The Quick: A Novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY SLATE

For fans of Anne Rice, The Historian, and The Night Circus, an astonishing debut, a novel of epic scope and suspense that conjures up all the magic and menace of Victorian London


1892: James Norbury, a shy would-be poet newly down from Oxford, finds lodging with a charming young aristocrat. Through this new friendship, he is introduced to the drawing-rooms of high society and finds love in an unexpected quarter. Then, suddenly, he vanishes without a trace. Alarmed, his sister, Charlotte, sets out from their crumbling country estate determined to find him. In the sinister, labyrinthine London that greets her, she uncovers a hidden, supernatural city populated by unforgettable characters: a female rope walker turned vigilante, a street urchin with a deadly secret, and the chilling “Doctor Knife.” But the answer to her brother’s disappearance ultimately lies within the doors of the exclusive, secretive Aegolius Club, whose predatory members include the most ambitious, and most bloodthirsty, men in England.

In her first novel, Lauren Owen has created a fantastical world that is both beguiling and terrifying.The Quick will establish her as one of fiction’s most dazzling talents.

Praise for The Quick

“A suspenseful, gloriously atmospheric first novel, and a feast of gothic storytelling that is impossible to resist.”—Kate Atkinson

“A cracking good read . . . Owen takes the gothic conventions of the vampire novel in a refreshing new direction.”—Deborah Harkness, author ofA Discovery of Witches and The Book of Life

“A good old-fashioned vampire novel . . . What fun.”The New York Times Book Review (Editor’s Choice)

The Quick is that rare book that reviewers and readers live for: both plot- and character-driven, a stay-up-all-night reading romp. . . . This is elegant, witty, force-of-nature writing.”—The Dallas Morning News

“The book’s energy, its wide reach and rich detail make it a confident example of the ‘unputdownable’ novel.”—The Economist

“A seamless blend of Victorian London and rich imagination.”—Tana French, author ofIn the Woods

“A thrilling tale . . . This book will give you chills even on a hot day.”Minneapolis Star Tribune

“Stylishly sinister . . . will have you sleeping with the lights on.”—O: The Oprah Magazine

“A sly and glittering addition to the literature of the macabre.”—Hilary Mantel, author ofWolf Hall

“A big, sly bucketful of the most tremendous fun . . . [Owen] weaves what’s here with what’s beyond as easily as J. K. Rowling does.”Slate

“[An author of] prodigious gifts . . . Owen captures Dickens’s London with glee and produces a number of characters Dickens would be happy to call his own.”—Pittsburgh Post-Gazette
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780804165501
9780679645054
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Tagging
Tags:

No Tags, Be the first to tag this record!


Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work IDa36c40b2-c639-42d4-851f-24497673e66e
Grouping Titlequick
Grouping Authorlauren owen
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2023-01-28 03:51:50AM
Last Indexed2023-01-28 04:26:05AM

Solr Fields

accelerated_reader_point_value
0
accelerated_reader_reading_level
0
auth_author2
Slater, Simon
author
Owen, Lauren, 1985-
author2-role
Slater, Simon,narrator
author_display
Owen, Lauren
available_at_addison
Online OverDrive Collection
detailed_location_addison
Axis 360
Online OverDrive Collection
display_description
NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY SLATE • Includes an exclusive conversation between Lev Grossman and Lauren Owen
For fans of Anne Rice, The Historian, and The Night Circus, an astonishing debut, a novel of epic scope and suspense that conjures up all the magic and menace of Victorian London

 
1892: James Norbury, a shy would-be poet newly down from Oxford, finds lodging with a charming young aristocrat. Through this new friendship, he is introduced to the drawing-rooms of high society and finds love in an unexpected quarter. Then, suddenly, he vanishes without a trace. Alarmed, his sister, Charlotte, sets out from their crumbling country estate determined to find him. In the sinister, labyrinthine London that greets her, she uncovers a hidden, supernatural city populated by unforgettable characters: a female rope walker turned vigilante, a street urchin with a deadly secret, and the chilling “Doctor Knife.” But the answer to her brother’s disappearance ultimately lies within the doors of the exclusive, secretive Aegolius Club, whose predatory members include the most ambitious, and most bloodthirsty, men in England.
 
In her first novel, Lauren Owen has created a fantastical world that is both beguiling and terrifying. The Quick will establish her as one of fiction’s most dazzling talents.
 
Look for special features inside. Join the Random House Reader’s Circle for author chats and more.

