Sweetbitter: A Novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
2016.
Language:
English
Description
INSTANT NATIONAL BESTSELLER  *  A thrilling novel of the senses and a coming-of-age tale, following a small-town girl into the electrifying world of New York City and the education of a lifetime at one of the most exclusive restaurants in Manhattan.  Perfect for readers of Kitchen Confidential and Blood, Bones and ButterTwenty-two, and knowing no one, Tess leaves home to begin her adult life in New York City. Thus begins a year that is both enchanting and punishing, in a low-level job at “the best restaurant in New York City.” Grueling hours and a steep culinary learning curve awaken her to the beauty of oysters, the finest Champagnes, the appellations of Burgundy. At the same time, she opens herself to friendships—and love—set against the backdrop of dive bars and late nights.  As her appetites sharpen—for food and wine, but also for knowledge, experience, and belonging—Tess is drawn into a darkly alluring love triangle that will prove to be her most exhilarating and painful lesson of all.    Stephanie Danler deftly conjures the nonstop and purely adrenalized world of the restaurant—conversations interrupted, phrases overheard, and suggestions below the surface. Evoking the infinite possibility of being young in New York with heart-stopping accuracy, Sweetbitter is ultimately about the power of what remains after disillusionment, and the wisdom that comes from experience, sweet and bitter.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9781101875940
9781101875957
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Tagging
Tags:

No Tags, Be the first to tag this record!


Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID5df4d944-6f5e-e07e-235b-fe7e1df08052
Grouping Titlesweetbitter
Grouping Authorstephanie danler
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2020-09-26 15:45:58PM
Last Indexed2020-09-26 15:46:59PM
Novelist Primary ISBN9781101875940

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
authorStephanie Danler
author_displayDanler, Stephanie
available_at_addisonAddison Public Library
collection_addisonAdults
detailed_location_addison2nd Floor- Adult Books
Axis 360
Online OverDrive Collection
display_description"A lush, thrilling debut--a publishing event already the subject of an article in The New York Times--about a year in the life of a uniquely beguiling young woman, set in the wild, alluring world of a famous downtown New York restaurant. "Let's say I was born when I came over the George Washington Bridge ..." This is how we meet unforgettable Tess, the 22-year-old at the heart of this stunning debut. Shot like a bullet from a mundane past, she's come to New York to escape the provincial, to take on her destiny. After she stumbles into a coveted job at a renowned Union Square restaurant, we spend the year with her as she learns the chaotic, punishing, privileged life of a "backwaiter," on and off duty. Her appetites are awakened, for food, wine, knowledge and experience; and she's pulled into the thrall of two other servers--a handsome bartender she falls hard for, and an older woman whose connection to both young lovers is murky, sensual, and overpowering. These two will prove to be Tess's hardest lesson of all. Sweetbitter is a story about discovery, enchantment, and the power of what remains after disillusionment"-- "A year in the life of a young woman who comes to New York to discover herself"--
format_addisonBook
eBook
format_category_addisonBooks
eBook
id5df4d944-6f5e-e07e-235b-fe7e1df08052
isbn9781101875940
9781101875957
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
axis360:bl2016024324bl2016024324Axis 360Online Axis 360eBookeBook1falsetrueAxis 360http://ereadil.axis360.baker-taylor.com/Title?itemid=0017645092Available OnlineAxis 360
ils:.b17686738.i136095792nd Floor- Adult BooksROMANCE DANLER S.1falsefalseCheck ShelfJun 15, 2020afic
overdrive:82dbcfa8-2651-4ddf-bf21-6b685fbab4e7-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook5falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
itype_addisonFiction
last_indexed2020-09-26T20:46:59.7Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
local_callnumber_addisonROMANCE DANLER S.
owning_library_addisonAddison Public Library
owning_location_addisonAddison Public Library
primary_isbn9781101875940
publishDate2016
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
axis360:bl2016024324eBookeBookFirst edition.EnglishAlfred A. Knopf, 2016.1 online resource (356 pages)
ils:.b17686738BookBooksFirst edition.EnglishAlfred A. Knopf, 2016.356 pages ; 22 cm.
overdrive:82dbcfa8-2651-4ddf-bf21-6b685fbab4e7eBookeBookEnglishKnopf Doubleday Publishing Group2016
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_addison
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
axis360:bl2016024324bl2016024324Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsefalse
ils:.b17686738.i13609579On ShelfCheck Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 12, 20, 21
overdrive:82dbcfa8-2651-4ddf-bf21-6b685fbab4e7-1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
subject_facetElectronic books
FICTION / Coming of Age
FICTION / Literary
FICTION / Urban Life
Fiction
Literature
New York (N.Y.) -- Fiction
Overdrive -- Ebook
Overdrive -- Ebook -- Adult -- Fiction
Romance
Self-realization in women -- Fiction
Young women -- Fiction
title_displaySweetbitter
title_fullSweetbitter / Stephanie Danler
Sweetbitter A Novel
title_shortSweetbitter
title_subA Novel
topic_facetFICTION / Coming of Age
FICTION / Literary
FICTION / Urban Life
Fiction
Literature
Overdrive
Romance
Self-realization in women
Young women