No laughing matter

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
Broken glass, everywhere, in chunks, shards and splinters, mostly colorless but here and there a glint of green. And blood. Blood glistening on pieces of glass...The scene facing Inspector Luke Thanet is horrifying, the echoes of violence in shocking contrast to the stark white clinical atmosphere of the Sturrenden Vineyard laboratory.The victim is Zak Randish, expert winemaker and owner of the vineyard, who lies slumped against the wall. He seemed to have had everything: a successful career, a family, a beautiful home. Yet nothing protected him from murder. What could have provoked the frenzy of destruction in the lab? Who could have been so angry with Randish that he - or she - lost control so completely?Thanet and his sergeant, Mike Lineham, already have their suspicions about the kind of man Randish was, and their investigation confirms that there was a ruthless, violent streak beneath his charm.No wonder then that his family and friends have differing reactions to his death: his wife loyal, his father-in-law vindictive, his colleagues strangely reluctant to reveal their true feelings. Not everything in his life was as idyllic as it appeared to be.As Thanet and Lineham persist, they uncover more than one suspect, more than one secret. But the secret that ultimately caused Randish's death was more terrible than they could ever have imagined.With a subtlety and depth of characterization that are rare in crime fiction, No Laughing Matter is the best yet from an internationally acclaimed author.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
Contributors:
ISBN:
9780684196268
9781504045612
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Tagging
Tags:

No Tags, Be the first to tag this record!


Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work IDbad2d087-c62f-9c4a-b452-5f6fa324b07e
Grouping Titleno laughing matter
Grouping Authorsimpson dorothy
Grouping Categorybook
Last Grouping Update2019-11-29 04:48:31AM
Last Indexed2019-12-13 04:48:25AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
authorSimpson, Dorothy, 1933-
author2-rolehoopla digital.
author_displaySimpson, Dorothy
available_at_addisonAddison Public Library
collection_addisonAdults
detailed_location_addison2nd Floor- Adult Books
Online Hoopla Collection
display_descriptionA country vineyard is tainted by murder in this "absorbing" English police procedural starring Detective Inspector Thanet (Publishers Weekly). Sturrenden Vineyard is a few miles west of town, a lovely piece of land where tourists come to sip wine, tour the grounds, and enjoy the exquisite Kentish scenery. But Det. Inspector Luke Thanet is too busy for such frivolous activities, so his first visit comes with the introduction of a an attraction far more in keeping with his usual interests: murder. Vineyard owner Zak Randish has been found dead in his personal laboratory, where he'd been working late into the night to perfect the next vintage. His equipment is smashed and his blood stains every surface, mingling with the wine. Although outwardly happy, successful, and at peace, Randish had terrible secrets, and Thanet must uncover them soon, lest the vineyard's tidy rows of grapes run red with blood as red as Sturrenden wine. Perfect for fans of P. D. James or Midsomer Murders, No Laughing Matter is another sterling entry in Dorothy Simpson's long-running, award-winning mystery series. No Laughing Matter is the 12th book in the Inspector Thanet Mysteries, but you may enjoy reading the series in any order.
format_addisonBook
eBook
format_category_addisonBooks
eBook
idbad2d087-c62f-9c4a-b452-5f6fa324b07e
isbn9780684196268
9781504045612
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
ils:.b10246289.i102717882nd Floor- Adult BooksCRIME SIMPSON D.1falsefalseCheck ShelfApr 28, 2017afic
hoopla:MWT11902961Online Hoopla CollectionOnline HooplaeBookeBook1falsetrueHooplahttps://www.hoopladigital.com/title/11902961Available Online
itype_addisonFiction
last_indexed2019-12-13T10:48:25.055Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
local_callnumber_addisonCRIME SIMPSON D.
owning_library_addisonAddison Public Library
owning_location_addisonAddison Public Library
primary_isbn9780684196268
publishDate1993
2017
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
ils:.b10246289BookBooks1st U.S. ed.EnglishCharles Scribner's Sons, c1993.262 p. ; 24 cm.
hoopla:MWT11902961eBookeBookEnglishOpen Road Media, 2017.1 online resource
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_addison
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:.b10246289.i10271788On ShelfCheck Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 12, 20, 21
hoopla:MWT11902961Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsefalse
seriesInspector Luke Thanet mysteries
series_with_volumeInspector Luke Thanet mysteries|12
subject_facetDetective and mystery stories
Electronic books
Mystery fiction
Police -- England -- Fiction
Thanet, Luke (Fictitious character)
Thanet, Luke (Fictitious character) -- Fiction
title_displayNo laughing matter
title_fullNo laughing matter / Dorothy Simpson
No laughing matter [electronic resource] / Dorothy Simpson
title_shortNo laughing matter
topic_facetDetective and mystery stories
Electronic books
Fiction
Police
Thanet, Luke (Fictitious character)