The walk on

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Accelerated Reader:
IL: MG - BL: 5.2 - AR Pts: 13
Description
Bestselling sportswriter John Feinstein kicks off a new series for middle grade featuring Alex Myers, a student athlete who tries to take on the sports establishment in his new town.Alex Myers is a quarterback, but from the first day of football practice, it’s clear that that position is very much filled by the coach’s son, Matt.Alex has the better arm, but Matt has more experience—and the coach’s loyalty. Alex finally gets a chance to show what he can do when Matt is injured, and he helps win a key game to keep the Lions’ bid for the state championship alive. But just when his star is rising, Alex gets blindsided—the state has started drug testing, and Alex’s test comes back positive for steroids. Alexknows that’s not right. But he doesn’t know if it’s a mistake—or if someone wants to make sure he can’t play. . . .John Feinstein has been praised as “the best writer of sports books in America today” (The Boston Globe), and this first installment in the Triple Threat series is his most thrilling and suspenseful novel yet. Fans of Mike Lupica, Tim Green, and Paul Volponi will want to check out The Walk On, and its companion, The Sixth Man.“A cliffhanger of a football novel bristling with social, personal, familial and ethical issues to complement the gridiron action. . . . All the goods for the sports enthusiast—and more.” —Kirkus Reviews
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780385753470
9780385753487
9781633791749
9780385753463
9780385753494
Accelerated Reader:
MG
Level 5.2, 13 Points
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Tagging
Tags:

No Tags, Be the first to tag this record!


Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID730dfc0e-9a95-4bcf-cfcd-84e52f3cbf43
Grouping Titlewalk on
Grouping Authorjohn feinstein
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2020-10-22 04:51:29AM
Last Indexed2020-10-22 05:06:48AM
Novelist Primary ISBN9780385753463

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_levelMG
accelerated_reader_point_value13
accelerated_reader_reading_level5.2
auth_author2Feinstein, John.
authorFeinstein, John,
author2-roleFeinstein, John.
hoopla digital.
author_displayFeinstein, John
available_at_addisonAddison Public Library
collection_addisonTeens
detailed_location_addison2nd Floor- Teen Books
Axis 360
Online Hoopla Collection
Online OverDrive Collection
display_descriptionAfter moving to a new town his freshman year in high school, Alex Myers is happy to win a spot on the varsity team as a quarterback but must deal with idea of not playing for two years since the first-string quarterback is not only a local hero, he is also son of the corrupt head coach.
format_addisonBook
eAudiobook
eBook
format_category_addisonAudio Books
Books
eBook
id730dfc0e-9a95-4bcf-cfcd-84e52f3cbf43
isbn9780385753463
9780385753470
9780385753487
9780385753494
9781633791749
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
overdrive:d61e8235-a5f9-431d-8e78-7065569475dd-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook2falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
ils:.b19046182.i137880852nd Floor- Teen BooksYA FIC FEINSTEIN J.1falsefalseCheck ShelfFeb 26, 2019yfic
hoopla:MWT11185828Online Hoopla CollectionOnline HooplaeAudiobookAudio Books1falsetruehooplahttps://www.hoopladigital.com/title/11185828?utm_source=MARCAvailable Online
axis360:bl2014018465bl2014018465Axis 360Online Axis 360eBookeBook1falsetrueAxis 360http://ereadil.axis360.baker-taylor.com/Title?itemid=0014665739Available OnlineAxis 360
itype_addisonYoung Adult Fiction
last_indexed2020-10-22T10:06:48.054Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
local_callnumber_addisonYA FIC FEINSTEIN J.
owning_library_addisonAddison Public Library
owning_location_addisonAddison Public Library
primary_isbn9780385753470
publishDate2014
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
overdrive:d61e8235-a5f9-431d-8e78-7065569475ddeBookeBookEnglishRandom House Children's Books2014
ils:.b19046182BookBooksFirst edition.EnglishAlfred A. Knopf, 2014.359 pages ; 22 cm.
hoopla:MWT11185828eAudiobookAudio BooksUnabridged.EnglishDreamscape Media, LLC, 2014.1 online resource (1 audio file (8hr., 11 min.)) : digital.
axis360:bl2014018465eBookeBookFirst edition.EnglishAlfred A. Knopf, [2014]1 online resource (359 pages).
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_addison
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:d61e8235-a5f9-431d-8e78-7065569475dd-1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
ils:.b19046182.i13788085On ShelfCheck Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 12, 20, 21
hoopla:MWT11185828Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsefalse
axis360:bl2014018465bl2014018465Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsefalse
seriesTriple threat
series_with_volumeTriple threat|1
subject_facetCoaches -- Fiction
Divorce
Divorce -- Fiction
Divorce -- Juvenile fiction
Drug testing -- Fiction
Electronic books
Fiction
Football -- Fiction
Football coaches
Football coaches -- Juvenile fiction
Football players -- Drug testing -- Juvenile fiction
Football players -- Fiction
Football stories
High schools
High schools -- Fiction
High schools -- Juvenile fiction
JUVENILE FICTION -- Sports & Recreation -- Football
Juvenile works
Moving, Household
Moving, Household -- Fiction
Moving, Household -- Juvenile fiction
Quarterbacks (Football) -- Juvenile fiction
Schools
Schools -- Fiction
Schools -- Juvenile fiction
Young adult fiction
title_displayThe walk on
title_fullThe Walk On
The walk on / John Feinstein
The walk on [electronic resource] / John Feinstein
title_shortThe walk on
topic_facetCoaches
Divorce
Drug testing
Football
Football coaches
Football players
Football stories
High schools
JUVENILE FICTION
Moving, Household
Quarterbacks (Football)
Schools
Sports & Recreation
Young Adult Fiction
Young Adult Literature