The new kid on the block: poems

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Greenwillow Books,
Pub. Date:
c1984.
Language:
English
Description

From beloved and bestselling poet Jack Prelutsky come over 100 hilarious poems about strange creatures and people&;from jellyfish stew to a bouncing mouse, to the very unexpected new kid! For fans of Shel Silverstein and Louis Sachar's Wayside School series. &;The illustrations bring the frivolity to a fever pitch.&;&;School Library Journal.

Open this book to any page to begin your exploration. Here are poems about things that you may never have thought about before. You'll be introduced to jellyfish stew, a bouncing mouse, a ridiculous dog, and a boneless chicken.

You'll learn why you shouldn't argue with a shark, eat a dinosaur, or have an alligator for a pet. You'll meet the world's worst singer and the greatest video game player in history. You'll even find an invitation to a dragon's birthday party....

This playful collection is a wonderful introduction to the pleasures of poetry and word play from a master of the genre, Jack Prelutsky.

&;It&;s the author&;s joyous sense of the absurd that propels the reader from page to page.&;&;Horn Book (starred review)

Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780688022716
9780688022723
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Tagging
Tags:

No Tags, Be the first to tag this record!


Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work IDaf80558d-0dfd-f152-7564-9a93b2628da9
Grouping Titlenew kid on the block
Grouping Authorprelutsky jack
Grouping Categorybook
Last Grouping Update2020-05-08 04:51:53AM
Last Indexed2020-07-14 04:54:36AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
auth_author2Stevenson, James, 1929-2017.
authorPrelutsky, Jack.
author2-roleStevenson, James,1929-2017.
author_displayPrelutsky, Jack
available_at_addisonAddison Public Library
collection_addisonChildren
detailed_location_addison1st Floor- Children's Books
display_descriptionHumorous poems about such strange creatures and people as Baloney Belly Billy and the Gloopy Gloopers.
format_addisonBook
format_category_addisonBooks
idaf80558d-0dfd-f152-7564-9a93b2628da9
isbn9780688022716
9780688022723
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
ils:.b10069938.i141678151st Floor- Children's Booksj811.54 PRE1falsefalseCheck Shelfjnf
itype_addisonJuvenile Nonfiction
last_indexed2020-07-14T09:54:36.759Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formNon Fiction
literary_form_fullNon Fiction
local_callnumber_addisonj811.54 PRE
owning_library_addisonAddison Public Library
owning_location_addisonAddison Public Library
primary_isbn9780688022716
publishDate1984
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
ils:.b10069938BookBooks1st ed.EnglishGreenwillow Books, c1984.159 p. : ill. ; 24 cm.
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_addison
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:.b10069938.i14167815On ShelfCheck Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 12, 20, 21
subject_facetAmerican poetry -- Juvenile
Children's poetry, American
Humorous poetry -- Juvenile
Rebecca Caudill Young Readers' nominee book, 1989
title_displayThe new kid on the block : poems
title_fullThe new kid on the block : poems / by Jack Prelutsky ; drawings by James Stevenson
title_shortThe new kid on the block
title_subpoems
topic_facetAmerican poetry
Children's poetry, American
Humorous poetry