The wife: a novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description

"This year's Gone Girl."&;Harlan Coben

A Boston Globe Best Book of 2018 | A Sun-Sentinel Best Mystery Book of 2018 | A Crime Reads Best Novel of 2018

His ScandalHer Secret

From New York Times bestselling author Alafair Burke, a stunning domestic thriller in the vein of Behind Closed Doors and The Woman in Cabin 10&;in which a woman must make the impossible choice between defending her husband and saving herself.

When Angela met Jason Powell while catering a dinner party in East Hampton, she assumed their romance would be a short-lived fling, like so many relationships between locals and summer visitors. To her surprise, Jason, a brilliant economics professor at NYU, had other plans, and they married the following summer. For Angela, the marriage turned out to be a chance to reboot her life. She and her son were finally able to move out of her mother&;s home to Manhattan, where no one knew about her tragic past.

Six years later, thanks to a bestselling book and a growing media career, Jason has become a cultural lightning rod, placing Angela near the spotlight she worked so carefully to avoid. When a college intern makes an accusation against Jason, and another woman, Kerry Lynch, comes forward with an even more troubling allegation, their perfect life begins to unravel. Jason insists he is innocent, and Angela believes him. But when Kerry disappears, Angela is forced to take a closer look&;at both the man she married and the women she chose not to believe.

This much-anticipated follow-up to Burke&;s Edgar-nominated The Ex asks how far a wife will go to protect the man she loves: Will she stand by his side, even if he drags her down with him?

Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780062390516
9781499045536
9780062798473
9780062390530
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Tagging
Tags:

No Tags, Be the first to tag this record!


Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID277f9c76-8c93-0218-a095-3d3dc125e5c6
Grouping Titlewife
Grouping Authoralafair burke
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2021-01-26 04:51:38AM
Last Indexed2021-01-26 05:08:41AM
Novelist Primary ISBN9780062390516

