Crooked Letter, Crooked Letter: A Novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description

“The classic trifecta of talent, heart, and a bone-deep sense of storytelling….A masterful performance, deftly rendered and deeply satisfying. For days on end, I woke with this story on my mind.”
   — David Wroblewski

 

“A new Tom Franklin novel is always a reason to get excited, but Crooked Letter, Crooked Letter is more—a cause for celebration. What a great novel by a great novelist.”
—Dennis Lehane

 

A powerful and resonant novel from Tom Franklin—critically acclaimed author of Smonk and  Hell at the BreechCrooked Letter, Crooked Letter tells the riveting story of two boyhood friends, torn apart by circumstance, who are brought together again by a terrible crime in a small Mississippi town. An extraordinary novel that seamlessly blends elements of crime and Southern literary fiction, Crooked Letter, Crooked Letter is a must for readers of Larry Brown, Pete Dexter, Ron Rash, and Dennis Lehane.

Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
Contributors:
ISBN:
9780062048745
9780062955357
9781481587174
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Tagging
Tags:

No Tags, Be the first to tag this record!


Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID3d144a4e-85a0-33a8-89bc-a78467345047
Grouping Titlecrooked letter crooked letter
Grouping Authortom franklin
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2022-12-02 04:40:49AM
Last Indexed2022-12-02 05:23:54AM

Solr Fields

accelerated_reader_point_value
0
accelerated_reader_reading_level
0
auth_author2
Kenerly, Kevin
author
Franklin, Tom
author2-role
Kenerly, Kevin.|Narrator
hoopla digital
author_display
Franklin, Tom
available_at_addison
Online OverDrive Collection
detailed_location_addison
Online Hoopla Collection
Online OverDrive Collection
display_description

"The classic trifecta of talent, heart, and a bone-deep sense of storytelling....A masterful performance, deftly rendered and deeply satisfying. For days on end, I woke with this story on my mind." —David Wroblewski

A powerful and resonant novel from the critically acclaimed author of Smonk and Hell at the Breech, Crooked Letter, Crooked Letter tells the riveting story of two boyhood friends, torn apart by circumstance, who are brought together again by a terrible crime in a small Mississippi town. An extraordinary novel that seamlessly blends elements of crime and Southern literary fiction, Crooked Letter, Crooked Letter is a must for readers of Larry Brown, Pete Dexter, Ron Rash, and Dennis Lehane.

In the late 1970s, Larry Ott and Silas "32" Jones were boyhood pals. Their worlds were as different as night and day: Larry, the child of lower-middle-class white parents, and Silas, the son of a poor, single black mother. Yet for a few months the boys stepped outside of their circumstances and shared a special bond. But then tragedy struck: Larry took a girl on a date to a drive-in movie, and she was never heard from again. She was never found and Larry never confessed, but all eyes rested on him as the culprit. The incident shook the county—and perhaps Silas most of all. His friendship with Larry was broken, and then Silas left town.

More than twenty years have passed. Larry, a mechanic, lives a solitary existence, never able to rise above the whispers of suspicion. Silas has returned as a constable. He and Larry have no reason to cross paths until another girl disappears and Larry is blamed again. And now the two men who once called each other friend are forced to confront the past they've buried and ignored for decades.

format_addison
eAudiobook
eBook
format_category_addison
Audio Books
eBook
id
3d144a4e-85a0-33a8-89bc-a78467345047
isbn
9780062048745
9780062955357
9781481587174
last_indexed
2022-12-02T11:23:54.412Z
lexile_score
-1
literary_form
Fiction
literary_form_full
Fiction
local_callnumber_addison
Online OverDrive
owning_library_addison
Addison Public Library Online
owning_location_addison
Online OverDrive Collection
primary_isbn
9780062048745
publishDate
2010
2019
publisher
Blackstone Audio, Inc.
HarperAudio
HarperCollins
recordtype
grouped_work
subject_facet
City and town life -- Mississippi -- Fiction
Detective and mystery fiction
Electronic books
Male friendship -- Fiction
Missing persons -- Investigation -- Mississippi -- Fiction
Mississippi -- Fiction
title_display
Crooked Letter, Crooked Letter A Novel
title_full
Crooked Letter, Crooked Letter A Novel
Crooked letter, crooked letter : a novel [electronic resource] / Tom Franklin
Crooked letter, crooked letter [electronic resource] / Tom Franklin
title_short
Crooked Letter, Crooked Letter
title_sub
A Novel
topic_facet
City and town life
Electronic books
Fiction
Investigation
Literature
Male friendship
Missing persons
Mystery
Suspense
Thriller

Solr Details Tables

item_details

Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent URLDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocation
overdrive:f6522c3e-83b4-4d2b-a54c-fc3b10a430141Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook0falsetrueOverDriveAvailable Online
overdrive:f6522c3e-83b4-4d2b-a54c-fc3b10a43014-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook3falsetrueOverDriveAvailable Online
hoopla:MWT12350082Online Hoopla CollectionOnline HooplaeAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueHooplahttps://www.hoopladigital.com/title/12350082?utm_source=MARCAvailable Online
overdrive:ec23e8f2-e28f-4325-8ac4-38cf55812ef81Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books0falsetrueOverDriveAvailable Online
overdrive:ec23e8f2-e28f-4325-8ac4-38cf55812ef8-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books2falsetrueOverDriveAvailable Online
hoopla:MWT13325612Online Hoopla CollectionOnline HooplaeBookeBook1falsetrueHooplahttps://www.hoopladigital.com/title/13325612?utm_source=MARCAvailable Online

record_details

Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
overdrive:f6522c3e-83b4-4d2b-a54c-fc3b10a43014eBookeBookEnglishHarperCollins2010
hoopla:MWT12350082eAudiobookAudio BooksUnabridgedEnglishHarperAudio20191 online resource (1 audio file (9hr., 27 min.)) : digital.
overdrive:ec23e8f2-e28f-4325-8ac4-38cf55812ef8eAudiobookAudio BooksEnglishBlackstone Audio, Inc2010
hoopla:MWT13325612eBookeBookEnglishHarperCollins20101 online resource

scoping_details_addison

Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:f6522c3e-83b4-4d2b-a54c-fc3b10a430141Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
overdrive:f6522c3e-83b4-4d2b-a54c-fc3b10a43014-1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
hoopla:MWT12350082Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsefalse
overdrive:ec23e8f2-e28f-4325-8ac4-38cf55812ef81Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
overdrive:ec23e8f2-e28f-4325-8ac4-38cf55812ef8-1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
hoopla:MWT13325612Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsefalse