYoung Adult Fiction
last_indexed2020-11-29T11:11:48.911Z
lexile_codeHL: High-Low
lexile_score490
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
local_callnumber_addisonYA FIC SEPETYS R.
owning_library_addisonAddison Public Library
owning_location_addisonAddison Public Library
primary_isbn9780399254123
publishDate2011
2016
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
ils:.b12100626BookBooksEnglishPhilomel Books, 2011.344 p. : maps ; 22 cm.
axis360:bl2014035731eBookeBookEnglishPhilomel Books, [2011]1 online resource (344 pages) : maps
overdrive:f3f81487-c186-4965-abb6-5c84fc75fd0aeAudiobookAudio BooksEnglishPenguin Random House Audio Publishing Group
axis360:bl2016030430eAudiobookAudio BooksUnabridged.EnglishPenguin Audio, [2016]1 online resource (1 audio file)
overdrive:8ad64b44-3bed-4ee7-9331-6f1b06f9484deBookeBookEnglishPenguin Young Readers Group2011
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_addison
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:.b12100626.i13979899On ShelfCheck Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 12, 20, 21
axis360:bl2014035731bl2014035731Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsefalse
overdrive:f3f81487-c186-4965-abb6-5c84fc75fd0a-1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
axis360:bl2016030430bl2016030430Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsefalse
overdrive:8ad64b44-3bed-4ee7-9331-6f1b06f9484d-1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
subject_facet
Abraham Lincoln Award nominee book, 2016
Audiobooks
Autobiographical fiction
Children's audiobooks
Downloadable audiobooks
Electronic books
Europe
Fiction
Historical fiction
History
Holocaust
Labor camps
Labor camps -- Fiction
Labour camps -- Juvenile fiction
Lithuania
Lithuania -- History -- Soviet occupation, 1940-1941 -- Fiction
Lithuania -- History -- Soviet occupation, 1940-1941 -- Juvenile fiction
Prejudice & Racism
Russia (Federation) -- Siberia
Siberia (Russia) -- History -- 20th century -- Fiction
Soviet Occupation of Lithuania (1940-1941)
Soviet Union
Soviet Union -- History -- 1925-1953 -- Fiction
Soviet Union -- History -- 1925-1953 -- Juvenile fiction
Survival
Survival -- Fiction
Survival -- Juvenile fiction
Teenage girls
Teenage girls -- Lithuania -- Fiction
Young Adult Fiction
Young Adult Literature
Young adult audiobooks
Young adult fiction
Young adult works
e-Audiobooks
title_displayBetween shades of gray
title_fullBetween Shades of Gray
Between shades of gray / Ruta Sepetys
Between shades of gray [electronic resource] / Ruta Sepetys
title_shortBetween shades of gray
topic_facetAudiobooks
Europe
Historical Fiction
History
Holocaust
Labor camps
Labour camps
Prejudice & Racism
Survival
Teenage girls
Young Adult Fiction
Young Adult Literature
Young adult audiobooks
e-Audiobooks