Born of Illusion

Book Cover
Average Rating
Author:
NoveList Series:
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
2013
Language:
English
Accelerated Reader:
IL: UG - BL: 5 - AR Pts: 14
Description

For fans of Libba Bray and Anna Godbersen, this thrilling historical suspense novel is the story of a budding magician who has spent her life playing sidekick to her faux-medium mother—and trying to hide the fact that she possesses magnificent powers.

As the illegitimate daughter of Harry Houdini—or so her mother claims—gifted illusionist Anna Van Housen easily navigates the underground world of magicians and mediums in 1920s New York, though the real trick is keeping her true gifts secret from her opportunistic mother. But as Anna's powers intensify, she experiences frightening visions that lead her to explore the powers she's tried so long to hide.

Lovers of historical fiction and stories filled with romance and intrigue will fall for Born of Illusion and its whip-smart, savvy protagonist.

Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780062187567
Accelerated Reader:
UG
Level 5, 14 Points
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Tagging
Tags:

No Tags, Be the first to tag this record!


Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID5e9143c5-9459-11ff-61ec-0418a88c4dce
Grouping Titleborn of illusion
Grouping Authorteri brown
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2022-08-08 04:40:39AM
Last Indexed2022-08-08 05:08:06AM

Solr Fields

accelerated_reader_interest_level
UG
accelerated_reader_point_value
14
accelerated_reader_reading_level
5
author
Brown, Teri
author2-role
Baker & Taylor Axis 360
author_display
Brown, Teri
available_at_addison
Online OverDrive Collection
detailed_location_addison
Axis 360
Online OverDrive Collection
display_description

For fans of Libba Bray and Anna Godbersen, this thrilling historical suspense novel is the story of a budding magician who has spent her life playing sidekick to her faux-medium mother—and trying to hide the fact that she possesses magnificent powers.

As the illegitimate daughter of Harry Houdini—or so her mother claims—gifted illusionist Anna Van Housen easily navigates the underground world of magicians and mediums in 1920s New York, though the real trick is keeping her true gifts secret from her opportunistic mother. But as Anna's powers intensify, she experiences frightening visions that lead her to explore the powers she's tried so long to hide.

Lovers of historical fiction and stories filled with romance and intrigue will fall for Born of Illusion and its whip-smart, savvy protagonist.

format_addison
eBook
format_category_addison
eBook
id
5e9143c5-9459-11ff-61ec-0418a88c4dce
isbn
9780062187567
last_indexed
2022-08-08T10:08:06.178Z
lexile_score
-1
literary_form
Fiction
literary_form_full
Fiction
local_callnumber_addison
Online OverDrive
owning_library_addison
Addison Public Library Online
owning_location_addison
Online OverDrive Collection
primary_isbn
9780062187567
publishDate
2013
publisher
Balzer & Bray
HarperCollins
recordtype
grouped_work
series
Born of Illusion
series_with_volume
Born of Illusion|
subject_facet

Electronic books
Fiction
History
Houdini, Harry, -- 1874-1926
Houdini, Harry, -- 1874-1926 -- Fiction
Identity (Philosophical concept)
Identity (Philosophical concept) -- Fiction
Identity -- Fiction
JUVENILE FICTION -- Fantasy & Magic
Magicians
Magicians -- Fiction
Mothers and daughters
Mothers and daughters -- Fiction
New York (N.Y.) -- History -- 20th century -- Fiction
New York (State) -- New York
Psychic ability
Psychic ability -- Fiction
title_display
Born of Illusion
title_full
Born of Illusion
Born of illusion / by Teri Brown
title_short
Born of Illusion
topic_facet
Fantasy
Fantasy & Magic
History
Houdini, Harry
Identity
Identity (Philosophical concept)
JUVENILE FICTION
Magicians
Mothers and daughters
Psychic ability
Romance
Young Adult Fiction

Solr Details Tables

item_details

Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocation
axis360:bk0012326765bk0012326765Axis 360Online Axis 360eBookeBook1falsetrueAxis 360http://ereadil.axis360.baker-taylor.com/Title?itemid=0012326765Available OnlineAxis 360
overdrive:dba01c78-a49a-442b-a387-cddfa81b53fa1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook0falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
overdrive:dba01c78-a49a-442b-a387-cddfa81b53fa-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook2falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online

record_details

Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
axis360:bk0012326765eBookeBookEnglishBalzer & Bray20131 online resource
overdrive:dba01c78-a49a-442b-a387-cddfa81b53faeBookeBookEnglishHarperCollins2013

scoping_details_addison

Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
axis360:bk0012326765bk0012326765Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsefalse
overdrive:dba01c78-a49a-442b-a387-cddfa81b53fa1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
overdrive:dba01c78-a49a-442b-a387-cddfa81b53fa-1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse