Good as Gone: A Novel of Suspense

Book Cover
Average Rating
Author:
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
2016.
Language:
English
Description
Propulsive and suspenseful, Good as Gone will appeal to fans of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train, and keep readers guessing until the final pages.

Thirteen-year-old Julie Whitaker was kidnapped from her bedroom in the middle of the night, witnessed only by her younger sister. Her family was shattered, but managed to stick together, hoping against hope that Julie is still alive. And then one night: the doorbell rings. A young woman who appears to be Julie is finally, miraculously, home safe. The family is ecstatic'but Anna, Julie's mother, has whispers of doubts.  She hates to face them. She cannot avoid them. When she is contacted by a former detective turned private eye, she begins a torturous search for the truth about the woman she desperately hopes is her daughter.
 
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
Contributors:
ISBN:
9780544916074
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Tagging
Tags:

No Tags, Be the first to tag this record!


Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work IDd042156f-78e6-8a51-3109-0992656a94bb
Grouping Titlegood as gone
Grouping Authoramy gentry
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2021-10-18 04:40:45AM
Last Indexed2021-10-17 05:15:51AM
Novelist Primary ISBN9780544920958

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
authorAmy Gentry
author2-rolehoopla digital.
author_displayGentry, Amy
available_at_addisonOnline OverDrive Collection
detailed_location_addisonOnline Hoopla Collection
Online OverDrive Collection
display_description

A New York Times Book Review Editors' Choice
"So gripping you might start to question your own family's past." —Entertainment Weekly
"[One] of the most anticipated summer thrillers . . . Gentry's novel isn't primarily about the version of the self that comes from a name and a family of origin; instead, it draws our attention to the self that's forged from sheer survival, and from the clarifying call to vengeance." —New York Times Book Review


Anna's daughter Julie was kidnapped from her own bedroom when she was thirteen years old, while Anna slept just downstairs, unaware that her daughter was being ripped away from her. For eight years, she has lived with the guilt and the void in her family, hoping against hope that Julie is still alive. And then one night, the doorbell rings. A young woman who appears to be Julie is finally, miraculously, home safe. Anna and the rest of the family are thrilled, but soon Anna begins to see holes in Julie's story. When she is contacted by a former detective turned private eye, she is forced to wonder if this young woman is even her daughter at all. And if she isn't Julie, what is it that she wants?

"So much about this novel is fresh and insightful and decidedly not like every other thriller . . . Good as Gone ranks as an outstanding debut, well worth reading. This is no mere Gone Girl wannabe." —Dallas Morning News

format_addisoneBook
format_category_addisoneBook
idd042156f-78e6-8a51-3109-0992656a94bb
isbn9780544916074
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
overdrive:136a0032-6991-4cde-b788-7185fb4b87091Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook0falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
overdrive:136a0032-6991-4cde-b788-7185fb4b8709-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook5falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
hoopla:MWT12325357Online Hoopla CollectionOnline HooplaeBookeBook1falsetrueHooplahttps://www.hoopladigital.com/title/12325357Available Online
last_indexed2021-10-17T10:15:51.044Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
local_callnumber_addisonOnline OverDrive
owning_library_addisonAddison Public Library Online
owning_location_addisonOnline OverDrive Collection
primary_isbn9780544916074
publishDate2016
publisherHMH Books
HMH Books,
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
overdrive:136a0032-6991-4cde-b788-7185fb4b8709eBookeBookEnglishHMH Books2016
hoopla:MWT12325357eBookeBookEnglishHMH Books, 2016.1 online resource
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_addison
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:136a0032-6991-4cde-b788-7185fb4b87091Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
overdrive:136a0032-6991-4cde-b788-7185fb4b8709-1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
hoopla:MWT12325357Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsefalse
subject_facetElectronic books
Houston (Tex.) -- Fiction
Identity (Psychology) -- Fiction
Kidnapping -- Fiction
Mothers and daughters -- Fiction
Mystery fiction
Suspense fiction
Teenage girls -- Fiction
title_displayGood as Gone A Novel of Suspense
title_fullGood as Gone A Novel of Suspense
Good as gone [electronic resource] / Amy Gentry
title_shortGood as Gone
title_subA Novel of Suspense
topic_facetElectronic books
Fiction
Identity (Psychology)
Kidnapping
Mothers and daughters
Suspense
Teenage girls
Thriller