“A suspenseful, gloriously atmospheric first novel, and a feast of gothic storytelling that is impossible to resist.”—Kate Atkinson

“A cracking good read . . . Owen takes the gothic conventions of the vampire novel in a refreshing new direction.”—Deborah Harkness, author of A Discovery of Witches and The Book of Life
 
“A good old-fashioned vampire novel . . . What fun.”The New York Times Book Review (Editor’s Choice)
 
The Quick is that rare book that reviewers and readers live for: both plot- and character-driven, a stay-up-all-night reading romp. . . . This is elegant, witty, force-of-nature writing.”—The Dallas Morning News
 
“The book’s energy, its wide reach and rich detail make it a confident example of the ‘unputdownable’ novel.”—The Economist
 
“A seamless blend of Victorian London and rich imagination.”—Tana French, author of In the Woods
 
“A thrilling tale . . . This book will give you chills even on a hot day.”Minneapolis Star Tribune
 
“Stylishly sinister . . . will have you sleeping with the lights on.”—O: The Oprah Magazine
 
“A sly and glittering addition to the literature of the macabre.”—Hilary Mantel, author of Wolf Hall
 
“A big, sly bucketful of the most tremendous fun . . . [Owen] weaves what’s here with what’s beyond as easily as J. K. Rowling does.”Slate
 
“[An author of] prodigious gifts . . . Owen captures Dickens’s London with glee and produces a number of characters Dickens would be happy to call his own.”—Pittsburgh Post-Gazette
format_addison
eAudiobook
eBook
format_category_addison
Audio Books
eBook
id
a36c40b2-c639-42d4-851f-24497673e66e
isbn
9780679645054
9780804165501
last_indexed
2023-01-28T10:26:05.930Z
lexile_score
-1
literary_form
Fiction
literary_form_full
Fiction
local_callnumber_addison
Online OverDrive
owning_library_addison
Addison Public Library Online
owning_location_addison
Online OverDrive Collection
primary_isbn
9780804165501
publishDate
2014
publisher
Random House
Random House Audio
Random House Publishing Group
recordtype
grouped_work
subject_facet
Audiobooks
Brothers and sisters
Brothers and sisters -- Fiction
Detective and mystery fiction
Downloadable e-Books
Electronic audio books
Electronic books
England -- London
FICTION -- Literary
Fiction
LITERARY CRITICISM -- European -- English, Irish, Scottish, Welsh
London (England) -- Fiction
Mystery Fiction
Private clubs
Private clubs -- Fiction
Suspense fiction
Thrillers (Fiction)
Vampires
Vampires -- Fiction
title_display
The Quick A Novel
title_full
The Quick A Novel
The quick / a novel by Lauren Owen
The quick : a novel / Lauren Owen
title_short
The Quick
title_sub
A Novel
topic_facet
Brothers and sisters
English, Irish, Scottish, Welsh
European
FICTION
Fantasy
Fiction
Historical Fiction
LITERARY CRITICISM
Literary
Literature
Private clubs
Vampires

Solr Details Tables

item_details

Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent URLDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocation
axis360:bl2014016724bl2014016724Axis 360Online Axis 360eBookeBook1falsetrueAxis 360http://ereadil.axis360.baker-taylor.com/Title?itemid=0014012315Available OnlineAxis 360
overdrive:757abba7-d951-405f-9700-18dfc1be8881-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook3falsetrueOverDriveAvailable Online
overdrive:757abba7-d951-405f-9700-18dfc1be88811Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook0falsetrueOverDriveAvailable Online
axis360:bl2014022015bl2014022015Axis 360Online Axis 360eAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueAxis 360http://ereadil.axis360.baker-taylor.com/Title?itemid=0014684340Available OnlineAxis 360

record_details

Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
axis360:bl2014016724eBookeBookFirst editionEnglishRandom House[2014]1 online resource (523 pages)
overdrive:757abba7-d951-405f-9700-18dfc1be8881eBookeBookEnglishRandom House Publishing Group2014
axis360:bl2014022015eAudiobookAudio BooksUnabridgedEnglishRandom House Audio[2014]1 online resource (1 audio file)

scoping_details_addison

Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
axis360:bl2014016724bl2014016724Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsefalse
overdrive:757abba7-d951-405f-9700-18dfc1be8881-1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
overdrive:757abba7-d951-405f-9700-18dfc1be88811Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
axis360:bl2014022015bl2014022015Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsefalse