Elizabeth the Queen: The Life of a Modern Monarch

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
2012
Language:
English
Description
NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • Perfect for fans of The Crown, this magisterial biography of Queen Elizabeth II is a close-up view of the woman we’ve known only from a distance—and a captivating window into the last great monarchy.

From the moment of her ascension to the throne in 1952 at the age of twenty-five, Queen Elizabeth II has been the object of unparalleled scrutiny. But through the fog of glamour and gossip, how well do we really know the world’s most famous monarch? Drawing on numerous interviews and never-before-revealed documents, acclaimed biographer Sally Bedell Smith pulls back the curtain to show in intimate detail the public and private lives of Queen Elizabeth II, who has led her country and Commonwealth through the wars and upheavals of the last sixty years with unparalleled composure, intelligence, and grace.
 
In Elizabeth the Queen, we meet the young girl who suddenly becomes “heiress presumptive” when her uncle abdicates the throne. We meet the thirteen-year-old Lilibet as she falls in love with a young navy cadet named Philip and becomes determined to marry him, even though her parents prefer wealthier English aristocrats. We see the teenage Lilibet repairing army trucks during World War II and standing with Winston Churchill on the balcony of Buckingham Palace on V-E Day. We see the young Queen struggling to balance the demands of her job with her role as the mother of two young children. Sally Bedell Smith brings us inside the palace doors and into the Queen’s daily routines—the “red boxes” of documents she reviews each day, the weekly meetings she has had with twelve prime ministers, her physically demanding tours abroad, and the constant scrutiny of the press—as well as her personal relationships: with Prince Philip, her husband of sixty-four years and the love of her life; her children and their often-disastrous marriages; her grandchildren and friends.

Praise for Elizabeth the Queen

“An excellent, all-embracing new biography.”The New York Times

“[An] imposing, yet nimbly written, biography [that] dwarfs the field . . . a most satisfying and enjoyable read, one to be savored at length.”—Minneapolis Star Tribune

“Fascinating . . . After sixty years on the throne, the monarch of Britain is better known for her poker face than for sly wit or easy charm. Yet in biographer Sally Bedell Smith’s Elizabeth the Queen, Her Majesty sparkles with both.”More

“[A] smart and satisfying book.”Los Angeles Times
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780679643937
9780307934208
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Tagging
Tags:

No Tags, Be the first to tag this record!


Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID7ec31ec4-e3ef-35e0-c158-f80ef309f1e8
Grouping Titleelizabeth the queen the life of a modern monarch
Grouping Authorsally bedell smith
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2022-09-29 04:41:12AM
Last Indexed2022-09-29 05:07:14AM

Solr Fields

accelerated_reader_point_value
0
accelerated_reader_reading_level
0
author
Smith, Sally Bedell
author_display
Smith, Sally Bedell
detailed_location_addison
Online OverDrive Collection
display_description
NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • This “excellent, all-embracing” (The New York Times) biography of Queen Elizabeth II is a magisterial study of the woman known only from a distance—and a captivating window into her decades-long reign.

From the moment of her ascension to the throne in 1952 at the age of twenty-five, Queen Elizabeth II was the object of unparalleled scrutiny. But through the fog of glamour and gossip, how well did we really know the world’s most famous monarch? Drawing on numerous interviews and never-before-revealed documents, acclaimed biographer Sally Bedell Smith pulls back the curtain to show in intimate detail the public and private lives of Queen Elizabeth II, who led her country and Commonwealth through the wars and upheavals of the last twentieth and twenty-first centuries with unparalleled composure, intelligence, and grace.
 
In Elizabeth the Queen, we meet the young girl who suddenly becomes “heiress presumptive” when her uncle abdicates the throne. We meet the thirteen-year-old Lilibet as she falls in love with a young navy cadet named Philip and becomes determined to marry him, even though her parents prefer wealthier English aristocrats. We see the teenage Lilibet repairing army trucks during World War II and standing with Winston Churchill on the balcony of Buckingham Palace on V-E Day. We see the young Queen struggling to balance the demands of her job with her role as the mother of two young children.
Sally Bedell Smith brings us inside the palace doors and into the Queen’s daily routines—the “red boxes” of documents she reviewed each day, the weekly meetings she had with twelve prime ministers, her physically demanding tours abroad, and the constant scrutiny of the press—as well as her personal relationships: with her husband, Prince Philip, the love of her life; her children and their often-disastrous marriages; her grandchildren and friends.
format_addison
eAudiobook
eBook
format_category_addison
Audio Books
eBook
id
7ec31ec4-e3ef-35e0-c158-f80ef309f1e8
isbn
9780307934208
9780679643937
last_indexed
2022-09-29T10:07:14.752Z
lexile_score
-1
literary_form
Non Fiction
literary_form_full
Non Fiction
local_callnumber_addison
Online OverDrive
owning_library_addison
Addison Public Library Online
owning_location_addison
Online OverDrive Collection
primary_isbn
9780679643937
publishDate
2012
publisher
Books on Tape
Random House Publishing Group
recordtype
grouped_work
title_display
Elizabeth the Queen The Life of a Modern Monarch
title_full
Elizabeth the Queen The Life of a Modern Monarch
title_short
Elizabeth the Queen
title_sub
The Life of a Modern Monarch
topic_facet
Biography & Autobiography
History
Nonfiction

Solr Details Tables

item_details

Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent URLDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocation
overdrive:a9c9da12-b549-4409-85bd-3ee1de867d43-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook6falsetrueOverDriveChecked Out
overdrive:a9c9da12-b549-4409-85bd-3ee1de867d431Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook0falsetrueOverDriveChecked Out
overdrive:5bf72d20-e7fd-4a98-9039-c0fb8a8056df1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books0falsetrueOverDriveChecked Out
overdrive:5bf72d20-e7fd-4a98-9039-c0fb8a8056df-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books2falsetrueOverDriveChecked Out

record_details

Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
overdrive:a9c9da12-b549-4409-85bd-3ee1de867d43eBookeBookEnglishRandom House Publishing Group2012
overdrive:5bf72d20-e7fd-4a98-9039-c0fb8a8056dfeAudiobookAudio BooksEnglishBooks on Tape2012

scoping_details_addison

Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:a9c9da12-b549-4409-85bd-3ee1de867d43-1Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsefalse
overdrive:a9c9da12-b549-4409-85bd-3ee1de867d431Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsetrue
overdrive:5bf72d20-e7fd-4a98-9039-c0fb8a8056df1Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsetrue
overdrive:5bf72d20-e7fd-4a98-9039-c0fb8a8056df-1Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsefalse