Wife 22: A Novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Random House Publishing Group
Pub. Date:
2012
Language:
English
Description
For fans of Helen Fielding’s Bridget Jones’s Diary and Allison Pearson’s I Don’t Know How She Does It comes an irresistible novel of a woman losing herself . . . and finding herself again . . . in the middle of her life.

Maybe it was those extra five pounds I’d gained. Maybe it was because I was about to turn the same age my mother was when I lost her. Maybe it was because after almost twenty years of marriage my husband and I seemed to be running out of things to say to each other.

But when the anonymous online study called “Marriage in the 21st Century” showed up in my inbox, I had no idea how profoundly it would change my life. It wasn’t long before I was assigned both a pseudonym (Wife 22) and a caseworker (Researcher 101).

And, just like that, I found myself answering questions.

7. Sometimes I tell him he’s snoring when he’s not snoring so he’ll sleep in the guest room and I can have the bed all to myself.
61. Chet Baker on the tape player. He was cutting peppers for the salad. I looked at those hands and thought, I am going to have this man’s children.
67. To not want what you don’t have. What you can’t have. What you shouldn’t have.
32. That if we weren’t careful, it was possible to forget one another.

Before the study, my life was an endless blur of school lunches and doctor’s appointments, family dinners, budgets, and trying to discern the fastest-moving line at the grocery store. I was Alice Buckle: spouse of William and mother to Zoe and Peter, drama teacher and Facebook chatter, downloader of memories and Googler of solutions.

But these days, I’m also Wife 22. And somehow, my anonymous correspondence with Researcher 101 has taken an unexpectedly personal turn. Soon, I’ll have to make a decision—one that will affect my family, my marriage, my whole life. But at the moment, I’m too busy answering questions.

As it turns out, confession can be a very powerful aphrodisiac.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780345527974
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Tagging
Tags:

No Tags, Be the first to tag this record!


Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work IDdbc931dd-25db-8d4f-feb3-ada9fc5b8dbf
Grouping Titlewife 22
Grouping Authormelanie gideon
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2021-09-18 04:50:05AM
Last Indexed2021-09-18 05:12:00AM
Novelist Primary ISBN9780345527950

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
authorMelanie Gideon
author_displayMelanie Gideon
available_at_addisonOnline OverDrive Collection
detailed_location_addisonOnline OverDrive Collection
display_description“A skillful blend of pop-culture references, acidic humor, and emotional moments. It will take its rightful place . . . alongside Helen Fielding’s Bridget Jones’s Diary, Anna Maxted’s Getting Over It, and Allison Pearson’s I Don’t Know How She Does It.”—Library Journal (starred review)
Alice has been married to her husband, William, for twenty years.  Though she can still remember the first time they met like it was yesterday, these days she finds herself posting things on Facebook that she used to confide to him. So when she’s invited to participate in an anonymous online survey on marriage and love, she finds that all her longings come pouring out as she dutifully answers questions under the name “Wife 22.”
Evaluating her responses is “Researcher 101,” who seems to listen to her in a way that William hasn’t in a very long time, and before she knows it, she finds herself trying hard not to e-flirt with him. Meanwhile, her elderly father is chatting on Facebook, her fifteen-year-old daughter is tweeting, and everything in her life is turning upside down.
Wife 22 is a hilariously funny, profoundly moving, and deeply perceptive novel about the ways we live and love in this technological age, from a dazzling new voice in fiction.
“An LOL Instagram about love in a wired world.”—People
 
“Vibrant, au courant, and hilarious . . . brilliant!”—Adriana Trigiani
BONUS: This edition includes a Wife 22 discussion guide.
format_addisoneBook
format_category_addisoneBook
iddbc931dd-25db-8d4f-feb3-ada9fc5b8dbf
isbn9780345527974
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
overdrive:79ac332e-360e-47c7-918b-cf022b2670851Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook0falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
overdrive:79ac332e-360e-47c7-918b-cf022b267085-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook4falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
last_indexed2021-09-18T10:12:00.336Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
local_callnumber_addisonOnline OverDrive
owning_library_addisonAddison Public Library Online
owning_location_addisonOnline OverDrive Collection
primary_isbn9780345527974
publishDate2012
publisherRandom House Publishing Group
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
overdrive:79ac332e-360e-47c7-918b-cf022b267085eBookeBookEnglishRandom House Publishing Group2012
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_addison
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:79ac332e-360e-47c7-918b-cf022b2670851Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
overdrive:79ac332e-360e-47c7-918b-cf022b267085-1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
title_displayWife 22 A Novel
title_fullWife 22 A Novel
title_shortWife 22
title_subA Novel
topic_facetFiction
Literature