The immortalists

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(1)
4 star
 
(0)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
A BEST BOOK OF THE YEAR: Washington Post &; NPR &; Entertainment Weekly &; Real Simple &; Marie Claire &; New York Public Library &; LibraryReads &; The Skimm &; Lit Hub &; Lit Reactor AN INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER&;A captivating family saga.&;&;The New York Times Book Review&;This literary family saga is perfect for fans of Celeste Ng and Donna Tartt.&;&;People Magazine (Book of the Week)If you knew the date of your death, how would you live your life?It's 1969 in New York City's Lower East Side, and word has spread of the arrival of a mystical woman, a traveling psychic who claims to be able to tell anyone the day they will die. The Gold children&;four adolescents on the cusp of self-awareness&;sneak out to hear their fortunes.The prophecies inform their next five decades. Golden-boy Simon escapes to the West Coast, searching for love in '80s San Francisco; dreamy Klara becomes a Las Vegas magician, obsessed with blurring reality and fantasy; eldest son Daniel seeks security as an army doctor post-9/11; and bookish Varya throws herself into longevity research, where she tests the boundary between science and immortality.A sweeping novel of remarkable ambition and depth, The Immortalists probes the line between destiny and choice, reality and illusion, this world and the next. It is a deeply moving testament to the power of story, the nature of belief, and the unrelenting pull of familial bonds.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
Contributors:
ISBN:
9780735213180
9780735213197
9780525497646
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Tagging
Tags:

No Tags, Be the first to tag this record!


Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work IDa7dc45ed-a4a5-aefe-e16c-5858f6290590
Grouping Titleimmortalists
Grouping Authorchloe benjamin
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2020-09-28 04:51:07AM
Last Indexed2020-09-28 05:07:41AM
Novelist Primary ISBNnone

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
authorBenjamin, Chloe,
author2-rolecloudLibrary.
author_displayBenjamin, Chloe
available_at_addisonAddison Public Library
collection_addisonAdults
detailed_location_addison2nd Floor- Adult Books
Online OverDrive Collection
display_descriptionIt's 1969 in New York City's Lower East Side, and word has spread of the arrival of a mystical woman, a traveling psychic who claims to be able to tell anyone the day they will die. The Gold children--four adolescents on the cusp of self-awareness--sneak out to hear their fortunes. Their prophecies inform their next five decades. Golden-boy Simon escapes to the West Coast, searching for love in '80s San Francisco; dreamy Klara becomes a Las Vegas magician, obsessed with blurring reality and fantasy; eldest son Daniel seeks security as an army doctor post-9/11, hoping to control fate; and bookish Varya throws herself into longevity research, where she tests the boundary between science and immortality. The Immortalists probes the line between destiny and choice, reality and illusion, this world and the next. It is a deeply moving testament to the power of story, the nature of belief, and the unrelenting pull of familial bonds.
format_addisonBook
eAudiobook
eBook
format_category_addisonAudio Books
Books
eBook
eBooks
ida7dc45ed-a4a5-aefe-e16c-5858f6290590
isbn9780525497646
9780735213180
9780735213197
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
ils:.b20581853.i140092132nd Floor- Adult BooksFIC BENJAMIN C.1falsefalseCheck ShelfMar 12, 2020afic
overdrive:0bb2eafa-62fe-4849-9bd0-f990ceb4e72d-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books8falsetrueOverDriveOverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive ListenAvailable Online
overdrive:4107fda0-400d-495b-91ef-b43abb06639f-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook12falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
external_econtent:ils:.b20968012Online1falsetrueCloud Libraryhttps://ebook.yourcloudlibrary.com/library/AddisonPublicLibrary-document_id-o93xcr9Available Onlinead
itype_addisonFiction
eCollection
last_indexed2020-09-28T10:07:41.143Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
local_callnumber_addisonFIC BENJAMIN C.
Online
owning_library_addisonAddison Public Library
Addison Public Library Online
owning_location_addisonAddison Public Library
primary_isbn9780735213180
publishDate2018
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
ils:.b20581853BookBooksEnglishG.P. Putnam's Sons, [2018]346 pages ; 24 cm.
overdrive:0bb2eafa-62fe-4849-9bd0-f990ceb4e72deAudiobookAudio BooksEnglishPenguin Random House Audio Publishing Group2018
overdrive:4107fda0-400d-495b-91ef-b43abb06639feBookeBookEnglishPenguin Publishing Group2018
ils:.b20968012eBookeBooksEnglishPenguin Publishing Group, 2018.352 p.
external_econtent:ils:.b20968012eBookeBooksEnglishPenguin Publishing Group, 2018.352 p.
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_addison
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:.b20581853.i14009213On ShelfCheck Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 12, 20, 21
overdrive:0bb2eafa-62fe-4849-9bd0-f990ceb4e72d-1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
overdrive:4107fda0-400d-495b-91ef-b43abb06639f-1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
external_econtent:ils:.b20968012Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsetrue
subject_facetAging -- Fiction
Brothers and sisters -- Fiction
Domestic fiction
Electronic books
Families -- Fiction
Family Life -- FICTION
Fate and fatalism -- Fiction
Fortune-tellers -- Fiction
Literary -- FICTION
Magicians -- Fiction
title_displayThe immortalists
title_fullThe Immortalists
The Immortalists [electronic resource] Benjamin, Chloe.
The immortalists / Chloe Benjamin
title_shortThe immortalists
topic_facetAging
Brothers and sisters
Families
Family Life
Fate and fatalism
Fiction
Fortune-tellers
Literary
Literature
Magicians