Atlantic: Great Sea Battles, Heroic Discoveries, Titanic Storms, and a Vast Ocean of a Million Stories

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
2010
Language:
English
Description

"Variably genial, cautionary, lyrical, admonitory, terrifying, horrifying and inspiring…A lifetime of thought, travel, reading, imagination and memory inform this affecting account." —Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

Blending history and anecdote, geography and reminiscence, science and exposition, New York Times bestselling author Simon Winchester tells the breathtaking saga of the Atlantic Ocean. A gifted storyteller and consummate historian, Winchester sets the great blue sea's epic narrative against the backdrop of mankind's intellectual evolution, telling not only the story of an ocean, but the story of civilization. Fans of Winchester's Krakatoa, The Man Who Loved China, and The Professor and the Madman will love this masterful, penetrating, and resonant tale of humanity finding its way across the ocean of history.

Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780062020109
9780062007124
9780307876539
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Tagging
Tags:

No Tags, Be the first to tag this record!


Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work IDe4c1e684-7ceb-daf3-b5e3-41f910ff2218
Grouping Titleatlantic great sea battles heroic discoveries titanic storms and a vast ocean of a million
Grouping Authorsimon winchester
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2022-10-06 04:40:40AM
Last Indexed2022-10-06 05:05:28AM

Solr Fields

accelerated_reader_point_value
0
accelerated_reader_reading_level
0
auth_author2
Winchester, Simon
author
Winchester, Simon
author2-role
Winchester, Simon
hoopla digital
author_display
Winchester, Simon
available_at_addison
Online OverDrive Collection
detailed_location_addison
Online Hoopla Collection
Online OverDrive Collection
display_description

"Variably genial, cautionary, lyrical, admonitory, terrifying, horrifying and inspiring...A lifetime of thought, travel, reading, imagination and memory inform this affecting account." —Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

Blending history and anecdote, geography and reminiscence, science and exposition, New York Times bestselling author Simon Winchester tells the breathtaking saga of the Atlantic Ocean. A gifted storyteller and consummate historian, Winchester sets the great blue sea's epic narrative against the backdrop of mankind's intellectual evolution, telling not only the story of an ocean, but the story of civilization. Fans of Winchester's Krakatoa, The Man Who Loved China, and The Professor and the Madman will love this masterful, penetrating, and resonant tale of humanity finding its way across the ocean of history.

format_addison
eAudiobook
eBook
format_category_addison
Audio Books
eBook
id
e4c1e684-7ceb-daf3-b5e3-41f910ff2218
isbn
9780062007124
9780062020109
9780307876539
last_indexed
2022-10-06T10:05:28.318Z
lexile_score
-1
literary_form
Non Fiction
literary_form_full
Non Fiction
local_callnumber_addison
Online OverDrive
owning_library_addison
Addison Public Library Online
owning_location_addison
Online OverDrive Collection
primary_isbn
9780062020109
publishDate
2010
publisher
Books on Tape
HarperAudio
HarperCollins
HarperCollins Publishers
recordtype
grouped_work
subject_facet
Atlantic Ocean -- Description and travel
Atlantic Ocean -- Folklore
Atlantic Ocean -- Geography
Atlantic Ocean -- History
Electronic books
Ocean and civilization
Winchester, Simon -- Travel
Winchester, Simon -- Travel -- Atlantic Ocean
title_display
Atlantic Great Sea Battles, Heroic Discoveries, Titanic Storms, and a Vast Ocean of a Million Stories
title_full
Atlantic : great sea battles, heroic discoveries, titanic storms, and a vast ocean of a million stories [electronic resource] / Simon Winchester
Atlantic Great Sea Battles, Heroic Discoveries, Titanic Storms, and a Vast Ocean of a Million Stories
title_short
Atlantic
title_sub
Great Sea Battles, Heroic Discoveries, Titanic Storms, and a Vast Ocean of a Million Stories
topic_facet
Description and travel
Electronic books
Geography
History
Nonfiction
Ocean and civilization
Sociology
Travel
Winchester, Simon

Solr Details Tables

item_details

Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent URLDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocation
overdrive:0dca26c4-ff43-4359-a31e-eb6fd0b0bea61Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook0falsetrueOverDriveAvailable Online
overdrive:0dca26c4-ff43-4359-a31e-eb6fd0b0bea6-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook2falsetrueOverDriveAvailable Online
overdrive:12ecf49c-79c6-4dd5-8556-fef38e4cd66c1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books0falsetrueOverDriveChecked Out
overdrive:12ecf49c-79c6-4dd5-8556-fef38e4cd66c-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueOverDriveChecked Out
hoopla:MWT11586899Online Hoopla CollectionOnline HooplaeAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueHooplahttps://www.hoopladigital.com/title/11586899?utm_source=MARCAvailable Online
hoopla:MWT15395610Online Hoopla CollectionOnline HooplaeBookeBook1falsetrueHooplahttps://www.hoopladigital.com/title/12509246?utm_source=MARCAvailable Online

record_details

Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
overdrive:0dca26c4-ff43-4359-a31e-eb6fd0b0bea6eBookeBookEnglishHarperCollins2010
overdrive:12ecf49c-79c6-4dd5-8556-fef38e4cd66ceAudiobookAudio BooksEnglishBooks on Tape2010
hoopla:MWT11586899eAudiobookAudio BooksUnabridgedEnglishHarperAudio20101 online resource (1 audio file (14hr., 30 min.)) : digital.
hoopla:MWT15395610eBookeBookEnglishHarperCollins Publishers20101 online resource

scoping_details_addison

Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:0dca26c4-ff43-4359-a31e-eb6fd0b0bea61Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
overdrive:0dca26c4-ff43-4359-a31e-eb6fd0b0bea6-1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
overdrive:12ecf49c-79c6-4dd5-8556-fef38e4cd66c1Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsetrue
overdrive:12ecf49c-79c6-4dd5-8556-fef38e4cd66c-1Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsefalse
hoopla:MWT11586899Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsefalse
hoopla:MWT15395610Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsefalse