Hausfrau: A Novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER •Â "Sexy and insightful, this gorgeously written novel opens a window into one woman's desperate soul."--People  Anna was a good wife, mostly. For readers of The Girl on the Train and The Woman Upstairs comes a striking debut novel of marriage, fidelity, sex, and morality, featuring a fascinating heroine who struggles to live a life with meaning--"a modern-day Anna Karenina tale."Anna Benz, an American in her late thirties, lives with her Swiss husband, Bruno--a banker--and their three young children in a postcard-perfect suburb of Zürich. Though she leads a comfortable, well-appointed life, Anna is falling apart inside. Adrift and increasingly unable to connect with the emotionally unavailable Bruno or even with her own thoughts and feelings, Anna tries to rouse herself with new experiences: German language classes, Jungian analysis, and a series of sexual affairs she enters with an ease that surprises even her.  But Anna can't easily extract herself from these affairs. When she wants to end them, she finds it's difficult. Tensions escalate, and her lies start to spin out of control. Having crossed a moral threshold, Anna will discover where a woman goes when there is no going back.  Intimate, intense, and written with the precision of a Swiss Army knife, Jill Alexander Essbaum's debut novel is an unforgettable story of marriage, fidelity, sex, morality, and most especially self. Navigating the lines between lust and love, guilt and shame, excuses and reasons, Anna Benz is an electrifying heroine whose passions and choices readers will debate with recognition and fury. Her story reveals, with honesty and great beauty, how we create ourselves and how we lose ourselves and the sometimes disastrous choices we make to find ourselves.  Praise for Hausfrau"Elegant, erotic . . . There is much to admire in Essbaum's intricately constructed, meticulously composed novel, including its virtuosic intercutting of past and present."--Chicago Tribune  "For a first novelist, Essbaum is extraordinary because she is a poet. Her language is meticulous and resonant and daring."--NPR's Weekend Edition  "We're in literary territory as familiar as Anna's name, but Essbaum makes it fresh with sharp prose and psychological insight."--San Francisco Chronicle"Essbaum's poignant, shocking debut novel rivets."--Us Weekly"A powerful, lyrical novel . . . Hausfrau boasts taut pacing and melodrama, but also a fully realized heroine as love-hateable as Emma Bovary and a poet's fascination with language."--The Huffington Post  "Imagine Tom Perrotta's American nowheresvilles swapped out for a tidy Zürich suburb, sprinkled liberally with sharp riffs on Swiss-German grammar and European hypocrisy."--New York  "Brain-surgically constructed to fascinate you, entertain you, and then make you question what a life lived with meaning looks like--all with a sense of poetic discipline and introspection."--Los Angeles Magazine  "[Hausfrau] is masterly as it moves toward its own inescapable ending."--Publishers Weekly (starred review)"Madame Bovary meets Fifty Shades
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780553551617
9780812997545
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Tagging
Tags:

No Tags, Be the first to tag this record!


Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID34aec2ee-de8a-cfe5-4682-a049c1368d6f
Grouping Titlehausfrau
Grouping Authorjill alexander essbaum
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2023-06-06 03:52:27AM
Last Indexed2023-06-06 04:15:32AM

Solr Fields

accelerated_reader_point_value
0
accelerated_reader_reading_level
0
auth_author2
Marno, Mozhan
author
Essbaum, Jill Alexander
author2-role
Marno, Mozhan,narrator
author_display
Essbaum, Jill Alexander
available_at_addison
Online OverDrive Collection
detailed_location_addison
Axis 360
Online OverDrive Collection
display_description
NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY SAN FRANCISCO CHRONICLE, THE HUFFINGTON POST, AND SHELF AWARENESS • “In Hausfrau, Anna Karenina goes Fifty Shades with a side of Madame Bovary.”—Time
“A debut novel about Anna, a bored housewife who, like her Tolstoyan namesake, throws herself into a psychosexual journey of self-discovery and tragedy.”—O: The Oprah Magazine
“Sexy and insightful, this gorgeously written novel opens a window into one woman’s desperate soul.”People

Anna was a good wife, mostly. For readers of The Girl on the Train and The Woman Upstairs comes a striking debut novel of marriage, fidelity, sex, and morality, featuring a fascinating heroine who struggles to live a life with meaning.

