The Locals: A Novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Random House Publishing Group
Pub. Date:
2017
Language:
English
Description
“Summons up a small American town at precisely the right moment in our history . . . a bold, vital, and view-expanding novel.”—George Saunders

A rural working-class New England town elects as its mayor a New York hedge fund millionaire in this inspired novel for our times—fiction in the tradition of Jonathan Franzen and Jennifer Egan.


A WASHINGTON POST NOTABLE BOOK

Mark Firth is a contractor and home restorer in Howland, Massachusetts, who feels opportunity passing his family by. After being swindled by a financial advisor, what future can Mark promise his wife, Karen, and their young daughter, Haley? He finds himself envying the wealthy weekenders in his community whose houses sit empty all winter.

Philip Hadi used to be one of these people. But in the nervous days after 9/11 he flees New York and hires Mark to turn his Howland home into a year-round “secure location” from which he can manage billions of dollars of other people’s money. The collision of these two men’s very different worlds—rural vs. urban, middle class vs. wealthy—is the engine of Jonathan Dee’s powerful new novel.

Inspired by Hadi, Mark looks around for a surefire investment: the mid-decade housing boom. Over Karen’s objections, and teaming up with his troubled brother, Gerry, Mark starts buying up local property with cheap debt. Then the town’s first selectman dies suddenly, and Hadi volunteers for office. He soon begins subtly transforming Howland in his image—with unexpected results for Mark and his extended family.

Here are the dramas of twenty-first-century America—rising inequality, working class decline, a new authoritarianism—played out in the classic setting of some of our greatest novels: the small town. The Locals is that rare work of fiction capable of capturing a fraught American moment in real time.

Praise for The Locals

“After 9/11, New York hedge fund billionaire Philip Hadi retreats to his summer home in the Berkshires. In thrall to his new town, he runs for office to keep it sleepy, sweet and free from tax hikes. Is he benevolent, arrogant or both? No one gets off the moral hook in this propulsive, brilliantly observed study.”People (Book of the Week)
 
“Thoughtful . . . [Jonathan Dee’s] prescient sensitivity has never been more unnerving. . . . Amid the heat of today’s vicious political climate, The Locals is a smoke alarm. Listen up.”—Ron Charles, The Washington Post
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780679645016
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Tagging
Tags:

No Tags, Be the first to tag this record!


Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work IDb1743c21-be57-7e0a-c8cb-0f75e3cff789
Grouping Titlelocals
Grouping Authorjonathan dee
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2022-01-28 04:40:41AM
Last Indexed2022-01-28 05:06:26AM
Novelist Primary ISBNnone

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
authorDee, Jonathan
author_displayDee, Jonathan
available_at_addisonOnline OverDrive Collection
detailed_location_addisonOnline OverDrive Collection
display_description“Summons up a small American town at precisely the right moment in our history . . . a bold, vital, and view-expanding novel.”—George Saunders

A rural working-class New England town elects as its mayor a New York hedge fund millionaire in this inspired novel for our times—fiction in the tradition of Jonathan Franzen and Jennifer Egan.


A WASHINGTON POST NOTABLE BOOK

Mark Firth is a contractor and home restorer in Howland, Massachusetts, who feels opportunity passing his family by. After being swindled by a financial advisor, what future can Mark promise his wife, Karen, and their young daughter, Haley? He finds himself envying the wealthy weekenders in his community whose houses sit empty all winter.

Philip Hadi used to be one of these people. But in the nervous days after 9/11 he flees New York and hires Mark to turn his Howland home into a year-round “secure location” from which he can manage billions of dollars of other people’s money. The collision of these two men’s very different worlds—rural vs. urban, middle class vs. wealthy—is the engine of Jonathan Dee’s powerful new novel.

Inspired by Hadi, Mark looks around for a surefire investment: the mid-decade housing boom. Over Karen’s objections, and teaming up with his troubled brother, Gerry, Mark starts buying up local property with cheap debt. Then the town’s first selectman dies suddenly, and Hadi volunteers for office. He soon begins subtly transforming Howland in his image—with unexpected results for Mark and his extended family.

Here are the dramas of twenty-first-century America—rising inequality, working class decline, a new authoritarianism—played out in the classic setting of some of our greatest novels: the small town. The Locals is that rare work of fiction capable of capturing a fraught American moment in real time.

Praise for The Locals

“After 9/11, New York hedge fund billionaire Philip Hadi retreats to his summer home in the Berkshires. In thrall to his new town, he runs for office to keep it sleepy, sweet and free from tax hikes. Is he benevolent, arrogant or both? No one gets off the moral hook in this propulsive, brilliantly observed study.”People (Book of the Week)
 
“Thoughtful . . . [Jonathan Dee’s] prescient sensitivity has never been more unnerving. . . . Amid the heat of today’s vicious political climate, The Locals is a smoke alarm. Listen up.”—Ron Charles, The Washington Post
format_addisoneBook
format_category_addisoneBook
idb1743c21-be57-7e0a-c8cb-0f75e3cff789
isbn9780679645016
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocation
overdrive:6434281a-b3ea-40f0-97aa-d7aab7c4228c1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook0falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
overdrive:6434281a-b3ea-40f0-97aa-d7aab7c4228c-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook1falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
last_indexed2022-01-28T11:06:26.373Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
local_callnumber_addisonOnline OverDrive
owning_library_addisonAddison Public Library Online
owning_location_addisonOnline OverDrive Collection
primary_isbn9780679645016
publishDate2017
publisherRandom House Publishing Group
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
overdrive:6434281a-b3ea-40f0-97aa-d7aab7c4228ceBookeBookEnglishRandom House Publishing Group2017
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_addison
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:6434281a-b3ea-40f0-97aa-d7aab7c4228c1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
overdrive:6434281a-b3ea-40f0-97aa-d7aab7c4228c-1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
title_displayThe Locals A Novel
title_fullThe Locals A Novel
title_shortThe Locals
title_subA Novel
topic_facetFiction
Literature