The Monster of Florence

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
In the tradition of John Berendt’s Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil and Erik Larson’s The Devil in the White City, Douglas Preston weaves a captivating account of crime and punishment in the lush hills of Florence, Italy.

Douglas Preston fulfilled a lifelong dream when he moved with his family to a villa in Florence. Upon meeting celebrated journalist Mario Spezi, Preston was stunned to learn that the olive grove next to his home had been the scene of a horrific double murder committed by one of the most infamous figures in Italian history. A serial killer who ritually murdered fourteen young lovers, he has never been caught. He is known as the Monster of Florence.  

Fascinated by the tale, Preston began to work with Spezi on the case. Here is the true story of their search to uncover and confront the man they believe is the Monster. In an ironic twist of fate that echoes the dark traditions of the city’s bloody history, Preston and Spezi themselves became targets of a bizarre police investigation.

With the gripping suspense of Preston’s bestselling novels, THE MONSTER OF FLORENCE tells a remarkable and harrowing chronicle of murder, mutilation, suicide, and vengeance–with Preston and Spezi caught in the middle.  


From the Compact Disc edition.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9781415955253
9780446593564
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Tagging
Tags:

No Tags, Be the first to tag this record!


Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work IDed3a7e4e-f4c7-2fe5-6d31-d12ccde4bbf1
Grouping Titlemonster of florence
Grouping Authordouglas preston
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2022-08-15 04:40:41AM
Last Indexed2022-08-15 05:07:14AM

Solr Fields

accelerated_reader_point_value
0
accelerated_reader_reading_level
0
author
Preston, Douglas
author_display
Preston, Douglas
detailed_location_addison
Online OverDrive Collection
display_description
In the nonfiction tradition of John Berendt and Erik Larson, the author of the #1 NYT bestseller The Lost City of the Monkey God presents a gripping account of crime and punishment in the lush hills surrounding Florence as he seeks to uncover one of the most infamous figures in Italian history.
In 2000, Douglas Preston fulfilled a dream to move his family to Italy. Then he discovered that the olive grove in front of their 14th century farmhouse had been the scene of the most infamous double-murders in Italian history, committed by a serial killer known as the Monster of Florence. Preston, intrigued, meets Italian investigative journalist Mario Spezi to learn more.
This is the true story of their search for—and identification of—the man they believe committed the crimes, and their chilling interview with him. And then, in a strange twist of fate, Preston and Spezi themselves become targets of the police investigation. Preston has his phone tapped, is interrogated, and told to leave the country. Spezi fares worse: he is thrown into Italy's grim Capanne prison, accused of being the Monster of Florence himself.
Like one of Preston's thrillers, The Monster of Florence, tells a remarkable and harrowing story involving murder, mutilation, and suicide-and at the center of it, Preston and Spezi, caught in a bizarre prosecutorial vendetta.
format_addison
eAudiobook
eBook
format_category_addison
Audio Books
eBook
id
ed3a7e4e-f4c7-2fe5-6d31-d12ccde4bbf1
isbn
9780446593564
9781415955253
last_indexed
2022-08-15T10:07:14.550Z
lexile_score
-1
literary_form
Non Fiction
literary_form_full
Non Fiction
local_callnumber_addison
Online OverDrive
owning_library_addison
Addison Public Library Online
owning_location_addison
Online OverDrive Collection
primary_isbn
9781415955253
publisher
Books on Tape
Grand Central Publishing
recordtype
grouped_work
title_display
The Monster of Florence
title_full
The Monster of Florence
title_short
The Monster of Florence
topic_facet
History
Language Arts
Law
Literary Criticism
Nonfiction
True Crime

Solr Details Tables

item_details

Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocation
overdrive:2d343451-f40d-4604-9f6e-ebb260b897f5-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueOverDriveOverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive ListenChecked Out
overdrive:2d343451-f40d-4604-9f6e-ebb260b897f51Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books0falsetrueOverDriveOverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive ListenChecked Out
overdrive:72ef9312-cb22-49dd-a156-1dcc6f4a02201Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook0falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadChecked Out
overdrive:72ef9312-cb22-49dd-a156-1dcc6f4a0220-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook1falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadChecked Out

record_details

Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
overdrive:2d343451-f40d-4604-9f6e-ebb260b897f5eAudiobookAudio BooksEnglishBooks on Tape
overdrive:72ef9312-cb22-49dd-a156-1dcc6f4a0220eBookeBookEnglishGrand Central Publishing

scoping_details_addison

Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:2d343451-f40d-4604-9f6e-ebb260b897f5-1Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsefalse
overdrive:2d343451-f40d-4604-9f6e-ebb260b897f51Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsetrue
overdrive:72ef9312-cb22-49dd-a156-1dcc6f4a02201Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsetrue
overdrive:72ef9312-cb22-49dd-a156-1dcc6f4a0220-1Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsefalse