Salt to the sea: a novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(0)
4 star
 
(1)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Accelerated Reader:
IL: UG - BL: 4.5 - AR Pts: 10
Lexile measure:
HL: High-Low 560L
Description
New York Times Bestseller and winner of the Carnegie Medal! "Masterfully crafted"&;The Wall Street JournalFor readers of Between Shades of Gray and All the Light We Cannot See, Ruta Sepetys returns to WWII in this epic novel that shines a light on one of the war's most devastating&;yet unknown&;tragedies.World War II is drawing to a close in East Prussia and thousands of refugees are on a desperate trek toward freedom, many with something to hide. Among them are Joana, Emilia, and Florian, whose paths converge en route to the ship that promises salvation, the Wilhelm Gustloff. Forced by circumstance to unite, the three find their strength, courage, and trust in each other tested with each step closer to safety. Just when it seems freedom is within their grasp, tragedy strikes. Not country, nor culture, nor status matter as all ten thousand people&;adults and children alike&;aboard must fight for the same thing: survival.Told in alternating points of view and perfect for fans of Anthony Doerr's Pulitzer Prize-winning All the Light We Cannot See, Erik Larson's Dead Wake, and Elizabeth Wein's Printz Honor Book Code Name Verity, this masterful work of historical fiction is inspired by the real-life tragedy that was the sinking of the Wilhelm Gustloff&;the greatest maritime disaster in history. As she did in Between Shades of Gray, Ruta Sepetys unearths a shockingly little-known casualty of a gruesome war, and proves that humanity and love can prevail, even in the darkest of hours.Praise for Salt to the Sea:Featured on NPR's Morning Edition  &;  "Superlative...masterfully crafted...[a] powerful work of historical fiction."&;The Wall Street Journal  &;  "[Sepetys is] a master of YA fiction&;she once again anchors a panoramic view of epic tragedy in perspectives that feel deeply textured and immediate."&;Entertainment Weekly  &;  "Riveting...powerful...haunting."&;The Washington Post  &; "Compelling for both adult and teenage readers."&;New York Times Book Review  &;  "Intimate, extraordinary, artfully crafted...brilliant."&;Shelf Awareness  &;  "Historical fiction at its very, very best."&;The Globe and Mail  &;  "[H]aunting, heartbreaking, hopeful and altogether gorgeous...one of the best young-adult novels to appear in a very long time."&;Salt Lake Tribune  &;  *"This haunting gem of a novel begs to be remembered."&;Booklist  &;  *"Artfully told and sensitively crafted...will leave readers weeping."&;School Library Journal  &;  A PW and SLJ 2016 Book of the YearPraise for Between Shades of Gray:A New York Times Notable Book  &;  A Wall Street Journal Best Children&;s Book  &;  A PW, SLJ, Booklist, and Kirkus Best Book  &;  iTunes 2011 Rewind Best Teen Novel  &;  A Carnegie Medal and William C. Morris Finalist  &;  A New York Times and International Bestseller  &;  "Few books are beautifully written, fewer still are important; this novel is both."&;The Washington Post  &;  *"[A]n important book that deserves the widest possible readership."&;Booklist
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780399160301
9780698172623
9780147525468
9781467623575
Accelerated Reader:
UG
Level 4.5, 10 Points
Lexile measure:
HL: High-Low 560L
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Tagging
Tags:

No Tags, Be the first to tag this record!


Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work IDb521989c-c26b-dde9-c7a7-fbc4d93b08f3
Grouping Titlesalt to the sea
Grouping Authorruta sepetys
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2020-09-29 04:51:16AM
Last Indexed2020-09-29 05:07:16AM
Novelist Primary ISBNnone

