After the First Death

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
Alex Penn wakes up in a squalid Times Square hotel room. This is what he sees when he finally opens his eyes: "The floor was a sea of blood. A body floated upon this ocean. A girl-black hair, staring blue eyes, bloodless lips. Naked. Dead. Her throat slashed deeply. "It had to be a dream. It had to, had to be a dream. It was not a dream. It was not a dream at all. "I've done it again, I thought. Sweet Jesus, I've done it again." Years before, Alex Penn woke up in similar circumstances, called the police, went to prison. A technicality freed him-and now there's been another drunken blackout, another dead streetwalker. But something nags at his memory, and he begins to suspect some other hand wielded the knife. And if he didn't murder this woman, maybe he didn't kill the other one, either. So he runs, adrift in an urban jungle, hoping to steer clear of the police long enough to solve the crime. AFTER THE FIRST DEATH is sure to appeal to fans of David Goodis and Cornell Woolrich. And, with its gritty New York setting and its undercurrent of alcoholism, it can be considered a precursor to Lawrence Block's iconic Matthew Scudder series. THE CLASSIC CRIME LIBRARY brings together Lawrence Block's early crime novels, reformatted and with new uniform cover art. This first volume in the series contains as a bonus the first chapter of DEADLY HONEYMOON
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9781982452032
9781519930644
9781453208946
9780792778394
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Tagging
Tags:

No Tags, Be the first to tag this record!


Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work IDdc1a610f-6227-a523-8e0d-010e42fc0c2a
Grouping Titleafter the first death
Grouping Authorlawrence block
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2021-10-26 04:40:38AM
Last Indexed2021-10-26 05:03:42AM
Novelist Primary ISBNnone

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
auth_author2Berkrot, Peter.
authorLawrence Block
author2-roleBerkrot, Peter.
hoopla digital.
author_displayBlock, Lawrence
available_at_addisonOnline OverDrive Collection
detailed_location_addisonOnline Hoopla Collection
Online OverDrive Collection
display_descriptionAlex Penn wakes up in a squalid Times Square hotel room. This is what he sees when he finally opens his eyes: "The floor was a sea of blood. A body floated upon this ocean. A girl-black hair, staring blue eyes, bloodless lips. Naked. Dead. Her throat slashed deeply. "It had to be a dream. It had to, had to be a dream. It was not a dream. It was not a dream at all. "I've done it again, I thought. Sweet Jesus, I've done it again." Years before, Alex Penn woke up in similar circumstances, called the police, went to prison. A technicality freed him-and now there's been another drunken blackout, another dead streetwalker. But something nags at his memory, and he begins to suspect some other hand wielded the knife. And if he didn't murder this woman, maybe he didn't kill the other one, either. So he runs, adrift in an urban jungle, hoping to steer clear of the police long enough to solve the crime. AFTER THE FIRST DEATH is sure to appeal to fans of David Goodis and Cornell Woolrich. And, with its gritty New York setting and its undercurrent of alcoholism, it can be considered a precursor to Lawrence Block's iconic Matthew Scudder series. THE CLASSIC CRIME LIBRARY brings together Lawrence Block's early crime novels, reformatted and with new uniform cover art. This first volume in the series contains as a bonus the first chapter of DEADLY HONEYMOON
format_addisoneAudiobook
eBook
format_category_addisonAudio Books
eBook
iddc1a610f-6227-a523-8e0d-010e42fc0c2a
isbn9780792778394
9781453208946
9781519930644
9781982452032
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
overdrive:7174e159-2c84-49ae-83eb-47099ec8b604-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueOverDriveOverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive ListenAvailable Online
overdrive:7174e159-2c84-49ae-83eb-47099ec8b6041Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books0falsetrueOverDriveOverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive ListenAvailable Online
overdrive:f9e65cd3-be23-4a99-86e9-faf9e2e04975-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook2falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
overdrive:f9e65cd3-be23-4a99-86e9-faf9e2e049751Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook0falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
hoopla:MWT11399011Online Hoopla CollectionOnline HooplaeAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueHooplahttps://www.hoopladigital.com/title/11399011?utm_source=MARCAvailable Online
hoopla:MWT13295664Online Hoopla CollectionOnline HooplaeBookeBook1falsetrueHooplahttps://www.hoopladigital.com/title/13295664?utm_source=MARCAvailable Online
last_indexed2021-10-26T10:03:42.483Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
local_callnumber_addisonOnline OverDrive
owning_library_addisonAddison Public Library Online
owning_location_addisonOnline OverDrive Collection
primary_isbn9781982452032
publishDate2010
2011
2012
2018
publisherBlackstone Publishing
Blackstone Publishing,
Lawrence Block,
Open Road Media
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
overdrive:7174e159-2c84-49ae-83eb-47099ec8b604eAudiobookAudio BooksEnglishBlackstone Publishing2011
overdrive:f9e65cd3-be23-4a99-86e9-faf9e2e04975eBookeBookEnglishOpen Road Media2010
hoopla:MWT11399011eAudiobookAudio BooksUnabridged.EnglishBlackstone Publishing, 2012.1 online resource (1 audio file (5hr., 09 min.)) : digital.
hoopla:MWT13295664eBookeBookEnglishLawrence Block, 2018.1 online resource
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_addison
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:7174e159-2c84-49ae-83eb-47099ec8b604-1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
overdrive:7174e159-2c84-49ae-83eb-47099ec8b6041Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
overdrive:f9e65cd3-be23-4a99-86e9-faf9e2e04975-1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
overdrive:f9e65cd3-be23-4a99-86e9-faf9e2e049751Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
hoopla:MWT11399011Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsefalse
hoopla:MWT13295664Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsefalse
subject_facetCrime
Electronic books
Murder -- Investigation -- Fiction
Mystery fiction
title_displayAfter the First Death
title_fullAfter the First Death
After the first death [electronic resource] / Lawrence Block
title_shortAfter the First Death
topic_facetCrime
Electronic books
Fiction
Investigation
Murder
Mystery