Stiltsville: A Novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(1)
4 star
 
(0)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Publisher:
HarperCollins
Pub. Date:
2010
Language:
English
Description

“A wise and loving portrait of a marriage….Susanna Daniel writes beautifully of matters of the heart.”
— Jennifer Haigh, author of The Condition

 

Against a vivid South Florida background, Susanna Daniel’s Stiltsville offers a gripping, bittersweet portrait of a marriage—and a romance—that deepens over the course of three decades. Called “an elegantly crafted work of art and a great read” by Curtis Sittenfeld (American Wife, Prep) Stiltsville is a stunningly assured debut novel sure to appeal to readers of Anita Shreve, Sue Miller, and Annie Dillard, or anyone enchanted by the sultry magic of Miami.

Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
Contributors:
ISBN:
9780062005489
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Tagging
Tags:

No Tags, Be the first to tag this record!


Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID654b243e-36b5-e0f4-0c01-047d590af619
Grouping Titlestiltsville
Grouping Authorsusanna daniel
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2022-09-29 04:41:12AM
Last Indexed2022-09-29 05:07:14AM

Solr Fields

accelerated_reader_point_value
0
accelerated_reader_reading_level
0
author
Daniel, Susanna
author2-role
hoopla digital
author_display
Daniel, Susanna
available_at_addison
Online OverDrive Collection
detailed_location_addison
Online Hoopla Collection
Online OverDrive Collection
display_description

"A wise and loving portrait of a marriage....Susanna Daniel writes beautifully of matters of the heart." — Jennifer Haigh, author of The Condition

Against a vivid South Florida background, Susanna Daniel's Stiltsville offers a gripping, bittersweet portrait of a marriage—and a romance—that deepens over the course of three decades. One sunny morning in 1969, 26 year old Frances Ellerby finds herself in a place called Stiltsville, a community of houses built on pilings in the middle of Biscayne Bay. It's the first time the Atlanta native has been out on the open water, and she's captivated. On the dock of a stilt house, with the dazzling skyline in the distance and the unknowable ocean beneath her, she meets the house's owner, Dennis DuVal—and a new future reveals itself. Called "an elegantly crafted work of art and a great read" by Curtis Sittenfeld (American Wife, Prep) Stiltsville is a stunningly assured debut novel sure to appeal to readers of Anita Shreve, Sue Miller, and Annie Dillard, or anyone enchanted by the sultry magic of Miami.


format_addison
eBook
format_category_addison
eBook
id
654b243e-36b5-e0f4-0c01-047d590af619
isbn
9780062005489
last_indexed
2022-09-29T10:07:14.752Z
lexile_score
-1
literary_form
Fiction
literary_form_full
Fiction
local_callnumber_addison
Online OverDrive
owning_library_addison
Addison Public Library Online
owning_location_addison
Online OverDrive Collection
primary_isbn
9780062005489
publishDate
2010
publisher
HarperCollins
recordtype
grouped_work
subject_facet
Biscayne Bay (Fla.) -- Fiction
Electronic books
Love stories
Man-woman relationships -- Fiction
Marriage -- Fiction
Miami (Fla.) -- Fiction
title_display
Stiltsville A Novel
title_full
Stiltsville : a novel [electronic resource] / Susanna Daniel
Stiltsville A Novel
title_short
Stiltsville
title_sub
A Novel
topic_facet
Electronic books
Fiction
Literature
Man-woman relationships
Marriage
Romance

Solr Details Tables

item_details

Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent URLDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocation
hoopla:MWT13325434Online Hoopla CollectionOnline HooplaeBookeBook1falsetrueHooplahttps://www.hoopladigital.com/title/13325434?utm_source=MARCAvailable Online
overdrive:c3859bcd-d343-4854-8825-2cd0f73865121Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook0falsetrueOverDriveAvailable Online
overdrive:c3859bcd-d343-4854-8825-2cd0f7386512-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook1falsetrueOverDriveAvailable Online

record_details

Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
hoopla:MWT13325434eBookeBookEnglishHarperCollins20101 online resource
overdrive:c3859bcd-d343-4854-8825-2cd0f7386512eBookeBookEnglishHarperCollins2010

scoping_details_addison

Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
hoopla:MWT13325434Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsefalse
overdrive:c3859bcd-d343-4854-8825-2cd0f73865121Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
overdrive:c3859bcd-d343-4854-8825-2cd0f7386512-1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse