The Association of Small Bombs: A Novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
2016
Language:
English
Lexile measure:
990L
Description

The Association of Small Bombs is an expansive and deeply humane novel that is at once groundbreaking in empathy, dazzling in acuity, and ambitious in scope.

When brothers Tushar and Nakul Khurana, two Delhi schoolboys, pick up their family’s television at a repair shop with their friend Mansoor Ahmed one day in 1996, disaster strikes without warning. A bomb—one of the many “small” bombs that go off seemingly unheralded across the world—detonates in the Delhi marketplace, instantly claiming the lives of the Khurana boys, to the devastation of their parents. Mansoor survives, bearing the physical and psychological effects of the bomb. After a brief stint at a university in America, Mansoor returns to Delhi where his life becomes entangled with the mysterious and charismatic Ayub, a fearless young activist whose own allegiances and beliefs are more malleable than Mansoor could imagine. Woven into the story of the Khuranas and the Ahmeds is the gripping tale of Shockie, a Kashmiri bomb­maker who has forsaken his own life for the independence of his homeland.

Karan Mahajan writes brilliantly about the effects of terrorism on victims and perpetrators, proving himself to be one of the most provocative and dynamic novelists of his generation.

Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9781504685184
9780698407060
Lexile measure:
990L
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Tagging
Tags:

No Tags, Be the first to tag this record!


Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work IDb644199c-746e-bfd8-ba17-a4f99f88d592
Grouping Titleassociation of small bombs
Grouping Authorkaran mahajan
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2020-11-24 04:51:39AM
Last Indexed2020-11-24 05:06:10AM
Novelist Primary ISBNnone

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
authorKaran Mahajan
author2-role3M Company.
Baker & Taylor Axis 360.
author_displayMahajan, Karan
detailed_location_addisonAxis 360
Online OverDrive Collection
display_description• A New York Times Editors’ Choice • “Wonderful. . . . Smart, devastating, unpredictable, and enviably adept in its handling of tragedy and its fallout. If you enjoy novels that happily disrupt traditional narratives—about grief, death, violence, politics—I suggest you go out and buy this one. Post haste.” —Fiona Maazel, The New York Times Book Review “Brilliant. . . . Mr. Mahajan’s writing is acrid and bracing, tightly packed with dissonant imagery. . . . The Association of Small Bombs is not the first novel about the aftermath of a terrorist attack, but it is the finest I’ve read at capturing the seduction and force of the murderous, annihilating illogic that increasingly consumes the globe.” —Sam Sacks, The Wall Street Journal “[Mahajan's] eagerness to go at the bomb from every angle suggests a voracious approach to fiction-making, a daring imaginative promiscuity that moves beyond the scope of his first, very good novel, Family Planning.” —The New Yorker “[A] beautifully written novel. . . . Ambitious. . . . Carries us deep into the human side of a tragedy.” —The Washington Post “Karan Mahajan’s The Association of Small Bombs urgently depicts the toll of terrorism on victims and perpetrators.” —Vanity Fair For readers of Mohsin Hamid, Dave Eggers, Arundhati Roy, and Teju Cole, The Association of Small Bombs is an expansive and deeply humane novel that is at once groundbreaking in its empathy, dazzling in its acuity, and ambitious in scope When brothers Tushar and Nakul Khurana, two Delhi schoolboys, pick up their family’s television set at a repair shop with their friend Mansoor Ahmed one day in 1996, disaster strikes without warning. A bomb—one of the many “small” bombs that go off seemingly unheralded across the world—detonates in the Delhi marketplace, instantly claiming the lives of the Khurana boys, to the devastation of their parents. Mansoor survives, bearing the physical and psychological effects of the bomb. After a brief stint at university in America, Mansoor returns to Delhi, where his life becomes entangled with the mysterious and charismatic Ayub, a fearless young activist whose own allegiances and beliefs are more malleable than Mansoor could imagine. Woven among the story of the Khuranas and the Ahmeds is the gripping tale of Shockie, a Kashmiri bomb maker who has forsaken his own life for the independence of his homeland.   Karan Mahajan writes brilliantly about the effects of terrorism on victims and perpetrators, proving himself to be one of the most provocative and dynamic novelists of his generation. From the Hardcover edition.
format_addisoneAudiobook
eBook
format_category_addisonAudio Books
eBook
eBooks
idb644199c-746e-bfd8-ba17-a4f99f88d592
isbn9780698407060
9781504685184
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
external_econtent:ils:.b17675510Online1falsetrueCloud Libraryhttp://ebook.3m.com/library/AddisonPublicLibrary-document_id-h3gdx89Available Onlinead
overdrive:a478c0f5-0fc1-435d-80f9-80f632e27ff7-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books2falsetrueOverDriveOverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive ListenAvailable Online
axis360:bk0018179846bk0018179846Axis 360Online Axis 360eAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueAxis 360http://ereadil.axis360.baker-taylor.com/Title?itemid=0018179846Available OnlineAxis 360
itype_addisoneCollection
last_indexed2020-11-24T11:06:10.569Z
lexile_score990
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
local_callnumber_addisonOnline
owning_library_addisonAddison Public Library Online
primary_isbn9781504685184
publishDate2016
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
external_econtent:ils:.b17675510eBookeBooksEnglishPenguin Publishing Group, 2016.256 p.
ils:.b17675510eBookeBooksEnglishPenguin Publishing Group, 2016.256 p.
overdrive:a478c0f5-0fc1-435d-80f9-80f632e27ff7eAudiobookAudio BooksEnglishBlackstone Publishing2016
axis360:bk0018179846eAudiobookAudio BooksUnabridged.EnglishBlackstone Audio Inc., 2016.1 online resource
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_addison
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
external_econtent:ils:.b17675510Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsetrue
overdrive:a478c0f5-0fc1-435d-80f9-80f632e27ff7-1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
axis360:bk0018179846bk0018179846Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsefalse
subject_facetAudiobooks
Coming of Age -- FICTION
Downloadable audio books
Downloadable audiobooks
Electronic books
FICTION -- Literary
FICTION / Coming of Age
FICTION / Family Life
FICTION / Literary
Family Life -- FICTION
Literary -- FICTION
e-Audiobooks
title_displayThe Association of Small Bombs : A Novel
title_fullThe Association of Small Bombs
The Association of Small Bombs A Novel [electronic resource] Mahajan, Karan.
The association of small bombs / Karan Mahajan
title_shortThe Association of Small Bombs
title_subA Novel
topic_facetComing of Age
Downloadable audiobooks
FICTION
FICTION / Coming of Age
FICTION / Family Life
FICTION / Literary
Family Life
Fiction
Literary
Literature
e-Audiobooks