Eye of the Red Tsar

Book Cover
Average Rating
Author:
Series:
Publisher:
Random House Publishing Group
Pub. Date:
2010
Language:
English
Description
This riveting suspense debut introduces both a stellar new voice and a remarkable detective, an outsider who must use his extraordinary talents to solve the one case that may redeem him. Shortly after midnight on July 17, 1918, the imprisoned family of Tsar Nicholas Romanov was awakened and led down to the basement of the Ipatiev house. There they were summarily executed. Their bodies were hidden away, the location a secret of the Soviet state.A decade later, one man lives in purgatory, banished to a forest on the outskirts of humanity. Pekkala was once the most trusted secret agent of the Romanovs, the right-hand man of the Tsar himself. Now he is Prisoner 4745-P, living a harsh existence in which even the strongest vanish into the merciless Soviet winter.But the state needs Pekkala one last time. The man who knew the Romanovs best is given a final mission: catch their killers, locate the royal child rumored to be alive, and give Stalin the international coup he craves. Find the bodies, Pekkala is told, and you will find your freedom. Find the survivor of that bloody night and you will change history.In a land of uneasy alliances and deadly treachery, pursuing clues that have eluded everyone, Pekkala is thrust into the past where he once reigned. There he will meet the man who betrayed him and the woman he loved and lost in the fires of rebellion—and uncover a secret so shocking that it will shake to its core the land he loves.With stunning period detail and crackling suspense, Eye of the Red Tsar introduces a complex and compelling investigator in a fiercely intelligent thriller perfect for readers of Gorky Park, Child 44, and City of Thieves.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780553907667
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Tagging
Tags:

No Tags, Be the first to tag this record!


Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID57590499-1b36-2bac-ad80-5e0b4c9215ac
Grouping Titleeye of the red tsar
Grouping Authorsam eastland
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2021-04-22 04:51:41AM
Last Indexed2021-04-22 05:06:58AM
Novelist Primary ISBN9780553807813

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
authorSam Eastland
author_displaySam Eastland
available_at_addisonOnline OverDrive Collection
detailed_location_addisonOnline OverDrive Collection
display_description

BONUS: This edition contains an excerpt from Sam Eastland's Shadow Pass.

Shortly after midnight on July 17, 1918, the imprisoned family of Tsar Nicholas Romanov was awakened and led down to the basement of the Ipatiev house. There they were summarily executed. Their bodies were hidden away, the location a secret of the Soviet state. A decade later, Pekkala, once the most trusted secret agent of the Romanovs, is now Prisoner 4745-P, banished to a forest on the outskirts of humanity. But the state needs Pekkala one last time. His mission: catch the assassins who slaughtered the Romanovs, locate the royal child rumored to be alive, and give Stalin the international coup he craves. Find the bodies, Pekkala is told, and you will find your freedom.

In a land of uneasy alliances and lethal treachery, pursuing clues that have eluded everyone, Pekkala is thrust into the past where he once reigned. There he will meet the man who betrayed him and the woman he loved and lost in the fires of rebellion--and uncover a secret so shocking that it will shake to its core the land he loves.

format_addisoneBook
format_category_addisoneBook
id57590499-1b36-2bac-ad80-5e0b4c9215ac
isbn9780553907667
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
overdrive:0431bd28-9efb-4f3e-9f2c-a10bbe9357411Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook0falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
overdrive:0431bd28-9efb-4f3e-9f2c-a10bbe935741-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook1falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
last_indexed2021-04-22T10:06:58.236Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
local_callnumber_addisonOnline OverDrive
owning_library_addisonAddison Public Library Online
owning_location_addisonOnline OverDrive Collection
primary_isbn9780553907667
publishDate2010
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
overdrive:0431bd28-9efb-4f3e-9f2c-a10bbe935741eBookeBookEnglishRandom House Publishing Group2010
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_addison
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:0431bd28-9efb-4f3e-9f2c-a10bbe9357411Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
overdrive:0431bd28-9efb-4f3e-9f2c-a10bbe935741-1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
seriesInspector Pekkala
series_with_volumeInspector Pekkala|1
title_displayEye of the Red Tsar
title_fullEye of the Red Tsar
title_shortEye of the Red Tsar
topic_facetFiction
Historical Fiction
Suspense
Thriller