The Quick: a novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
Author:
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY SLATEFor fans of Anne Rice, The Historian, and The Night Circus, an astonishing debut, a novel of epic scope and suspense that conjures up all the magic and menace of Victorian London1892: James Norbury, a shy would-be poet newly down from Oxford, finds lodging with a charming young aristocrat. Through this new friendship, he is introduced to the drawing-rooms of high society and finds love in an unexpected quarter. Then, suddenly, he vanishes without a trace. Alarmed, his sister, Charlotte, sets out from their crumbling country estate determined to find him. In the sinister, labyrinthine London that greets her, she uncovers a hidden, supernatural city populated by unforgettable characters: a female rope walker turned vigilante, a street urchin with a deadly secret, and the chilling “Doctor Knife.” But the answer to her brother’s disappearance ultimately lies within the doors of the exclusive, secretive Aegolius Club, whose predatory members include the most ambitious, and most bloodthirsty, men in England.In her first novel, Lauren Owen has created a fantastical world that is both beguiling and terrifying.The Quick will establish her as one of fiction’s most dazzling talents.Praise for The Quick“A suspenseful, gloriously atmospheric first novel, and a feast of gothic storytelling that is impossible to resist.”—Kate Atkinson“A cracking good read . . . Owen takes the gothic conventions of the vampire novel in a refreshing new direction.”—Deborah Harkness, author ofA Discovery of Witches and The Book of Life“A good old-fashioned vampire novel . . . What fun.”The New York Times Book Review (Editor’s Choice)The Quick is that rare book that reviewers and readers live for: both plot- and character-driven, a stay-up-all-night reading romp. . . . This is elegant, witty, force-of-nature writing.”—The Dallas Morning News“The book’s energy, its wide reach and rich detail make it a confident example of the ‘unputdownable’ novel.”—The Economist“A seamless blend of Victorian London and rich imagination.”—Tana French, author ofIn the Woods“A thrilling tale . . . This book will give you chills even on a hot day.”Minneapolis Star Tribune“Stylishly sinister . . . will have you sleeping with the lights on.”—O: The Oprah Magazine“A sly and glittering addition to the literature of the macabre.”—Hilary Mantel, author ofWolf Hall“A big, sly bucketful of the most tremendous fun . . . [Owen] weaves what’s here with what’s beyond as easily as J. K. Rowling does.”Slate“[An author of] prodigious gifts . . . Owen captures Dickens’s London with glee and produces a number of characters Dickens would be happy to call his own.”—Pittsburgh Post-Gazette
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780804165501
9780679645054
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Tagging
Tags:

No Tags, Be the first to tag this record!


Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work IDa36c40b2-c639-42d4-851f-24497673e66e
Grouping Titlequick
Grouping Authorlauren owen
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2021-05-14 04:51:50AM
Last Indexed2021-05-14 05:08:20AM
Novelist Primary ISBN9780812993271

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
auth_author2Slater, Simon,
authorLauren Owen
author2-roleSlater, Simon,narrator.
author_displayOwen, Lauren
available_at_addisonOnline OverDrive Collection
detailed_location_addisonAxis 360
Online OverDrive Collection
display_descriptionNAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY SLATE • Includes an exclusive conversation between Lev Grossman and Lauren Owen
For fans of Anne Rice, The Historian, and The Night Circus, an astonishing debut, a novel of epic scope and suspense that conjures up all the magic and menace of Victorian London

 
1892: James Norbury, a shy would-be poet newly down from Oxford, finds lodging with a charming young aristocrat. Through this new friendship, he is introduced to the drawing-rooms of high society and finds love in an unexpected quarter. Then, suddenly, he vanishes without a trace. Alarmed, his sister, Charlotte, sets out from their crumbling country estate determined to find him. In the sinister, labyrinthine London that greets her, she uncovers a hidden, supernatural city populated by unforgettable characters: a female rope walker turned vigilante, a street urchin with a deadly secret, and the chilling “Doctor Knife.” But the answer to her brother’s disappearance ultimately lies within the doors of the exclusive, secretive Aegolius Club, whose predatory members include the most ambitious, and most bloodthirsty, men in England.
 
In her first novel, Lauren Owen has created a fantastical world that is both beguiling and terrifying. The Quick will establish her as one of fiction’s most dazzling talents.
 
