Golden Lies

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
USA TODAY best-selling author and winner of the RITA Award, Barbara Freethy presents a captivating novel of romance and intrigue. Golden Lies is packed with dark family secrets and passionate love affairs. An unlikely trio uncovers strange alliances while tracking the whereabouts of a stolen antique. As romantic love blooms and loyalties are tested, each struggles to acknowledge his or her own place in society.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
Contributors:
ISBN:
9781449890148
9780983599326
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Tagging
Tags:

No Tags, Be the first to tag this record!


Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work IDdb5bc918-5b92-e125-ae74-9097f96be577
Grouping Titlegolden lies
Grouping Authorbarbara freethy
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2021-06-12 04:51:40AM
Last Indexed2021-06-12 05:08:37AM
Novelist Primary ISBNnone

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
auth_author2Gibson, Julia.
authorBarbara Freethy
author2-roleGibson, Julia.|Narrator
hoopla digital.
author_displayFreethy, Barbara
available_at_addisonOnline OverDrive Collection
detailed_location_addisonOnline Hoopla Collection
Online OverDrive Collection
display_description

Readers who like books by Nora Roberts, Carla Neggars, Karen Robards and Kristin Hannah will enjoy this romantic and suspenseful story by #1 New York Times Bestseller Barbara Freethy.

(This is a full length novel of approx. 100,000 words)

Every family has secrets - some too intriguing to resist ... some too dangerous to ignore ...

From award-winning author Barbara Freethy comes a novel about three remarkable families - the fifty-year-old promise that once bound them together, the fiery betrayal that tore them apart, and the ancient bronze dragon that could destroy their future ...

Riley McAllister, Paige Hathaway, and Alyssa Chen come from very different worlds. Tough guy Riley has overcome the hard knocks of a working-class upbringing. Paige struggles to define her place as the heir to a famous antiques emporium. And Alyssa feels trapped by the restrictions of her family's old world attitudes. Now this unlikely trio of strangers must come together to follow an elusive trail through the streets of San Francisco — from glittering Pacific Heights to colorful Chinatown to trendy south of Market. Each will have to make the impossible choice between romantic love and family loyalty, between sheltering lies and revealing truth. Once the door to the past is opened, there's no turning back ...

Riley McAllister, Paige Hathaway, and Alyssa Chen come from very different worlds. Tough guy Riley has overcome the hard knocks of a working-class upbringing. Paige struggles to define her place as the heir to a famous antiques emporium. And Alyssa feels trapped by the restrictions of her family's old world attitudes. Now this unlikely trio of strangers must come together to follow an elusive trail through the streets of San Francisco — from glittering Pacific Heights to colorful Chinatown to trendy south of Market. Each will have to make the impossible choice between romantic love and family loyalty, between sheltering lies and revealing truth. Once the door to the past is opened, there's no turning back ...

Reviews...

"Golden Lies is an absolute treasure, a fabulous, page-turning combination of romance and intrigue. Fans of Nora Roberts and Elizabeth Lowell will love Golden Lies." Kristin Hannah

"Freethy's smooth prose, spirited storytelling and engaging characters, are sure to send readers on a treasure hunt for the author's backlist books." Publishers Weekly

"A priceless Chinese artifact, an ancient curse, and a decades-old betrayal set the stage for this gripping story, which unites the grandchildren from three diverse, yet strangely linked, families and sweeps them from the rarified world of high-priced antiques to the fragrant alleys of San Francisco's Chinatown on an urgent quest to unravel the past's secrets. But exposing the past could mean destroying the future, and there are those who will resort to violence to keep those secrets hidden. Multidimensional characters at all levels (especially the strong-willed hero and heroine), realistic and sometimes funny dialog, and a well-constructed plot that Freethy unwraps with such consummate skill that the conclusion is at once surprising and totally logical result in a rich and compelling tale. Wonderful multicultural elements and a setting depicted to perfection are plusses." Library Journal

"The lives of three families collide and intersect in this wonderfully intriguing new drama by bestselling author Freethy. Love, loyalties, and choices all play integral roles in this excellent book." Romantic Times Magazine

format_addisoneAudiobook
eBook
format_category_addisonAudio Books
eBook
iddb5bc918-5b92-e125-ae74-9097f96be577
isbn9780983599326
9781449890148
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
overdrive:d677da63-36f0-40fa-b9f5-6b6e24104530-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook2falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
overdrive:d677da63-36f0-40fa-b9f5-6b6e241045301Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook0falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
hoopla:MWT13507166Online Hoopla CollectionOnline HooplaeAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueHooplahttps://www.hoopladigital.com/title/13507166?utm_source=MARCAvailable Online
last_indexed2021-06-12T10:08:37.674Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
local_callnumber_addisonOnline OverDrive
owning_library_addisonAddison Public Library Online
owning_location_addisonOnline OverDrive Collection
primary_isbn9781449890148
publishDate2004
2011
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
overdrive:d677da63-36f0-40fa-b9f5-6b6e24104530eBookeBookEnglishBarbara Freethy2011
hoopla:MWT13507166eAudiobookAudio BooksUnabridged.EnglishRecorded Books, Inc., 2004.1 online resource (1 audio file (13hr., 14 min.)) : digital.
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_addison
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:d677da63-36f0-40fa-b9f5-6b6e24104530-1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
overdrive:d677da63-36f0-40fa-b9f5-6b6e241045301Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
hoopla:MWT13507166Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsefalse
seriesRomantic sounds audio
series_with_volumeRomantic sounds audio|
subject_facetSan Francisco (Calif.) -- Fiction
title_displayGolden Lies
title_fullGolden Lies
Golden lies [electronic resource] / Barbara Freethy
title_shortGolden Lies
topic_facetFiction
Romance