Generation Kill: Devil Dogs, Iceman, Captain America, and the new face of American war

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
In the tradition of Black Hawk Down and Jarhead comes a searing portrait of young men fighting a modern-day war.

A powerhouse work of nonfiction, Generation Kill expands on Evan Wright's acclaimed three-part series that appeared in Rolling Stone during the summer of 2003. His narrative follows the twenty-three marines of First Recon who spearheaded the blitzkrieg on Iraq. This elite unit, nicknamed "First Suicide Battalion," searched out enemy fighters by racing ahead of American battle forces and literally driving into suspected ambush points.

Evan Wright lived on the front lines with this platoon from the opening hours of combat, to the fall of Baghdad, through the start of the guerrilla war. He was welcomed into their ranks, and from this bird's-eye perspective he tells the unsettling story of young men trained by their country to be ruthless killers. He chronicles the triumphs and horrors-physical, moral, emotional, and spiritual-that these marines endured while achieving victory in a war many questioned before it began. Wright's book is a timely account of war; even more important, it is a timeless description of the human drama taking place on today's battlefields. Written with brutal honesty, raw intensity, and startling intimacy, Generation Kill is destined to become a classic and take its place in the canon of the most captivating and authentic works of war literature.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9781400129744
9781101207611
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Tagging
Tags:

No Tags, Be the first to tag this record!


Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID442a72fc-fad8-4f22-e7a6-0ab6b6026d1b
Grouping Titlegeneration kill devil dogs iceman captain america and the new face of american war
Grouping Authorevan wright
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2021-06-14 04:51:57AM
Last Indexed2021-06-14 05:09:38AM
Novelist Primary ISBN9780399151934

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
auth_author2Lawlor, Patrick G.
authorWright, Evan.
author2-roleLawlor, Patrick G.
hoopla digital.
author_displayWright, Evan
available_at_addisonOnline OverDrive Collection
detailed_location_addisonOnline Hoopla Collection
Online OverDrive Collection
display_description

Based on Evan Wright's National Magazine Award-winning story in Rolling Stone, this is the raw, firsthand account of the 2003 Iraq invasion that inspired the HBO® original mini-series.
Within hours of 9/11, America's war on terrorism fell to those like the twenty-three Marines of the First Recon Battalion, the first generation dispatched into open-ended combat since Vietnam. They were a new pop-culture breed of American warrior unrecognizable to their forebears—soldiers raised on hip hop, video games and The Real World. Cocky, brave, headstrong, wary and mostly unprepared for the physical, emotional and moral horrors ahead, the "First Suicide Battalion" would spearhead the blitzkrieg on Iraq, and fight against the hardest resistance Saddam had to offer.
Hailed as "one of the best books to come out of the Iraq war"(Financial Times), Generation Kill is the funny, frightening, and profane firsthand account of these remarkable men, of the personal toll of victory, and of the randomness, brutality and camaraderie of a new American War.

format_addisoneAudiobook
eBook
format_category_addisonAudio Books
eBook
id442a72fc-fad8-4f22-e7a6-0ab6b6026d1b
isbn9781101207611
9781400129744
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
overdrive:f96c6bc0-91c2-40f4-ac2a-1423b77ed658-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook2falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
overdrive:f96c6bc0-91c2-40f4-ac2a-1423b77ed6581Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook0falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
hoopla:MWT10755608Online Hoopla CollectionOnline HooplaeAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueHooplahttps://www.hoopladigital.com/title/10755608?utm_source=MARCAvailable Online
last_indexed2021-06-14T10:09:38.411Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formNon Fiction
literary_form_fullNon Fiction
local_callnumber_addisonOnline OverDrive
owning_library_addisonAddison Public Library Online
owning_location_addisonOnline OverDrive Collection
primary_isbn9781400129744
publishDate2005
2008
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
overdrive:f96c6bc0-91c2-40f4-ac2a-1423b77ed658eBookeBookEnglishPenguin Publishing Group2005
hoopla:MWT10755608eAudiobookAudio BooksUnabridged.EnglishTantor Audio, 2008.1 online resource (1 audio file (13hr., 30 min.)) : digital.
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_addison
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:f96c6bc0-91c2-40f4-ac2a-1423b77ed658-1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
overdrive:f96c6bc0-91c2-40f4-ac2a-1423b77ed6581Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
hoopla:MWT10755608Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsefalse
subject_facetIraq War, 2003-2011 -- Personal narratives, American
title_displayGeneration Kill Devil Dogs, Iceman, Captain America and the New Face of American War
title_fullGeneration Kill Devil Dogs, Iceman, Captain America and the New Face of American War
Generation kill : Devil Dogs, Iceman, Captain America, and the new face of American war [electronic resource] / Evan Wright
title_shortGeneration Kill
title_subDevil Dogs, Iceman, Captain America, and the new face of American war
topic_facetHistory
Iraq War, 2003-2011
Military
Nonfiction