Crooked Letter, Crooked Letter: a novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
Author:
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description

“The classic trifecta of talent, heart, and a bone-deep sense of storytelling….A masterful performance, deftly rendered and deeply satisfying. For days on end, I woke with this story on my mind.”   — David Wroblewski

 

“A new Tom Franklin novel is always a reason to get excited, but Crooked Letter, Crooked Letter is more—a cause for celebration. What a great novel by a great novelist.”—Dennis Lehane

 

A powerful and resonant novel from Tom Franklin—critically acclaimed author of Smonk and  Hell at the BreechCrooked Letter, Crooked Letter tells the riveting story of two boyhood friends, torn apart by circumstance, who are brought together again by a terrible crime in a small Mississippi town. An extraordinary novel that seamlessly blends elements of crime and Southern literary fiction, Crooked Letter, Crooked Letter is a must for readers of Larry Brown, Pete Dexter, Ron Rash, and Dennis Lehane.

Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
Contributors:
ISBN:
9780062048745
9780062955357
9781481587174
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Tagging
Tags:

No Tags, Be the first to tag this record!


Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID3d144a4e-85a0-33a8-89bc-a78467345047
Grouping Titlecrooked letter crooked letter
Grouping Authortom franklin
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2021-04-14 04:51:40AM
Last Indexed2021-04-14 05:07:26AM
Novelist Primary ISBNnone

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
auth_author2Kenerly, Kevin.
authorTom Franklin
author2-roleKenerly, Kevin.|Narrator
hoopla digital.
author_displayFranklin, Tom
available_at_addisonOnline OverDrive Collection
detailed_location_addisonOnline Hoopla Collection
Online OverDrive Collection
display_description

"The classic trifecta of talent, heart, and a bone-deep sense of storytelling....A masterful performance, deftly rendered and deeply satisfying. For days on end, I woke with this story on my mind." —David Wroblewski

A powerful and resonant novel from the critically acclaimed author of Smonk and Hell at the Breech, Crooked Letter, Crooked Letter tells the riveting story of two boyhood friends, torn apart by circumstance, who are brought together again by a terrible crime in a small Mississippi town. An extraordinary novel that seamlessly blends elements of crime and Southern literary fiction, Crooked Letter, Crooked Letter is a must for readers of Larry Brown, Pete Dexter, Ron Rash, and Dennis Lehane.

In the late 1970s, Larry Ott and Silas "32" Jones were boyhood pals. Their worlds were as different as night and day: Larry, the child of lower-middle-class white parents, and Silas, the son of a poor, single black mother. Yet for a few months the boys stepped outside of their circumstances and shared a special bond. But then tragedy struck: Larry took a girl on a date to a drive-in movie, and she was never heard from again. She was never found and Larry never confessed, but all eyes rested on him as the culprit. The incident shook the county—and perhaps Silas most of all. His friendship with Larry was broken, and then Silas left town.

More than twenty years have passed. Larry, a mechanic, lives a solitary existence, never able to rise above the whispers of suspicion. Silas has returned as a constable. He and Larry have no reason to cross paths until another girl disappears and Larry is blamed again. And now the two men who once called each other friend are forced to confront the past they've buried and ignored for decades.

format_addisoneAudiobook
eBook
format_category_addisonAudio Books
eBook
id3d144a4e-85a0-33a8-89bc-a78467345047
isbn9780062048745
9780062955357
9781481587174
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
overdrive:f6522c3e-83b4-4d2b-a54c-fc3b10a430141Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook0falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
overdrive:f6522c3e-83b4-4d2b-a54c-fc3b10a43014-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook3falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
hoopla:MWT12350082Online Hoopla CollectionOnline HooplaeAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueHooplahttps://www.hoopladigital.com/title/12350082?utm_source=MARCAvailable Online
overdrive:ec23e8f2-e28f-4325-8ac4-38cf55812ef8-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books2falsetrueOverDriveOverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive ListenAvailable Online
overdrive:ec23e8f2-e28f-4325-8ac4-38cf55812ef81Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books0falsetrueOverDriveOverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive ListenAvailable Online
hoopla:MWT13325612Online Hoopla CollectionOnline HooplaeBookeBook1falsetrueHooplahttps://www.hoopladigital.com/title/13325612?utm_source=MARCAvailable Online
last_indexed2021-04-14T10:07:26.108Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
local_callnumber_addisonOnline OverDrive
owning_library_addisonAddison Public Library Online
owning_location_addisonOnline OverDrive Collection
primary_isbn9780062048745
publishDate2010
2019
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
overdrive:f6522c3e-83b4-4d2b-a54c-fc3b10a43014eBookeBookEnglishWilliam Morrow2010
hoopla:MWT12350082eAudiobookAudio BooksUnabridged.EnglishHarperAudio, 2019.1 online resource (1 audio file (9hr., 28 min.)) : digital.
overdrive:ec23e8f2-e28f-4325-8ac4-38cf55812ef8eAudiobookAudio BooksEnglishBlackstone Audio, Inc.2010
hoopla:MWT13325612eBookeBookEnglishHarperCollins, 2010.1 online resource
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_addison
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:f6522c3e-83b4-4d2b-a54c-fc3b10a430141Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
overdrive:f6522c3e-83b4-4d2b-a54c-fc3b10a43014-1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
hoopla:MWT12350082Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsefalse
overdrive:ec23e8f2-e28f-4325-8ac4-38cf55812ef8-1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
overdrive:ec23e8f2-e28f-4325-8ac4-38cf55812ef81Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
hoopla:MWT13325612Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsefalse
subject_facetCity and town life -- Mississippi -- Fiction
Detective and mystery fiction
Electronic books
Male friendship -- Fiction
Missing persons -- Investigation -- Mississippi -- Fiction
Mississippi -- Fiction
title_displayCrooked Letter, Crooked Letter A Novel
title_fullCrooked Letter, Crooked Letter A Novel
Crooked letter, crooked letter : a novel [electronic resource] / Tom Franklin
Crooked letter, crooked letter [electronic resource] / Tom Franklin
title_shortCrooked Letter, Crooked Letter
title_suba novel
topic_facetCity and town life
Electronic books
Fiction
Investigation
Literature
Male friendship
Missing persons
Mystery
Suspense