Sing them home

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
Sing Them Home is a moving portrait of three siblings who have lived in the shadow of unresolved grief since their mother’s disappearance when they were children. Everyone in Emlyn Springs knows the story of Hope Jones, the physician’s wife whose big dreams for their tiny town were lost along with her in the tornado of 1978. For Hope’s three young children, the stability of life with their preoccupied father, and with Viney, their mother’s spitfire best friend, is no match for Hope’s absence. Larken, the eldest, is now an art history professor who seeks in food an answer to a less tangible hunger; Gaelan, the son, is a telegenic weatherman who devotes his life to predicting the unpredictable; and the youngest, Bonnie, is a self-proclaimed archivist who combs roadsides for clues to her mother’s legacy, and permission to move on. When they’re summoned home after their father’s death, each sibling is forced to revisit the childhood tragedy that has defined their lives. With breathtaking lyricism, wisdom, and humor, Kallos explores the consequences of protecting those we love. Sing Them Home is a magnificent tapestry of lives connected and undone by tragedy, lives poised?unbeknownst to the characters?for redemption.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
Contributors:
ISBN:
9781555846589
9781982487140
9781483075556
9781433203381
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Tagging
Tags:

No Tags, Be the first to tag this record!


Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID37500ac7-ad09-07ff-9b06-e5f2400ecabe
Grouping Titlesing them home
Grouping Authorstephanie kallos
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2022-08-09 04:41:37AM
Last Indexed2022-08-09 05:08:23AM

Solr Fields

accelerated_reader_point_value
0
accelerated_reader_reading_level
0
auth_author2
Gilbert, Tavia
author
Kallos, Stephanie
author2-role
Gilbert, Tavia.|Narrator
hoopla digital
author_display
Kallos, Stephanie
available_at_addison
Addison Public Library
Online OverDrive Collection
collection_addison
Adults
detailed_location_addison
2nd Floor- Adult Audio Books
Online Hoopla Collection
Online OverDrive Collection
display_description
One of Entertainment Weekly's Ten Best Books of the Year: "A magical novel that even cynics will close with a smile" (People).

Everyone in Emlyn Springs, Nebraska, knows the story of Hope Jones, who was lost in the tornado of 1978. Her three young children found some stability in their father, a preoccupied doctor, and in their mother's spitfire best friend—but nothing could make up for the loss of Hope.

Larken, the eldest, is now an art history professor who seeks in food an answer to a less tangible hunger. Gaelan, the son, is a telegenic weatherman who devotes his life to predicting the unpredictable. And the youngest, Bonnie, is a self-proclaimed archivist who combs roadsides for clues to her mother's legacy, and permission to move on.

When they're summoned home after their father's sudden death, each sibling is forced to revisit the childhood event that has defined their lives. With lyricism, wisdom, and humor, this novel by the national bestselling author of Broken for You explores the consequences of protecting those we love. Sing Them Home is a magnificent tapestry of lives connected and undone by tragedy, lives poised—unbeknownst to the characters—for redemption.

"Comparisons to John Irving and Tennessee Williams would not be amiss in this show-stopping debut." —KirkusReviews, starred review

"Sing Them Home constantly surprises . . . A big cast of vividly portrayed characters." —TheBoston Globe

"Fans of Ann Patchett and Haven Kimmel should dive onto the sofa one wintry weekend with Stephanie Kallos' wonderfully transportive second novel." —Entertainment Weekly
format_addison
Book on CD
eAudiobook
eBook
format_category_addison
Audio Books
eBook
id
37500ac7-ad09-07ff-9b06-e5f2400ecabe
isbn
9781433203381
9781483075556
9781555846589
9781982487140
itype_addison
Audiobook on CD
last_indexed
2022-08-09T10:08:23.190Z
lexile_score
-1
literary_form
Fiction
literary_form_full
Fiction
local_callnumber_addison
AUDIO BOOK FIC KALLOS S.
Online OverDrive
owning_library_addison
Addison Public Library
Addison Public Library Online
owning_location_addison
Addison Public Library
Online OverDrive Collection
primary_isbn
9781555846589
publishDate
2008
2009
publisher
Blackstone Audio
Blackstone Publishing
Grove Atlantic
recordtype
grouped_work
subject_facet
Adult children -- Fiction
Audiobooks -- Unabridged
Domestic fiction
Electronic books
Grief -- Fiction
Parents -- Death -- Fiction
title_display
Sing them home
title_full
Sing Them Home
Sing Them Home A Novel
Sing them home [CD sound recording] / by Stephanie Kallos
Sing them home [electronic resource] / Stephanie Kallos
title_short
Sing them home
topic_facet
Adult children
Death
Electronic books
Fiction
Grief
Literature
Parents

Solr Details Tables

item_details

Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocation
hoopla:MWT12212587Online Hoopla CollectionOnline HooplaeBookeBook1falsetrueHooplahttps://www.hoopladigital.com/title/12212587?utm_source=MARCAvailable Online
overdrive:4c793852-2eee-487c-9585-58b01427dd6f-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook1falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadChecked Out
overdrive:4c793852-2eee-487c-9585-58b01427dd6f1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook0falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadChecked Out
hoopla:MWT10026586Online Hoopla CollectionOnline HooplaeAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueHooplahttps://www.hoopladigital.com/title/10026586?utm_source=MARCAvailable Online
ils:.b11808718.i122532002nd Floor- Adult Audio BooksAUDIO BOOK FIC KALLOS S.1falsefalseCheck ShelfJul 22, 2020aabrb
overdrive:ae6e80e1-cb6d-4248-ada7-1865065cf7bb1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books0falsetrueOverDriveOverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive ListenAvailable Online
overdrive:ae6e80e1-cb6d-4248-ada7-1865065cf7bb-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueOverDriveOverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive ListenAvailable Online

record_details

Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
hoopla:MWT12212587eBookeBookEnglishGrove Atlantic20091 online resource
overdrive:4c793852-2eee-487c-9585-58b01427dd6feBookeBookEnglishGrove Atlantic2009
hoopla:MWT10026586eAudiobookAudio BooksUnabridgedEnglishBlackstone Publishing20091 online resource (1 audio file (19hr., 41 min.)) : digital.
ils:.b11808718Book on CDAudio BooksUnabridgedEnglishBlackstone Audioc2009, p200816 sound discs (20 hr.) : digital ; 4 3/4 in.
overdrive:ae6e80e1-cb6d-4248-ada7-1865065cf7bbeAudiobookAudio BooksEnglishBlackstone Publishing2008

scoping_details_addison

Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
hoopla:MWT12212587Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsefalse
overdrive:4c793852-2eee-487c-9585-58b01427dd6f-1Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsefalse
overdrive:4c793852-2eee-487c-9585-58b01427dd6f1Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsetrue
hoopla:MWT10026586Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsefalse
ils:.b11808718.i12253200On ShelfCheck Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 10, 12, 20, 21
overdrive:ae6e80e1-cb6d-4248-ada7-1865065cf7bb1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
overdrive:ae6e80e1-cb6d-4248-ada7-1865065cf7bb-1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse