Hausfrau: A Novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • “In Hausfrau, Anna Karenina goesFifty Shades with a side of Madame Bovary.”—Time

“A debut novel about Anna, a bored housewife who, like her Tolstoyan namesake, throws herself into a psychosexual journey of self-discovery and tragedy.”—O: The Oprah Magazine

“Sexy and insightful, this gorgeously written novel opens a window into one woman’s desperate soul.”People


Anna was a good wife, mostly. For readers of The Girl on the Train andThe Woman Upstairs comes a striking debut novel of marriage, fidelity, sex, and morality, featuring a fascinating heroine who struggles to live a life with meaning.

Anna Benz, an American in her late thirties, lives with her Swiss husband, Bruno—a banker—and their three young children in a postcard-perfect suburb of Zürich. Though she leads a comfortable, well-appointed life, Anna is falling apart inside. Adrift and increasingly unable to connect with the emotionally unavailable Bruno or even with her own thoughts and feelings, Anna tries to rouse herself with new experiences: German language classes, Jungian analysis, and a series of sexual affairs she enters with an ease that surprises even her.

But Anna can’t easily extract herself from these affairs. When she wants to end them, she finds it’s difficult. Tensions escalate, and her lies start to spin out of control. Having crossed a moral threshold, Anna will discover where a woman goes when there is no going back.

Intimate, intense, and written with the precision of a Swiss Army knife, Jill Alexander Essbaum’s debut novel is an unforgettable story of marriage, fidelity, sex, morality, and most especially self. Navigating the lines between lust and love, guilt and shame, excuses and reasons, Anna Benz is an electrifying heroine whose passions and choices readers will debate with recognition and fury. Her story reveals, with honesty and great beauty, how we create ourselves and how we lose ourselves and the sometimes disastrous choices we make to find ourselves.

Praise for Hausfrau

“Elegant, erotic . . . There is much to admire in Essbaum’s intricately constructed, meticulously composed novel, including its virtuosic intercutting of past and present.”Chicago Tribune

“For a first novelist, Essbaum is extraordinary because she is a poet. Her language is meticulous and resonant and daring.”—NPR’sWeekend Edition

“We’re in literary territory as familiar as Anna’s name, but Essbaum makes it fresh with sharp prose and psychological insight.”San Francisco Chronicle

“This marvelously quiet book is psychologically complex and deeply intimate. . . . One of the smartest novels in recent memory.”The Dallas Morning News

“Essbaum’s poignant, shocking debut novel rivets.”Us Weekly

“A powerful, lyrical novel . . . Hausfrau boasts taut pacing and melodrama, but also a fully realized heroine as love-hateable as Emma Bovary.”The Huffington Post

“Imagine Tom Perrotta’s American nowheresvilles swapped out for a tidy Zürich suburb, sprinkled liberally with sharp riffs on Swiss-German grammar and European hypocrisy.”New York

“[Hausfrau] is masterly as it moves toward its own inescapable ending.”Publishers Weekly (starred review)
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780553551617
9780812997545
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Tagging
Tags:

No Tags, Be the first to tag this record!


Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID34aec2ee-de8a-cfe5-4682-a049c1368d6f
Grouping Titlehausfrau
Grouping Authorjill alexander essbaum
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2021-08-03 04:51:36AM
Last Indexed2021-08-03 05:10:58AM
Novelist Primary ISBN9780812997538

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
auth_author2Marno, Mozhan,
authorEssbaum, Jill Alexander,
author2-roleMarno, Mozhan,narrator.
author_displayJill Alexander Essbaum
available_at_addisonOnline OverDrive Collection
detailed_location_addisonAxis 360
Online OverDrive Collection
display_descriptionNEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY SAN FRANCISCO CHRONICLE, THE HUFFINGTON POST, AND SHELF AWARENESS • “In Hausfrau, Anna Karenina goes Fifty Shades with a side of Madame Bovary.”—Time
“A debut novel about Anna, a bored housewife who, like her Tolstoyan namesake, throws herself into a psychosexual journey of self-discovery and tragedy.”—O: The Oprah Magazine
“Sexy and insightful, this gorgeously written novel opens a window into one woman’s desperate soul.”People

Anna was a good wife, mostly. For readers of The Girl on the Train and The Woman Upstairs comes a striking debut novel of marriage, fidelity, sex, and morality, featuring a fascinating heroine who struggles to live a life with meaning.

Anna Benz, an American in her late thirties, lives with her Swiss husband, Bruno—a banker—and their three young children in a postcard-perfect suburb of Zürich. Though she leads a comfortable, well-appointed life, Anna is falling apart inside. Adrift and increasingly unable to connect with the emotionally unavailable Bruno or even with her own thoughts and feelings, Anna tries to rouse herself with new experiences: German language classes, Jungian analysis, and a series of sexual affairs she enters with an ease that surprises even her.
But Anna can’t easily extract herself from these affairs. When she wants to end them, she finds it’s difficult. Tensions escalate, and her lies start to spin out of control. Having crossed a moral threshold, Anna will discover where a woman goes when there is no going back.
Intimate, intense, and written with the precision of a Swiss Army knife, Jill Alexander Essbaum’s debut novel is an unforgettable story of marriage, fidelity, sex, morality, and most especially self. Navigating the lines between lust and love, guilt and shame, excuses and reasons, Anna Benz is an electrifying heroine whose passions and choices readers will debate with recognition and fury. Her story reveals, with honesty and great beauty, how we create ourselves and how we lose ourselves and the sometimes disastrous choices we make to find ourselves.
Praise for Hausfrau

“Elegant . . . There is much to admire in Essbaum’s intricately constructed, meticulously composed novel, including its virtuosic intercutting of past and present.”Chicago Tribune
“For a first novelist, Essbaum is extraordinary because she is a poet. Her language is meticulous and resonant and daring.”—NPR’s Weekend Edition
“We’re in literary territory as familiar as Anna’s name, but Essbaum makes it fresh with sharp prose and psychological insight.”San Francisco Chronicle
“This marvelously quiet book is psychologically complex and deeply intimate. . . . One of the smartest novels in recent memory.”The Dallas Morning News
“Essbaum’s poignant, shocking debut novel rivets.”Us Weekly

“A powerful, lyrical novel . . . Hausfrau boasts taut pacing and melodrama, but also a fully realized heroine as love-hateable as Emma Bovary.”The Huffington Post
“Imagine Tom Perrotta’s American nowheresvilles swapped out for a tidy Zürich suburb, sprinkled liberally with sharp riffs on Swiss-German grammar and European...
format_addisoneAudiobook
eBook
format_category_addisonAudio Books
eBook
id34aec2ee-de8a-cfe5-4682-a049c1368d6f
isbn9780553551617
9780812997545
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
overdrive:89d12208-58ec-4587-b79a-38c906f59b0a1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook0falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
overdrive:89d12208-58ec-4587-b79a-38c906f59b0a-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook5falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
axis360:bl2015013039bl2015013039Axis 360Online Axis 360eAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueAxis 360http://ereadil.axis360.baker-taylor.com/Title?itemid=0016425801Available OnlineAxis 360
overdrive:43e47d0b-580b-476c-9255-697d889c9014-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueOverDriveOverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive ListenAvailable Online
overdrive:43e47d0b-580b-476c-9255-697d889c90141Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books0falsetrueOverDriveOverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive ListenAvailable Online
last_indexed2021-08-03T10:10:58.425Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
local_callnumber_addisonOnline OverDrive
owning_library_addisonAddison Public Library Online
owning_location_addisonOnline OverDrive Collection
primary_isbn9780553551617
publishDate2015
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
overdrive:89d12208-58ec-4587-b79a-38c906f59b0aeBookeBookEnglishRandom House Publishing Group2015
axis360:bl2015013039eAudiobookAudio BooksUnabridged.EnglishRandom House Audio, [2015]1 online resource (1 audio file)
overdrive:43e47d0b-580b-476c-9255-697d889c9014eAudiobookAudio BooksEnglishPenguin Random House Audio Publishing Group2015
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_addison
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:89d12208-58ec-4587-b79a-38c906f59b0a1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
overdrive:89d12208-58ec-4587-b79a-38c906f59b0a-1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
axis360:bl2015013039bl2015013039Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsefalse
overdrive:43e47d0b-580b-476c-9255-697d889c9014-1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
overdrive:43e47d0b-580b-476c-9255-697d889c90141Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
subject_facetAdultery
Adultery -- Fiction
Audiobooks
Domestic fiction
Electronic audio books
FICTION -- Contemporary Women
FICTION -- Literary
FICTION -- Psychological
Fiction
Married women
Married women -- Fiction
Psychological fiction
Self-realization in women
Self-realization in women -- Fiction
title_displayHausfrau A Novel
title_fullHausfrau : a novel / Jill Alexander Essbaum
Hausfrau A Novel
title_shortHausfrau
title_subA Novel
topic_facetAdultery
Contemporary Women
FICTION
Fiction
Literary
Literature
Married women
Psychological
Self-realization in women