The other typist: A Novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description

"Take a dollop of Alfred Hitchcock, a dollop of Patricia Highsmith, throw in some Great Gatsby flourishes, and the result is Rindell’s debut, a pitch-black comedy about a police stenographer accused of murder in 1920s Manhattan.... A deliciously addictive, cinematically influenced page-turner, both comic and provocative." ?Kirkus Reviews, starred review For fans of The Talented Mr. Ripley and The Great Gatsby comes one of the most memorable unreliable narrators in years. Rose Baker seals men’s fates. With a few strokes of the keys that sit before her, she can send a person away for life in prison. A typist in a New York City Police Department precinct, Rose is like a high priestess. Confessions are her job. It is 1923, and while she may hear every detail about shootings, knifings, and murders, as soon as she leaves the interrogation room she is once again the weaker sex, best suited for filing and making coffee.

This is a new era for women, and New York is a confusing place for Rose. Gone are the Victorian standards of what is acceptable. All around her women bob their hair, they smoke, they go to speakeasies. Yet prudish Rose is stuck in the fading light of yesteryear, searching for the nurturing companionship that eluded her childhood. When glamorous Odalie, a new girl, joins the typing pool, despite her best intentions Rose falls under Odalie’s spell. As the two women navigate between the sparkling underworld of speakeasies by night and their work at the station by day, Rose is drawn fully into Odalie’s high-stakes world. And soon her fascination with Odalie turns into an obsession from which she may never recover.

Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780399161469
9781101621080
9781611739152
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Tagging
Tags:

No Tags, Be the first to tag this record!


Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work IDb9ba774e-5352-7b2f-0a09-61111638b8e0
Grouping Titleother typist
Grouping Authorsuzanne rindell
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2020-09-26 04:51:09AM
Last Indexed2020-09-26 05:04:20AM
Novelist Primary ISBNnone

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
authorSuzanne Rindell
author2-role3M Company.
Baker & Taylor Axis 360.
author_displayRindell, Suzanne
available_at_addisonAddison Public Library
collection_addisonAdults
detailed_location_addison2nd Floor- Adult Books
Axis 360
Online OverDrive Collection
display_descriptionWorking as a typist for the NYC Police Department in 1923, Rose Baker documents confessions of harrowing crimes and struggles with changing gender roles while clinging to her Victorian ideals and searching for nurturing companionship before becoming obsessed with a glamorous newcomer and her world of bobbed hair, smoking and speakeasies.
format_addisonBook
Large Print
eBook
format_category_addisonBooks
eBook
eBooks
idb9ba774e-5352-7b2f-0a09-61111638b8e0
isbn9780399161469
9781101621080
9781611739152
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
ils:.b1238544x.i130945312nd Floor- Adult BooksFIC RINDELL S.1falsefalseCheck ShelfSep 19, 2017afic
overdrive:1a92617e-0af1-40c3-b9ce-bb96aeb9e78e-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook1falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadChecked Out
external_econtent:ils:.b16207269Online1falsetrueCloud Libraryhttp://ebook.3m.com/library/AddisonPublicLibrary-document_id-a2ygv89Available Onlinead
ils:.b12405371.i129756062nd Floor- Adult BooksLT FIC RINDELL S.1falsefalseCheck ShelfAug 11, 2016afic
axis360:bk0012479614bk0012479614Axis 360Online Axis 360eBookeBook1falsetrueAxis 360http://ereadil.axis360.baker-taylor.com/Title?itemid=0012479614Available OnlineAxis 360
itype_addisonFiction
Large Type
eCollection
last_indexed2020-09-26T10:04:20.27Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
local_callnumber_addisonFIC RINDELL S.
LT FIC RINDELL S.
Online
owning_library_addisonAddison Public Library
Addison Public Library Online
owning_location_addisonAddison Public Library
primary_isbn9780399161469
publishDate2013
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
ils:.b1238544xBookBooksEnglishG.P. Putnam's Sons, a member of the Penguin Group (USA) Inc., [2013]356 pages ; 24 cm.
overdrive:1a92617e-0af1-40c3-b9ce-bb96aeb9e78eeBookeBookEnglishPenguin Publishing Group2013
ils:.b16207269eBookeBooksEnglishPenguin Publishing Group, 2013.368 p.
external_econtent:ils:.b16207269eBookeBooksEnglishPenguin Publishing Group, 2013.368 p.
ils:.b12405371Large PrintBooksCenter Point Large Print edition.EnglishCenter Point Large Print, 2013.447 pages (large print) ; 22 cm.
axis360:bk0012479614eBookeBookEnglishPutnam Pub Group, 2013.1 online resource
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_addison
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:.b1238544x.i13094531On ShelfCheck Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 12, 20, 21
overdrive:1a92617e-0af1-40c3-b9ce-bb96aeb9e78e-1Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsefalse
external_econtent:ils:.b16207269Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsetrue
ils:.b12405371.i12975606On ShelfCheck Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 12, 20, 21
axis360:bk0012479614bk0012479614Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsefalse
subject_facet
Electronic books
FICTION / Historical
FICTION / Literary
Fiction
Historical fiction
History
Large type books
Lion's Club donation, 2013-2014
Literary
Literary -- FICTION
New York (N.Y.) -- History -- 1898-1951 -- Fiction
New York (State) -- New York
Nineteen twenties
Nineteen twenties -- Fiction
Police stations
Police stations -- New York (State) -- New York -- Fiction
Suspense fiction
Typists
Typists -- Fiction
Women
Women -- New York (State) -- New York -- Fiction
title_displayThe other typist
title_fullThe Other Typist A Novel
The Other Typist A Novel [electronic resource] Rindell, Suzanne.
The other typist / Suzanne Rindell
title_shortThe other typist
title_subA Novel
topic_facetFICTION / Historical
FICTION / Literary
Fiction
Historical Fiction
History
Large type books
Literary
Literature
Nineteen twenties
Police stations
Thriller
Typists
Women