The unforgotten: a novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
2018.
Language:
English
Description
For fans of Louise Penny and Tana French, this haunting debut novel &;with a slight Broadchurch feel&; (Sunday Herald) explores the devastating repercussions of a long-ago crime as it delves into forbidden relationships, the emotional bond between mothers and daughters, and the dark consequences of harboring secrets.It is the summer of 1956, and fifteen-year-old Betty Broadbent has never left the Cornish fishing village of St. Steele or ventured far beyond the walls of the Hotel Eden, the slightly ramshackle boarding house run by her moody, unpredictable mother. But Betty&;s world is upended when a string of brutal murders brings London&;s press corps flooding into the village, many of whom find lodging at the Hotel Eden. She is instantly transfixed by one of the reporters, the mysterious and strangely aloof Mr. Gallagher&;and he, fully twice her age, seems equally transfixed by her. The unlikely relationship that blooms between Betty and Mr. Gallagher is as overlaid with longing and desire as it is with impropriety and even menace. And as the shocking death toll rises, both Betty and Mr. Gallagher are forced to make a devastating choice, one that will shape their own lives&;and the life of an innocent man&;forever. With narratives that shift from 1956 to the present day and back, The Unforgotten is a mesmerizing and eerie portrayal of two people bound to each other by a secret that has the power to shape, and destroy, lives.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9781501181221
9781508253228
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Tagging
Tags:

No Tags, Be the first to tag this record!


Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work IDb54692bb-7cd1-f736-c890-81df54dfa8a3
Grouping Titleunforgotten
Grouping Authorlaura powell
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2020-09-28 04:51:07AM
Last Indexed2020-09-28 05:08:14AM
Novelist Primary ISBNnone

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
auth_author2Sobey, Katy,
authorPowell, Laura (Writer and editor),
author2-roleSobey, Katy,narrator.
hoopla digital.
author_displayPowell, Laura
available_at_addisonAddison Public Library
collection_addisonAdults
detailed_location_addison2nd Floor- Adult Books
Online Hoopla Collection
display_description"For fans of Louise Penny and Tana French, this haunting debut novel "with a slight Broadchurch feel" (Sunday Herald) explores the devastating repercussions of a long-ago crime as it delves into forbidden relationships, the emotional bond between mothers and daughters, and the dark consequences of harboring secrets. It is the summer of 1956, and fifteen-year-old Betty Broadbent has never left the Cornish fishing village of St. Steele or ventured far beyond the walls of the Hotel Eden, the slightly ramshackle boarding house run by her moody, unpredictable mother. But Betty's world is upended when a string of brutal murders brings London's press corps flooding into the village, many of whom find lodging at the Hotel Eden. She is instantly transfixed by one of the reporters, the mysterious and strangely aloof Mr. Gallagher--and he, fully twice her age, seems equally transfixed by her. The unlikely relationship that blooms between Betty and Mr. Gallagher is as overlaid with longing and desire as it is with impropriety and even menace. And as the shocking death toll rises, both Betty and Mr. Gallagher are forced to make a devastating choice, one that will shape their own lives--and the life of an innocent man--forever. With narratives that shift from 1956 to the present day and back, The Unforgotten is a mesmerizing and eerie portrayal of two people bound to each other by a secret that has the power to shape, and destroy, lives"--
format_addisonBook
eAudiobook
format_category_addisonAudio Books
Books
eBook
idb54692bb-7cd1-f736-c890-81df54dfa8a3
isbn9781501181221
9781508253228
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
ils:.b2090812x.i140777592nd Floor- Adult BooksCRIME POWELL L.1falsefalseCheck Shelfafic
hoopla:MWT12408793Online Hoopla CollectionOnline HooplaeAudiobookAudio Books1falsetruehooplahttps://www.hoopladigital.com/title/12408793?utm_source=MARCAvailable Online
itype_addisonFiction
last_indexed2020-09-28T10:08:14.155Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
Novels
local_callnumber_addisonCRIME POWELL L.
owning_library_addisonAddison Public Library
owning_location_addisonAddison Public Library
primary_isbn9781501181221
publishDate2018
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
ils:.b2090812xBookBooksFirst Gallery books hardcover edition.EnglishGallery Books, 2018.291 pages ; 24 cm.
hoopla:MWT12408793eAudiobookAudio BooksUnabridged.EnglishSimon & Schuster Audio, 2018.1 online resource (1 audio file (9hr., 21 min.)) : digital.
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_addison
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:.b2090812x.i14077759On ShelfCheck Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 12, 20, 21
hoopla:MWT12408793Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsefalse
subject_facetLife change events -- Fiction
Man-woman relationships -- Fiction
Murder -- Investigation -- Fiction
Psychological fiction
Suspense fiction
Thrillers (Fiction)
Young women -- Crimes against -- Fiction
title_displayThe unforgotten : a novel
title_fullThe unforgotten : a novel / Laura Powell
The unforgotten [electronic resource] / Laura Powell
title_shortThe unforgotten
title_suba novel
topic_facetCrimes against
Investigation
Life change events
Man-woman relationships
Murder
Young women