Look for special features inside. Join the Random House Reader’s Circle for author chats and more.

“A suspenseful, gloriously atmospheric first novel, and a feast of gothic storytelling that is impossible to resist.”—Kate Atkinson

“A cracking good read . . . Owen takes the gothic conventions of the vampire novel in a refreshing new direction.”—Deborah Harkness, author of A Discovery of Witches and The Book of Life
 
“A good old-fashioned vampire novel . . . What fun.”The New York Times Book Review (Editor’s Choice)
 
The Quick is that rare book that reviewers and readers live for: both plot- and character-driven, a stay-up-all-night reading romp. . . . This is elegant, witty, force-of-nature writing.”—The Dallas Morning News
 
“The book’s energy, its wide reach and rich detail make it a confident example of the ‘unputdownable’ novel.”—The Economist
 
“A seamless blend of Victorian London and rich imagination.”—Tana French, author of In the Woods
 
“A thrilling tale . . . This book will give you chills even on a hot day.”Minneapolis Star Tribune
 
“Stylishly sinister . . . will have you sleeping with the lights on.”—O: The Oprah Magazine
 
“A sly and glittering addition to the literature of the macabre.”—Hilary Mantel, author of Wolf Hall
 
“A big, sly bucketful of the most tremendous fun . . . [Owen] weaves what’s here with what’s beyond as easily as J. K. Rowling does.”Slate
 
“[An author of] prodigious gifts . . . Owen captures Dickens’s London with glee and produces a number of characters Dickens would be happy to call his own.”—Pittsburgh Post-Gazette
format_addisoneAudiobook
eBook
format_category_addisonAudio Books
eBook
ida36c40b2-c639-42d4-851f-24497673e66e
isbn9780679645054
9780804165501
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
axis360:bl2014016724bl2014016724Axis 360Online Axis 360eBookeBook1falsetrueAxis 360http://ereadil.axis360.baker-taylor.com/Title?itemid=0014012315Available OnlineAxis 360
overdrive:757abba7-d951-405f-9700-18dfc1be88811Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook0falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
overdrive:757abba7-d951-405f-9700-18dfc1be8881-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook3falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
axis360:bl2014022015bl2014022015Axis 360Online Axis 360eAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueAxis 360http://ereadil.axis360.baker-taylor.com/Title?itemid=0014684340Available OnlineAxis 360
last_indexed2021-05-14T10:08:20.462Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
local_callnumber_addisonOnline OverDrive
owning_library_addisonAddison Public Library Online
owning_location_addisonOnline OverDrive Collection
primary_isbn9780804165501
publishDate2014
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
axis360:bl2014016724eBookeBookFirst edition.EnglishRandom House, [2014]1 online resource (523 pages)
overdrive:757abba7-d951-405f-9700-18dfc1be8881eBookeBookEnglishRandom House Publishing Group2014
axis360:bl2014022015eAudiobookAudio BooksUnabridged.EnglishRandom House Audio, [2014]1 online resource (1 audio file)
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_addison
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
axis360:bl2014016724bl2014016724Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsefalse
overdrive:757abba7-d951-405f-9700-18dfc1be88811Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
overdrive:757abba7-d951-405f-9700-18dfc1be8881-1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
axis360:bl2014022015bl2014022015Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsefalse
subject_facetAudiobooks
Brothers and sisters
Brothers and sisters -- Fiction
Detective and mystery fiction
Downloadable e-Books
Electronic audio books
Electronic books
England -- London
FICTION -- Literary
Fiction
LITERARY CRITICISM -- European -- English, Irish, Scottish, Welsh
London (England) -- Fiction
Mystery Fiction
Private clubs
Private clubs -- Fiction
Suspense fiction
Thrillers (Fiction)
Vampires
Vampires -- Fiction
title_displayThe Quick A Novel
title_fullThe Quick A Novel
The quick / a novel by Lauren Owen
The quick : a novel / Lauren Owen
title_shortThe Quick
title_suba novel
topic_facetBrothers and sisters
English, Irish, Scottish, Welsh
European
FICTION
Fantasy
Fiction
Historical Fiction
LITERARY CRITICISM
Literary
Literature
Private clubs
Vampires