The house that Lou built

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Accelerated Reader:
IL: MG - BL: 4.2 - AR Pts: 6
Lexile measure:
660L
Description
"If this book were a house, the rooms would be filled with warmth, family, and friendship." --Erin Entrada Kelly, author of the Newbery Medal winner Hello, Universe; The Land of Forgotten Girls; and Blackbird FlyA coming-of-age story that explores culture and family, forgiveness and friendship, and what makes a true home. Perfect for fans of Wendy Mass and Joan Bauer.Lou Bulosan-Nelson has the ultimate summer DIY project. She's going to build her own "tiny house," 100 square feet all her own. She shares a room with her mom in her grandmother's house, and longs for a place where she can escape her crazy but lovable extended Filipino family. Lou enjoys her woodshop class and creating projects, and she plans to build the house on land she inherited from her dad, who died before she was born. But then she finds out that the land may not be hers for much longer. Lou discovers it's not easy to save her land, or to build a house. But she won't give up; with the help of friends and relatives, her dream begins to take shape, and she learns the deeper meaning of home and family.AN NPR BEST BOOK OF THE YEARA KIRKUS REVIEWS BEST BOOK OF THE YEAR"Equal parts girl-heart, muscle and know-how for today's reader. Endearing to the end." --Rita Williams-Garcia, Newbery-Honor-and-Coretta-Scott King -Award-winning author of the National Book Award Finalist Clayton Byrd Goes Underground"Warm, funny and affirming. As we get to know Lou, her extended Filipino family, and friends, the door opens into her life and, ultimately, her home." --Lisa Yee, author of the Millicent Min trilogy, The Kidney Hypothetical, the DC Super Hero Girls series, and other books "There couldn't be a hero more determined, resourceful or lovable than Lucinda Bulosan-Nelson. Her big dream of a tiny house is irresistible." --Tricia Springstubb, author of Every Single Second, What Happened on Fox Street, Moonpenny Island, and the Cody series"I fell in love with Lou and her wonderful extended family. This story may be about a tiny house, but it has an enormous heart." --Kate Messner, author of The Exact Location of Home
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9781524717971
9781524717957
9781524717940
9781524717964
Accelerated Reader:
MG
Level 4.2, 6 Points
Lexile measure:
660L
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Tagging
Tags:

No Tags, Be the first to tag this record!


Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID9a7ebd3c-b806-8259-55c5-e882d625f584
Grouping Titlehouse that lou built
Grouping Authormae respicio
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2020-09-27 05:02:48AM
Last Indexed2020-09-27 05:20:41AM
Novelist Primary ISBNnone

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_levelMG
accelerated_reader_point_value6
accelerated_reader_reading_level4.2
authorRespicio, Mae,
author_displayRespicio, Mae
available_at_addisonAddison Public Library
collection_addisonChildren
detailed_location_addison1st Floor- Children's Books
Online OverDrive Collection
display_descriptionLonging for an escape from her extended Filipino family, Lou plans to build a tiny house on land she inherited from her father, but difficulties quickly arise.
format_addisonBook
eBook
format_category_addisonBooks
eBook
id9a7ebd3c-b806-8259-55c5-e882d625f584
isbn9781524717940
9781524717957
9781524717964
9781524717971
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
overdrive:e45bc175-14e6-46fe-8ecb-41b4da0087cc-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook1falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
ils:.b21498362.i141456501st Floor- Children's BooksjFIC RESPICIO M.1falsefalseCheck ShelfAug 29, 2019jfic
itype_addisonJuvenile Fiction
last_indexed2020-09-27T10:20:41.883Z
lexile_score660
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
local_callnumber_addisonjFIC RESPICIO M.
owning_library_addisonAddison Public Library
owning_location_addisonAddison Public Library
primary_isbn9781524717971
publishDate2018
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
overdrive:e45bc175-14e6-46fe-8ecb-41b4da0087cceBookeBookEnglishRandom House Children's Books2018
ils:.b21498362BookBooksFirst edition.EnglishWendy Lamb Books, [2018]231 pages ; 22 cm.
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_addison
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:e45bc175-14e6-46fe-8ecb-41b4da0087cc-1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
ils:.b21498362.i14145650On ShelfCheck Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 12, 20, 21
subject_facetBuilding -- Juvenile fiction
California -- Juvenile fiction
Coming of age -- Juvenile fiction
Family life -- California -- Juvenile fiction
Filipino Americans -- Juvenile fiction
Home -- Juvenile fiction
Moving, Household -- Juvenile fiction
title_displayThe house that Lou built
title_fullThe House That Lou Built
The house that Lou built / Mae Respicio
title_shortThe house that Lou built
topic_facetBuilding
Coming of age
Family life
Filipino Americans
Home
Juvenile Fiction
Juvenile Literature
Moving, Household
Science Fiction