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_levelUG
accelerated_reader_point_value10
accelerated_reader_reading_level4.5
auth_author2Crouch, Michael
Damron, Will,
Marie, Jorjeana,
Morris, Cassandra, 1982-
authorSepetys, Ruta,
author2-role3M Company.
Crouch, Michaelnarrator.
Damron, Will,narrator.
Findaway World, LLC.
Marie, Jorjeana,narrator.
Morris, Cassandra,1982-narrator.
Playaway Digital Audio.
author_displaySepetys, Ruta
available_at_addisonAddison Public Library
collection_addisonAdults
Teens
detailed_location_addison2nd Floor- Adult Audio Books
2nd Floor- Teen Books
Axis 360
Online OverDrive Collection
display_description"As World War II draws to a close, refugees try to escape the war's final dangers, only to find themselves aboard a ship with a target on its hull"-- World War II is drawing to a close in East Prussia, and thousands of refugees are on a desperate trek toward freedom. When their paths converge in route to the ship that promises salvation, Joana, Emilia, and Florian find their strength, courage, and trust in one another tested with each step closer toward safety. When tragedy strikes the Wilhelm Gustloff, they must fight for the same thing: survival.
format_addisonBook
Playaway
eAudiobook
eBook
format_category_addisonAudio Books
Books
eBook
eBooks
idb521989c-c26b-dde9-c7a7-fbc4d93b08f3
isbn9780147525468
9780399160301
9780698172623
9781467623575
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
overdrive:fc9fb368-e3a8-4bbf-afc2-f0b4a9b56b4e-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books5falsetrueOverDriveOverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive ListenAvailable Online
axis360:bl2016030424bl2016030424Axis 360Online Axis 360eAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueAxis 360http://ereadil.axis360.baker-taylor.com/Title?itemid=0017958643Available OnlineAxis 360
overdrive:3470f6fc-69e8-481e-a5b5-5d6781f4d2b4-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook6falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
axis360:bl2016002821bl2016002821Axis 360Online Axis 360eBookeBook1falsetrueAxis 360http://ereadil.axis360.baker-taylor.com/Title?itemid=0017104103Available OnlineAxis 360
ils:.b1915690x.i138301202nd Floor- Adult Audio BooksPLAYAWAY FIC SEPETYS R.1falsefalseCheck ShelfMar 22, 2018aabrb
external_econtent:ils:.b17974793Online1falsetrueCloud Libraryhttp://ebook.3m.com/library/AddisonPublicLibrary-document_id-huy9bg9Available Onlineyd
ils:.b17017051.i136185202nd Floor- Teen BooksYA FIC SEPETYS R.1falsefalseCheck ShelfAug 22, 2019yfic
ils:.b17017051.i136185562nd Floor- Teen BooksYA FIC SEPETYS R.1falsefalseCheck ShelfFeb 25, 2020yfic
itype_addisonPlayaway Audiobook
Young Adult Fiction
eCollection
last_indexed2020-09-29T10:07:16.508Z
lexile_codeHL: High-Low
lexile_score560
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
Novels
local_callnumber_addisonOnline
PLAYAWAY FIC SEPETYS R.
YA FIC SEPETYS R.
owning_library_addisonAddison Public Library
Addison Public Library Online
owning_location_addisonAddison Public Library
primary_isbn9780399160301
publishDate2016
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
overdrive:fc9fb368-e3a8-4bbf-afc2-f0b4a9b56b4eeAudiobookAudio BooksEnglishPenguin Random House Audio Publishing Group2016
axis360:bl2016030424eAudiobookAudio BooksUnabridged.EnglishListening Library, [2016]1 online resource (1 audio file)
overdrive:3470f6fc-69e8-481e-a5b5-5d6781f4d2b4eBookeBookEnglishPenguin Young Readers Group2016
axis360:bl2016002821eBookeBookEnglishPhilomel Books, [2016]1 online resource (391 pages) : maps
ils:.b17974793eBookeBooksEnglishPenguin Young Readers Group, 2016.400 p.
ils:.b1915690xPlayawayAudio BooksUnabridged.EnglishFindaway World, LLC, [2016]1 audio media player (approximately 9 hr.) : digital, HD audio ; 3 3/8 x 2 1/8 in.
external_econtent:ils:.b17974793eBookeBooksEnglishPenguin Young Readers Group, 2016.400 p.
ils:.b17017051BookBooksEnglishPhilomel Books, [2016]391 pages : maps ; 22 cm.
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_addison
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:fc9fb368-e3a8-4bbf-afc2-f0b4a9b56b4e-1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
axis360:bl2016030424bl2016030424Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsefalse
overdrive:3470f6fc-69e8-481e-a5b5-5d6781f4d2b4-1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
axis360:bl2016002821bl2016002821Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsefalse
ils:.b1915690x.i13830120On ShelfCheck Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 12, 20, 21
external_econtent:ils:.b17974793Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsetrue
ils:.b17017051.i13618520On ShelfCheck Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 12, 20, 21
ils:.b17017051.i13618556On ShelfCheck Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 12, 20, 21
subject_facet
Abraham Lincoln Award nominee book, 2018
Audiobooks
Children's audiobooks
Downloadable audio books
Electronic books
Europe -- Historical
Fiction
Historical Fiction
Historical fiction
JUVENILE FICTION -- General
JUVENILE FICTION / Historical / General
Juvenile works
Military & Wars -- Historical
Refugees
Refugees -- Fiction
Shipwreck survival
Shipwreck survival -- Fiction
Survival Stories -- Action & Adventure
Survival after airplane accidents, shipwrecks, etc. -- Fiction
Teenagers -- Fiction
War fiction
Wilhelm Gustloff (Ship) -- Fiction
World War (1939-1945)
World War, 1939-1945 -- Fiction
World War, 1939-1945 -- Juvenile fiction
World War, 1939-1945 -- Refugees -- Fiction
Young Adult Fiction
Young Adult Literature
Young adult fiction
Young adult works
e-book [online only] -- OverDrive
title_displaySalt to the sea : a novel
title_fullSalt to the Sea
Salt to the Sea [electronic resource] Sepetys, Ruta.
Salt to the sea / Ruta Sepetys
Salt to the sea : a novel / Ruta Sepetys
title_shortSalt to the sea
title_suba novel
topic_facetAudiobooks
Europe
General
Historical Fiction
JUVENILE FICTION
JUVENILE FICTION / Historical / General
Military & Wars
OverDrive
Refugees
Shipwreck survival
Survival Stories
Survival after airplane accidents, shipwrecks, etc
Teenagers
World War, 1939-1945
Young Adult Fiction
Young Adult Literature