Crash Into Me: A Survivor's Search for Justice

Book Cover
Average Rating
Author:
Publisher:
Bloomsbury Publishing
Pub. Date:
2011
Language:
English
Description

In September 2005, Liz Seccuro's world turned upside down when she received an apology letter from the man who had raped her twenty-two years earlier. The rape, which occurred when she was a seventeen-year-old freshman at the University of Virginia, was reported to the campus police, but their inquiry led nowhere. The man accused of raping her left the university soon after, and Seccuro tried to put the incident behind her, starting a business and a family, but like all survivors of trauma, the memory was never far from the surface.

The letter brought it all back. Seccuro bravely began an e-mail correspondence with her rapist to try to understand what happened, and why. As the correspondence continued, Seccuro found the courage to do what should have been done all those years earlier-prosecute him. She began appearing on national television and radio to talk about the case. Several crime dramas and a John Grisham novel, The Associate, were based on her experience. She had found a way to end a terrible story, but once judicial proceedings began, she found that what she thought occurred at that UV A frat party was only the tip of the iceberg. The investigation revealed at least two other assailants, numerous onlookers, and a wall of silence among the fraternity members that persisted two decades later.

Liz Seccuro's inspiring, unflinching memoir is about experiencing terrible trauma-and the power of justice to heal.

Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9781608193110
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Tagging
Tags:

No Tags, Be the first to tag this record!


Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work IDe9557667-a516-3111-11a5-da8b01aa9bcb
Grouping Titlecrash into me a survivors search for justice
Grouping Authorliz seccuro
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2021-09-22 04:50:09AM
Last Indexed2021-09-22 05:12:42AM
Novelist Primary ISBN9781596915855

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
authorLiz Seccuro
author_displayLiz Seccuro
available_at_addisonOnline OverDrive Collection
detailed_location_addisonOnline OverDrive Collection
display_description

In September 2005, Liz Seccuro's world turned upside down when she received an apology letter from the man who had raped her twenty-two years earlier. The rape, which occurred when she was a seventeen-year-old freshman at the University of Virginia, was reported to the campus police, but their inquiry led nowhere. The man accused of raping her left the university soon after, and Seccuro tried to put the incident behind her, starting a business and a family, but like all survivors of trauma, the memory was never far from the surface. The letter brought it all back. Seccuro bravely began an e-mail correspondence with her rapist to try to understand what happened, and why. As the correspondence continued, Seccuro found the courage to do what should have been done all those years earlier-prosecute him. She began appearing on national television and radio to talk about the case. Several crime dramas and a John Grisham novel, The Associate, were based on her experience. She had found a way to end a terrible story, but once judicial proceedings began, she found that what she thought occurred at that UV A frat party was only the tip of the iceberg. The investigation revealed at least two other assailants, numerous onlookers, and a wall of silence among the fraternity members that persisted two decades later. Liz Seccuro's inspiring, unflinching memoir is about experiencing terrible trauma-and the power of justice to heal. For readers of Lucky and I Am the Central Park Jogger, a haunting memoir by the woman at the center of the highly publicized "12-Step Apology" rape case. Liz Seccuro is an event planner and a victim's rights activist. She lives in Virginia with her husband and two children.

format_addisoneBook
format_category_addisoneBook
ide9557667-a516-3111-11a5-da8b01aa9bcb
isbn9781608193110
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
overdrive:49a3c3f2-1fff-4816-9fb9-e6ed45a14c40-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook2falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
overdrive:49a3c3f2-1fff-4816-9fb9-e6ed45a14c401Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook0falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
last_indexed2021-09-22T10:12:42.420Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formNon Fiction
literary_form_fullNon Fiction
local_callnumber_addisonOnline OverDrive
owning_library_addisonAddison Public Library Online
owning_location_addisonOnline OverDrive Collection
primary_isbn9781608193110
publishDate2011
publisherBloomsbury Publishing
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
overdrive:49a3c3f2-1fff-4816-9fb9-e6ed45a14c40eBookeBookEnglishBloomsbury Publishing2011
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_addison
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:49a3c3f2-1fff-4816-9fb9-e6ed45a14c40-1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
overdrive:49a3c3f2-1fff-4816-9fb9-e6ed45a14c401Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
title_displayCrash Into Me A Survivor's Search for Justice
title_fullCrash Into Me A Survivor's Search for Justice
title_shortCrash Into Me
title_subA Survivor's Search for Justice
topic_facetBiography & Autobiography
Nonfiction