Atlantic: great sea battles, heroic discoveries, titanic storms, and a vast ocean of a million stories

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
2010.
Language:
English
Description

"Variably genial, cautionary, lyrical, admonitory, terrifying, horrifying and inspiring'A lifetime of thought, travel, reading, imagination and memory inform this affecting account." 'Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

Blending history and anecdote, geography and reminiscence, science and exposition, New York Times bestselling author Simon Winchester tells the breathtaking saga of the Atlantic Ocean. A gifted storyteller and consummate historian, Winchester sets the great blue sea's epic narrative against the backdrop of mankind's intellectual evolution, telling not only the story of an ocean, but the story of civilization. Fans of Winchester's Krakatoa, The Man Who Loved China, and The Professor and the Madman will love this masterful, penetrating, and resonant tale of humanity finding its way across the ocean of history.

Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780062007124
9780307876539
9780062020109
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Tagging
Tags:

No Tags, Be the first to tag this record!


Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work IDe4c1e684-7ceb-daf3-b5e3-41f910ff2218
Grouping Titleatlantic great sea battles heroic discoveries titanic storms and a vast ocean of a million
Grouping Authorsimon winchester
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2021-06-14 04:51:57AM
Last Indexed2021-06-14 05:09:32AM
Novelist Primary ISBN9780061702587

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
auth_author2Winchester, Simon.
authorSimon Winchester
author2-roleWinchester, Simon.
hoopla digital.
author_displayWinchester, Simon
available_at_addisonOnline OverDrive Collection
detailed_location_addisonOnline Hoopla Collection
Online OverDrive Collection
display_description

"Variably genial, cautionary, lyrical, admonitory, terrifying, horrifying and inspiring...A lifetime of thought, travel, reading, imagination and memory inform this affecting account." —Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

Blending history and anecdote, geography and reminiscence, science and exposition, New York Times bestselling author Simon Winchester tells the breathtaking saga of the Atlantic Ocean. A gifted storyteller and consummate historian, Winchester sets the great blue sea's epic narrative against the backdrop of mankind's intellectual evolution, telling not only the story of an ocean, but the story of civilization. Fans of Winchester's Krakatoa, The Man Who Loved China, and The Professor and the Madman will love this masterful, penetrating, and resonant tale of humanity finding its way across the ocean of history.

format_addisoneAudiobook
eBook
format_category_addisonAudio Books
eBook
ide4c1e684-7ceb-daf3-b5e3-41f910ff2218
isbn9780062007124
9780062020109
9780307876539
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
overdrive:0dca26c4-ff43-4359-a31e-eb6fd0b0bea6-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook2falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
overdrive:0dca26c4-ff43-4359-a31e-eb6fd0b0bea61Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook0falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
overdrive:12ecf49c-79c6-4dd5-8556-fef38e4cd66c-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueOverDriveOverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive ListenAvailable Online
overdrive:12ecf49c-79c6-4dd5-8556-fef38e4cd66c1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books0falsetrueOverDriveOverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive ListenAvailable Online
hoopla:MWT11586899Online Hoopla CollectionOnline HooplaeAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueHooplahttps://www.hoopladigital.com/title/11586899?utm_source=MARCAvailable Online
last_indexed2021-06-14T10:09:32.723Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formNon Fiction
literary_form_fullNon Fiction
local_callnumber_addisonOnline OverDrive
owning_library_addisonAddison Public Library Online
owning_location_addisonOnline OverDrive Collection
primary_isbn9780062007124
publishDate2010
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
overdrive:0dca26c4-ff43-4359-a31e-eb6fd0b0bea6eBookeBookEnglishHarperCollins e-books2010
overdrive:12ecf49c-79c6-4dd5-8556-fef38e4cd66ceAudiobookAudio BooksEnglishBooks on Tape2010
hoopla:MWT11586899eAudiobookAudio BooksUnabridged.EnglishHarperAudio, 2010.1 online resource (1 audio file (14hr., 31 min.)) : digital.
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_addison
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:0dca26c4-ff43-4359-a31e-eb6fd0b0bea6-1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
overdrive:0dca26c4-ff43-4359-a31e-eb6fd0b0bea61Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
overdrive:12ecf49c-79c6-4dd5-8556-fef38e4cd66c-1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
overdrive:12ecf49c-79c6-4dd5-8556-fef38e4cd66c1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
hoopla:MWT11586899Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsefalse
subject_facetAtlantic Ocean -- Description and travel
Atlantic Ocean -- Folklore
Atlantic Ocean -- Geography
Atlantic Ocean -- History
Ocean and civilization
Winchester, Simon -- Travel -- Atlantic Ocean
title_displayAtlantic Great Sea Battles, Heroic Discoveries, Titanic Storms, and a Vast Ocean of a Million Stories
title_fullAtlantic : great sea battles, heroic discoveries, titanic storms, and a vast ocean of a million stories [electronic resource] / Simon Winchester
Atlantic Great Sea Battles, Heroic Discoveries, Titanic Storms, and a Vast Ocean of a Million Stories
title_shortAtlantic
title_subgreat sea battles, heroic discoveries, titanic storms, and a vast ocean of a million stories
topic_facetDescription and travel
Geography
History
Nonfiction
Ocean and civilization
Travel
Winchester, Simon