A bitter truth: a Bess Crawford mystery

Book Cover
Average Rating
Series:
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description

&;Highly recommended&;well-rounded, believable characters, a multi-layered plot solidly based on human nature, all authentically set in the England of 1917&;an outstanding and riveting read.&;&;New York Times bestselling author Stephanie Laurens

&;Bess Crawford is a strong and likable character.&;&;Washington Times

Already deservedly lauded for the superb historical crime novels featuring shell-shocked Scotland Yard inspector Ian Rutledge (A Lonely Death, A Pale Horse et al), acclaimed author Charles Todd upped the ante by introducing readers to a wonderful new series protagonist, World War One battlefield nurse Bess Crawford. Featured for a third time in A Bitter Truth, Bess reaches out to help an abused and frightened young woman, only to discover that no good deed ever goes unpunished when the good Samaritan nurse finds herself falsely accused of murder. A terrific follow up to Todd&;s A Duty to the Dead and An Impartial Witness, A Bitter Truth is another thrilling and evocative mystery from &;one of the most respected writers in the genre&; (Denver Post) and a treat for fans of Elizabeth George, Anne Perry, Martha Grimes, and Jacqueline Winspear.

Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780062015709
9780792782605
9780062092595
9780062125644
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Tagging
Tags:

No Tags, Be the first to tag this record!


Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID3049779d-826c-aafe-fd4b-ff44eed12b40
Grouping Titlebitter truth
Grouping Authorcharles todd
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2020-10-01 04:51:42AM
Last Indexed2020-09-30 06:10:18AM
Novelist Primary ISBNnone

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
auth_author2Landor, Rosalyn,
authorTodd, Charles.
author2-roleBaker & Taylor Axis 360.
Landor, Rosalyn,narrator.
hoopla digital.
author_displayTodd, Charles
available_at_addisonAddison Public Library
collection_addisonAdults
detailed_location_addison2nd Floor- Adult Books
Axis 360
Online Hoopla Collection
Online OverDrive Collection
display_descriptionA battlefield nurse during World War I, Bess Crawford, returning to London for a well-earned Christmas leave, finds her holiday fraught with mystery and murder when she agrees to help a bruised and battered woman return to her small village in Sussex.
format_addisonBook
eAudiobook
eBook
format_category_addisonAudio Books
Books
eBook
id3049779d-826c-aafe-fd4b-ff44eed12b40
isbn9780062015709
9780062092595
9780062125644
9780792782605
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
axis360:bk0012066970bk0012066970Axis 360Online Axis 360eAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueAxis 360http://ereadil.axis360.baker-taylor.com/Title?itemid=0012066970Available OnlineAxis 360
axis360:bk0009678601bk0009678601Axis 360Online Axis 360eBookeBook1falsetrueAxis 360http://ereadil.axis360.baker-taylor.com/Title?itemid=0009678601Available OnlineAxis 360
overdrive:3d1bbf54-b25d-4045-a4cb-bb4181554642-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook2falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
overdrive:81d73b22-7a6d-4729-9543-cc73be1dedea-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueOverDriveOverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive ListenAvailable Online
ils:.b1212171x.i125738632nd Floor- Adult BooksCRIME TODD C.1falsefalseCheck ShelfJan 27, 2020afic
hoopla:MWT12405442Online Hoopla CollectionOnline HooplaeBookeBook1falsetruehooplahttps://www.hoopladigital.com/title/12405442?utm_source=MARCAvailable Online
hoopla:MWT11586734Online Hoopla CollectionOnline HooplaeAudiobookAudio Books1falsetruehooplahttps://www.hoopladigital.com/title/11586734?utm_source=MARCAvailable Online
itype_addisonFiction
last_indexed2020-09-30T11:10:18.842Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
local_callnumber_addisonCRIME TODD C.
owning_library_addisonAddison Public Library
owning_location_addisonAddison Public Library
primary_isbn9780062015709
publishDate2011
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
axis360:bk0012066970eAudiobookAudio BooksUnabridged.EnglishAudiogo, 2011.1 online resource
axis360:bk0009678601eBookeBookEnglishWilliam Morrow & Co., 2011.1 online resource
overdrive:3d1bbf54-b25d-4045-a4cb-bb4181554642eBookeBookEnglishHarperCollins2011
overdrive:81d73b22-7a6d-4729-9543-cc73be1dedeaeAudiobookAudio BooksEnglishBlackstone Publishing2011
ils:.b1212171xBookBooks1st ed.EnglishWilliam Morrow, c2011.340 p. ; 24 cm.
hoopla:MWT12405442eBookeBookEnglishHarper Collins Publishers, 2011.1 online resource
hoopla:MWT11586734eAudiobookAudio BooksUnabridged.EnglishHarperAudio, 2011.1 online resource (1 audio file (11hr., 02 min.)) : digital.
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_addison
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
axis360:bk0012066970bk0012066970Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsefalse
axis360:bk0009678601bk0009678601Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsefalse
overdrive:3d1bbf54-b25d-4045-a4cb-bb4181554642-1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
overdrive:81d73b22-7a6d-4729-9543-cc73be1dedea-1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
ils:.b1212171x.i12573863On ShelfCheck Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 12, 20, 21
hoopla:MWT12405442Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsefalse
hoopla:MWT11586734Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsefalse
seriesBess Crawford Mystery
series_with_volumeBess Crawford|3
subject_facet
Audiobooks
Crawford, Bess (Fictitious character)
Crawford, Bess (Fictitious character) -- Fiction
Detective and mystery fiction
Detective and mystery stories
Downloadable audio books
Electronic books
England
FICTION -- General
FICTION / Mystery & Detective / Historical
FICTION / Mystery & Detective / Women Sleuths
FICTION / Suspense
Fiction
Historical fiction
Murder -- Fiction
Mystery & Detective
Mystery Fiction
Mystery fiction
Novels
Nurses
Nurses -- England -- Fiction
World War (1914-1918)
World War, 1914-1918 -- England -- Fiction
title_displayA bitter truth
title_fullA Bitter Truth
A bitter truth / Charles Todd
A bitter truth : a Bess Crawford mystery [electronic resource] / Charles Todd
A bitter truth [electronic resource] / Charles Todd
title_shortA bitter truth
title_suba Bess Crawford mystery
topic_facetCrawford, Bess (Fictitious character)
Electronic books
FICTION
FICTION / Mystery & Detective / Historical
FICTION / Mystery & Detective / Women Sleuths
FICTION / Suspense
Fiction
General
Historical Fiction
Murder
Mystery
Mystery & Detective
Nurses
World War, 1914-1918