The Pirate's Coin

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
2013
Language:
English
Accelerated Reader:
IL: MG - BL: 5.1 - AR Pts: 6
Lexile measure:
740L
Description
Fans of magic, mystery, and adventure will love the third The Sixty-Eight Rooms Adventure—a perfect next step for kids who love the Magic Tree House series, and just right for readers who love Chasing Vermeer, The Mixed-Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler, and Wonderstruck. Sixth Graders Ruthie and Jack return to the Art Institute of Chicago's magical Thorne Rooms. During a school presentation, Ruthie and Jack discover that their classmate Kendra is descended from Phoebe Monroe, the young slave they befriended when they traveled to 19th-century South Carolina. Kendra tells them that long ago her family lost their good name and their business selling herbal remedies when mobsters accused them of stealing the recipes! Only Ruthie and Jack know the truth--because only they know about the secret ledger that Phoebe wrote the recipes in long ago! Ruthie and Jack's mission to clear Kendra's name takes them back to the Thorne Rooms, where a mysterious old coin leads them to 1753 Cape Cod and to Jack's own ancestor . . . the pirate Jack Norfleet! But playing with history can be dangerous! Suddenly, Jack's very existence is in jeopardy! Can Ruthie and Jack find the proof they need to help Kendra? And can they fix the past and save Jack's future . . . before it's too late?

Here's What People Are Saying about The Sixty-Eight Rooms Adventures!
The New York Times:
"Irresistible."

Chicago Sun-Times:
"Exhilarating."

Chicago Tribune:
"Marianne Malone has tapped into a fantasy that is . . . completely universal."


Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780307977199
9780804121637
Accelerated Reader:
MG
Level 5.1, 6 Points
Lexile measure:
740L
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Tagging
Tags:

No Tags, Be the first to tag this record!


Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work IDe8c21199-39f5-4e6f-24d1-bcd5e5b2c18c
Grouping Titlepirates coin
Grouping Authormarianne malone
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2021-07-28 04:51:48AM
Last Indexed2021-07-28 05:11:38AM
Novelist Primary ISBN9780307977175

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_levelMG
accelerated_reader_point_value6
accelerated_reader_reading_level5.1
authorMarianne Malone
author_displayMarianne Malone
available_at_addisonOnline OverDrive Collection
detailed_location_addisonOnline OverDrive Collection
display_description

Sixth graders Jack and Ruthie return in their third adventure in the Art Institute of Chicago's magical Thorne Rooms! During a school presentation, Ruthie and Jack discover that their classmate Kendra is descended from Phoebe Monroe, the young slave they befriended when they traveled to 19th-century South Carolina. Kendra tells them that long ago her family lost their good name and their business selling herbal remedies when mobsters accused them of stealing the recipes! Only Ruthie and Jack know the truth--because only they know about the secret ledger that Phoebe wrote the recipes in long ago! Ruthie and Jack's mission to clear Kendra's name takes them back to the Thorne Rooms, where a mysterious old coin leads them to 1753 Cape Cod and to Jack's own ancestor . . . the pirate Jack Norfleet! But playing with history can be dangerous! Suddenly, Jack's very existence is in jeopardy! Can Ruthie and Jack find the proof they need to help Kendra? And can they fix the past and save Jack's future . . . before it's too late?

format_addisoneAudiobook
eBook
format_category_addisonAudio Books
eBook
ide8c21199-39f5-4e6f-24d1-bcd5e5b2c18c
isbn9780307977199
9780804121637
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
overdrive:3c3e30a3-02f5-48fc-a071-920f900394cf1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books0falsetrueOverDriveOverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive ListenAvailable Online
overdrive:3c3e30a3-02f5-48fc-a071-920f900394cf-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueOverDriveOverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive ListenAvailable Online
overdrive:41d20b65-00d7-459e-b64c-99595a0125d1-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook1falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
overdrive:41d20b65-00d7-459e-b64c-99595a0125d11Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook0falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
last_indexed2021-07-28T10:11:38.029Z
lexile_score740
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
local_callnumber_addisonOnline OverDrive
owning_library_addisonAddison Public Library Online
owning_location_addisonOnline OverDrive Collection
primary_isbn9780307977199
publishDate2013
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
overdrive:3c3e30a3-02f5-48fc-a071-920f900394cfeAudiobookAudio BooksEnglishPenguin Random House Audio Publishing Group2013
overdrive:41d20b65-00d7-459e-b64c-99595a0125d1eBookeBookEnglishRandom House Children's Books2013
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_addison
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:3c3e30a3-02f5-48fc-a071-920f900394cf1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
overdrive:3c3e30a3-02f5-48fc-a071-920f900394cf-1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
overdrive:41d20b65-00d7-459e-b64c-99595a0125d1-1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
overdrive:41d20b65-00d7-459e-b64c-99595a0125d11Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
seriesSixty-eight rooms adventures
series_with_volumeSixty-eight rooms adventures|3
title_displayThe Pirate's Coin
title_fullThe Pirate's Coin
title_shortThe Pirate's Coin
topic_facetFantasy
Juvenile Fiction
Mystery