The only girl in the world: a memoir

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
2017.
Language:
English
Description
An Amazon Best Book of the Month: For readers of Room and The Glass Castle, an astonishing memoir of one woman rising above an unimaginable childhood. Maude Julien's parents were fanatics who believed it was their sacred duty to turn her into the ultimate survivor -- raising her in isolation, tyrannizing her childhood and subjecting her to endless drills designed to "eliminate weakness." Maude learned to hold an electric fence for minutes without flinching, and to sit perfectly still in a rat-infested cellar all night long (her mother sewed bells onto her clothes that would give her away if she moved). She endured a life without heat, hot water, adequate food, friendship, or any kind of affectionate treatment. But Maude's parents could not rule her inner life. Befriending the animals on the lonely estate as well as the characters in the novels she read in secret, young Maude nurtured in herself the compassion and love that her parents forbid as weak. And when, after more than a decade, an outsider managed to penetrate her family's paranoid world, Maude seized her opportunity. By turns horrifying and magical, The Only Girl in the World is a story that will grip you from the first page and leave you spellbound, a chilling exploration of psychological control that ends with a glorious escape.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780316466622
9780316505260
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Tagging
Tags:

No Tags, Be the first to tag this record!


Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work IDd0ee5a25-8973-068b-5aae-f04cb82487c0
Grouping Titleonly girl in the world
Grouping Authormaude julien
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2020-09-20 05:01:48AM
Last Indexed2020-09-20 05:16:46AM
Novelist Primary ISBNnone

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
auth_author2Gauthier, Ursula,
Hunter, Adriana,
authorJulien, Maude, 1957-
author2-roleGauthier, Ursula,author.
Hunter, Adriana,translator.
author_displayJulien, Maude
available_at_addisonAddison Public Library
collection_addisonAdults
detailed_location_addison2nd Floor- Adult Books
Online OverDrive Collection
display_description"Maude Julien's parents were fanatics who believed it was their sacred duty to turn her into the ultimate survivor--raising her in isolation and subjecting her to endless drills designed to "eliminate weakness." Maude learned to hold an electric fence for minutes without flinching, and to sit perfectly still in a rat-infested cellar all night long (her mother sewed bells onto her clothes that would give her away if she moved). She endured a life without heat, hot water, adequate food, friendship, or any kind of affectionate treatment. But Maude's parents could not rule her inner life. Befriending the animals on her parents' lonely estate as well as the characters in the novels she read in secret, young Maude nurtured in herself the compassion and love that her parents forbade as weak. And when, after more than a decade, an outsider managed to penetrate her family's paranoid world, Maude seized her opportunity to break free. By turns horrifying and magical, [this book] is a story that will grip you from the first page and leave you spellbound by its chilling exploration of psychological control that ends with a glorious escape."--Jacket.
format_addisonBook
eBook
format_category_addisonBooks
eBook
idd0ee5a25-8973-068b-5aae-f04cb82487c0
isbn9780316466622
9780316505260
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
ils:.b20007462.i140162422nd Floor- Adult BooksBIO 362.76 JULIEN M.1falsefalseCheck ShelfDec 19, 2018anf
overdrive:30224ec7-18ac-4e58-96d7-9d34fd8336f8-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook4falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
itype_addisonNonfiction
last_indexed2020-09-20T10:16:46.895Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formNon Fiction
literary_form_fullNon Fiction
local_callnumber_addisonBIO 362.76 JULIEN M.
owning_library_addisonAddison Public Library
owning_location_addisonAddison Public Library
primary_isbn9780316466622
publishDate2017
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
ils:.b20007462BookBooksFirst North American edition.EnglishLittle, Brown and Company, 2017.273 pages : illustration ; 22 cm.
overdrive:30224ec7-18ac-4e58-96d7-9d34fd8336f8eBookeBookEnglishLittle, Brown and Company2017
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_addison
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:.b20007462.i14016242On ShelfCheck Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 12, 20, 21
overdrive:30224ec7-18ac-4e58-96d7-9d34fd8336f8-1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
subject_facetAbused children -- France -- Biography
Adult child abuse victims' writings
Autobiographies
Julien, Maude, -- 1957-
Psychological torture
Psychologically abused children -- France -- Biography
title_displayThe only girl in the world : a memoir
title_fullThe Only Girl in the World A Memoir
The only girl in the world : a memoir / Maude Julien with Ursula Gauthier ; translated by Adriana Hunter
title_shortThe only girl in the world
title_suba memoir
topic_facetAbused children
Adult child abuse victims' writings
Biography & Autobiography
Julien, Maude
Nonfiction
Psychological torture
Psychologically abused children
Psychology