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
auth_author2Sands, Xe,
authorBurke, Alafair.
author2-roleSands, Xe,narrator.
cloudLibrary.
hoopla digital.
author_displayBurke, Alafair
collection_addisonAdults
On Order
detailed_location_addison2nd Floor- Adult Books
Addison Public Library On Order
Axis 360
Online Hoopla Collection
Online OverDrive Collection
display_description"When Angela met Jason Powell while catering a dinner party in East Hampton, she assumed their romance would be a short-lived fling, like so many relationships between locals and summer visitors. To her surprise, Jason, a brilliant economics professor at NYU, had other plans, and they married the following summer. For Angela, the marriage turned out to be a chance to reboot her life. She and her son were finally able to move out of her mother's home to Manhattan, where no one knew about her tragic past. Six years later, thanks to a bestselling book and a growing media career, Jason has become a cultural lightning rod, placing Angela near the spotlight she worked so carefully to avoid. When a college intern makes an accusation against Jason, and another woman, Kerry Lynch, comes forward with an even more troubling allegation, their perfect life begins to unravel. Jason insists he is innocent, and Angela believes him. But when Kerry disappears, Angela is forced to take a closer look--at both the man she married and the women she chose not to believe."--
format_addisonBook
eAudiobook
eBook
format_category_addisonAudio Books
Books
eBook
eBooks
id277f9c76-8c93-0218-a095-3d3dc125e5c6
isbn9780062390516
9780062390530
9780062798473
9781499045536
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
hoopla:MWT12704458Online Hoopla CollectionOnline HooplaeBookeBook1falsetrueHooplahttps://www.hoopladigital.com/title/12704458?utm_source=MARCAvailable Online
ils:.b20521303.i140167462nd Floor- Adult BooksCRIME BURKE A.1falsefalseDue Feb 14, 2021Dec 22, 2020afic
ils:.b20521303.o12559155Addison Public Library On OrderON ORDER1truefalseOn Orderaf
axis360:bl2018001752bl2018001752Axis 360Online Axis 360eAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueAxis 360http://ereadil.axis360.baker-taylor.com/Title?itemid=0020819520Available OnlineAxis 360
axis360:bl2018003113bl2018003113Axis 360Online Axis 360eBookeBook1falsetrueAxis 360http://ereadil.axis360.baker-taylor.com/Title?itemid=0020696957Available OnlineAxis 360
external_econtent:ils:.b20725346Online1falsetrueCloud Libraryhttps://ebook.yourcloudlibrary.com/library/AddisonPublicLibrary-document_id-pc7b689Available Onlinead
hoopla:MWT12098676Online Hoopla CollectionOnline HooplaeBookeBook1falsetrueHooplahttps://www.hoopladigital.com/title/12098676Available Online
overdrive:067d239f-189b-41f5-a4f0-bda8e7030cbd-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook1falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadChecked Out
hoopla:MWT11990080Online Hoopla CollectionOnline HooplaeAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueHooplahttps://www.hoopladigital.com/title/11990080?utm_source=MARCAvailable Online
itype_addisonFiction
eCollection
last_indexed2021-01-26T11:08:41.223Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
Novels
local_callnumber_addisonCRIME BURKE A.
ON ORDER
Online
owning_library_addisonAddison Public Library
Addison Public Library On Order
Addison Public Library Online
owning_location_addisonAddison Public Library
Addison Public Library On Order
primary_isbn9780062390516
publishDate2014
2018
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
hoopla:MWT12704458eBookeBookEnglishHarperCollins Publishers, 2018.1 online resource
ils:.b20521303BookBooksFirst edition.EnglishHarper, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers, [2018]340 pages ; 24 cm.
axis360:bl2018001752eAudiobookAudio BooksUnabridged.EnglishBlackstone, [2018]1 online resource (1 audio file)
axis360:bl2018003113eBookeBookFirst edition.EnglishHarper, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers, [2018]1 online resource (340 pages)
ils:.b20725346eBookeBooksEnglishHarperCollins, 2018.352 p.
external_econtent:ils:.b20725346eBookeBooksEnglishHarperCollins, 2018.352 p.
hoopla:MWT12098676eBookeBookEnglishXlibris US, 2014.1 online resource
overdrive:067d239f-189b-41f5-a4f0-bda8e7030cbdeBookeBookEnglishHarper2018
hoopla:MWT11990080eAudiobookAudio BooksUnabridged.EnglishHarperAudio, 2018.1 online resource (1 audio file (8hr., 09 min.)) : digital.
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_addison
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
hoopla:MWT12704458Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsefalse
ils:.b20521303.i14016746Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 12, 20, 21
ils:.b20521303.o12559155On OrderOn Orderfalsefalsetruefalsefalsetrue
axis360:bl2018001752bl2018001752Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsefalse
axis360:bl2018003113bl2018003113Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsefalse
external_econtent:ils:.b20725346Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsetrue
hoopla:MWT12098676Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsefalse
overdrive:067d239f-189b-41f5-a4f0-bda8e7030cbd-1Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsefalse
hoopla:MWT11990080Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsefalse
subject_facetAudiobooks
Authors
Authors -- Fiction
Crime -- FICTION
Divorced people
Divorced people -- Fiction
Electronic books
Fiction
Husband and wife -- Fiction
Man-woman relationships
Man-woman relationships -- Fiction
Manhattan (New York, N.Y.) -- Fiction
Married people
Married people -- Fiction
Missing persons -- Fiction
Mystery & Detective -- FICTION
Playaway (Preloaded audio player)
Police charges -- Fiction
Psychological fiction
Spouses
Spouses -- Fiction
Suspense -- Thrillers
Suspense fiction
Thrillers (Fiction)
Women lawyers -- Fiction
title_displayThe wife : a novel of psychological suspense
title_fullThe Wife A Novel of Psychological Suspense
The Wife A Novel of Psychological Suspense [electronic resource] Burke, Alafair.
The wife : a novel / Alafair Burke
The wife : a novel [electronic resource] / Alafair Burke
The wife : a novel of psychological suspense / Alafair Burke
The wife : a novel of psychological suspense [electronic resource] / Alafair Burke
The wife [electronic resource] / Alafair Burke
title_shortThe wife
title_suba novel
topic_facetAuthors
Crime
Divorced people
Electronic books
Fiction
Husband and wife
Man-woman relationships
Married people
Missing persons
Mystery
Mystery & Detective
Playaway (Preloaded audio player)
Police charges
Spouses
Suspense
Thriller
Women lawyers