Born of Illusion

Book Cover
Average Rating
Author:
Series:
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
2013.
Language:
English
Accelerated Reader:
IL: UG - BL: 5 - AR Pts: 14
Description

Teri Brown’s YA novel Born of Illusion launches a thrilling new series laced with romance and magic. Each book is linked to a real-life secret society founded in 1862 by Charles Dickens, Arthur Conan Doyle, and others to study paranormal mysteries.

The first book introduces Anna Van Housen, a young woman living in Jazz Age New York, who may be the illegitimate daughter of the greatest magician who ever lived—Harry Houdini. Anna certainly has his talent. She is an expert illusionist. What no one knows is Anna actually has supernatural gifts.

Then a young man discovers Anna’s abilities and introduces her to members of a secret society, who are eager to study her powers and help her learn the truth about herself.

Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780062187567
Accelerated Reader:
UG
Level 5, 14 Points
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Tagging
Tags:

No Tags, Be the first to tag this record!


Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID5e9143c5-9459-11ff-61ec-0418a88c4dce
Grouping Titleborn of illusion
Grouping Authorteri brown
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2021-10-19 04:40:37AM
Last Indexed2021-10-19 05:06:06AM
Novelist Primary ISBNnone

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_levelUG
accelerated_reader_point_value14
accelerated_reader_reading_level5
authorBrown, Teri.
author2-roleBaker & Taylor Axis 360.
author_displayBrown, Teri
available_at_addisonOnline OverDrive Collection
detailed_location_addisonAxis 360
Online OverDrive Collection
display_description

For fans of Libba Bray and Anna Godbersen, this thrilling historical suspense novel is the story of a budding magician who has spent her life playing sidekick to her faux-medium mother—and trying to hide the fact that she possesses magnificent powers.

As the illegitimate daughter of Harry Houdini—or so her mother claims—gifted illusionist Anna Van Housen easily navigates the underground world of magicians and mediums in 1920s New York, though the real trick is keeping her true gifts secret from her opportunistic mother. But as Anna's powers intensify, she experiences frightening visions that lead her to explore the powers she's tried so long to hide.

Lovers of historical fiction and stories filled with romance and intrigue will fall for Born of Illusion and its whip-smart, savvy protagonist.

format_addisoneBook
format_category_addisoneBook
id5e9143c5-9459-11ff-61ec-0418a88c4dce
isbn9780062187567
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
axis360:bk0012326765bk0012326765Axis 360Online Axis 360eBookeBook1falsetrueAxis 360http://ereadil.axis360.baker-taylor.com/Title?itemid=0012326765Available OnlineAxis 360
overdrive:dba01c78-a49a-442b-a387-cddfa81b53fa-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook2falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
overdrive:dba01c78-a49a-442b-a387-cddfa81b53fa1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook0falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
last_indexed2021-10-19T10:06:06.773Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
local_callnumber_addisonOnline OverDrive
owning_library_addisonAddison Public Library Online
owning_location_addisonOnline OverDrive Collection
primary_isbn9780062187567
publishDate2013
publisherBalzer & Bray,
Balzer + Bray
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
axis360:bk0012326765eBookeBookEnglishBalzer & Bray, 2013.1 online resource
overdrive:dba01c78-a49a-442b-a387-cddfa81b53faeBookeBookEnglishBalzer + Bray2013
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_addison
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
axis360:bk0012326765bk0012326765Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsefalse
overdrive:dba01c78-a49a-442b-a387-cddfa81b53fa-1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
overdrive:dba01c78-a49a-442b-a387-cddfa81b53fa1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
seriesBorn of Illusion
series_with_volumeBorn of Illusion|
subject_facet
Electronic books
Fiction
History
Houdini, Harry, -- 1874-1926
Houdini, Harry, -- 1874-1926 -- Fiction
Identity (Philosophical concept)
Identity (Philosophical concept) -- Fiction
Identity -- Fiction
JUVENILE FICTION -- Fantasy & Magic
Magicians
Magicians -- Fiction
Mothers and daughters
Mothers and daughters -- Fiction
New York (N.Y.) -- History -- 20th century -- Fiction
New York (State) -- New York
Psychic ability
Psychic ability -- Fiction
title_displayBorn of Illusion
title_fullBorn of Illusion
Born of illusion / by Teri Brown
title_shortBorn of Illusion
topic_facetFantasy
Fantasy & Magic
Historical Fiction
History
Houdini, Harry
Identity
Identity (Philosophical concept)
JUVENILE FICTION
Magicians
Mothers and daughters
Psychic ability
Young Adult Fiction