Anna Benz, an American in her late thirties, lives with her Swiss husband, Bruno—a banker—and their three young children in a postcard-perfect suburb of Zürich. Though she leads a comfortable, well-appointed life, Anna is falling apart inside. Adrift and increasingly unable to connect with the emotionally unavailable Bruno or even with her own thoughts and feelings, Anna tries to rouse herself with new experiences: German language classes, Jungian analysis, and a series of sexual affairs she enters with an ease that surprises even her.
But Anna can’t easily extract herself from these affairs. When she wants to end them, she finds it’s difficult. Tensions escalate, and her lies start to spin out of control. Having crossed a moral threshold, Anna will discover where a woman goes when there is no going back.
Intimate, intense, and written with the precision of a Swiss Army knife, Jill Alexander Essbaum’s debut novel is an unforgettable story of marriage, fidelity, sex, morality, and most especially self. Navigating the lines between lust and love, guilt and shame, excuses and reasons, Anna Benz is an electrifying heroine whose passions and choices readers will debate with recognition and fury. Her story reveals, with honesty and great beauty, how we create ourselves and how we lose ourselves and the sometimes disastrous choices we make to find ourselves.
Praise for Hausfrau

“Elegant . . . There is much to admire in Essbaum’s intricately constructed, meticulously composed novel, including its virtuosic intercutting of past and present.”Chicago Tribune
“For a first novelist, Essbaum is extraordinary because she is a poet. Her language is meticulous and resonant and daring.”—NPR’s Weekend Edition
“We’re in literary territory as familiar as Anna’s name, but Essbaum makes it fresh with sharp prose and psychological insight.”San Francisco Chronicle
“This marvelously quiet book is psychologically complex and deeply intimate. . . . One of the smartest novels in recent memory.”The Dallas Morning News
“Essbaum’s poignant, shocking debut novel rivets.”Us Weekly

“A powerful, lyrical novel . . . Hausfrau boasts taut pacing and melodrama, but also a fully realized heroine as love-hateable as Emma Bovary.”The Huffington Post
“Imagine Tom Perrotta’s American nowheresvilles swapped out for a tidy Zürich suburb, sprinkled liberally with sharp riffs on Swiss-German grammar and European...
format_addison
eAudiobook
eBook
format_category_addison
Audio Books
eBook
id
34aec2ee-de8a-cfe5-4682-a049c1368d6f
isbn
9780553551617
9780812997545
last_indexed
2023-06-06T09:15:32.281Z
lexile_score
-1
literary_form
Fiction
literary_form_full
Fiction
local_callnumber_addison
Online OverDrive
owning_library_addison
Addison Public Library Online
owning_location_addison
Online OverDrive Collection
primary_isbn
9780553551617
publishDate
2015
publisher
Books on Tape
Random House Audio
Random House Publishing Group
recordtype
grouped_work
subject_facet
Adultery
Adultery -- Fiction
Audiobooks
Domestic fiction
Electronic audio books
FICTION -- Contemporary Women
FICTION -- Literary
FICTION -- Psychological
Fiction
Married women
Married women -- Fiction
Psychological fiction
Self-realization in women
Self-realization in women -- Fiction
title_display
Hausfrau A Novel
title_full
Hausfrau : a novel / Jill Alexander Essbaum
Hausfrau A Novel
title_short
Hausfrau
title_sub
A Novel
topic_facet
Adultery
Contemporary Women
FICTION
Fiction
Literary
Literature
Married women
Psychological
Self-realization in women

Solr Details Tables

item_details

Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent URLDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocation
overdrive:89d12208-58ec-4587-b79a-38c906f59b0a1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook0falsetrueOverDriveAvailable Online
overdrive:89d12208-58ec-4587-b79a-38c906f59b0a-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook5falsetrueOverDriveAvailable Online
axis360:bl2015013039bl2015013039Axis 360Online Axis 360eAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueAxis 360http://ereadil.axis360.baker-taylor.com/Title?itemid=0016425801Available OnlineAxis 360
overdrive:43e47d0b-580b-476c-9255-697d889c90141Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books0falsetrueOverDriveAvailable Online
overdrive:43e47d0b-580b-476c-9255-697d889c9014-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueOverDriveAvailable Online

record_details

Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
overdrive:89d12208-58ec-4587-b79a-38c906f59b0aeBookeBookEnglishRandom House Publishing Group2015
axis360:bl2015013039eAudiobookAudio BooksUnabridgedEnglishRandom House Audio[2015]1 online resource (1 audio file)
overdrive:43e47d0b-580b-476c-9255-697d889c9014eAudiobookAudio BooksEnglishBooks on Tape2015

scoping_details_addison

Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:89d12208-58ec-4587-b79a-38c906f59b0a1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
overdrive:89d12208-58ec-4587-b79a-38c906f59b0a-1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
axis360:bl2015013039bl2015013039Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsefalse
overdrive:43e47d0b-580b-476c-9255-697d889c90141Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
overdrive:43e47d0b-580b-476c-9255-697d889c9014-1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse