The Monster of Florence

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
In the tradition of John Berendt’s Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil and Erik Larson’s The Devil in the White City, Douglas Preston weaves a captivating account of crime and punishment in the lush hills of Florence, Italy.Douglas Preston fulfilled a lifelong dream when he moved with his family to a villa in Florence. Upon meeting celebrated journalist Mario Spezi, Preston was stunned to learn that the olive grove next to his home had been the scene of a horrific double murder committed by one of the most infamous figures in Italian history. A serial killer who ritually murdered fourteen young lovers, he has never been caught. He is known as the Monster of Florence.  Fascinated by the tale, Preston began to work with Spezi on the case. Here is the true story of their search to uncover and confront the man they believe is the Monster. In an ironic twist of fate that echoes the dark traditions of the city’s bloody history, Preston and Spezi themselves became targets of a bizarre police investigation. With the gripping suspense of Preston’s bestselling novels, THE MONSTER OF FLORENCE tells a remarkable and harrowing chronicle of murder, mutilation, suicide, and vengeance–with Preston and Spezi caught in the middle.  From the Compact Disc edition.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9781415955253
9780446593564
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Tagging
Tags:

No Tags, Be the first to tag this record!


Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work IDed3a7e4e-f4c7-2fe5-6d31-d12ccde4bbf1
Grouping Titlemonster of florence
Grouping Authordouglas preston
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2021-04-14 04:51:40AM
Last Indexed2021-04-14 05:07:28AM
Novelist Primary ISBNnone

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
authorDouglas Preston
author_displayDouglas Preston
available_at_addisonOnline OverDrive Collection
detailed_location_addisonOnline OverDrive Collection
display_description

In the nonfiction tradition of John Berendt and Erik Larson, the author of the #1 NYT bestseller, The Lost City of The Monkey King, presents a gripping account of crime and punishment in the lush hills surrounding Florence, Italy as he seeks to uncover one of the most infamous figures in Italian history.


In 2000, Douglas Preston fulfilled a dream to move his family to Italy. Then he discovered that the olive grove in front of their 14th century farmhouse had been the scene of the most infamous double-murders in Italian history, committed by a serial killer known as the Monster of Florence. Preston , intrigued, meets Italian investigative journalist Mario Spezi to learn more.


This is the true story of their search for—and identification of—the man they believe committed the crimes, and their chilling interview with him. And then, in a strange twist of fate, Preston and Spezi themselves become targets of the police investigation. Preston has his phone tapped, is interrogated, and told to leave the country. Spezi fares worse: he is thrown into Italy 's grim Capanne prison, accused of being the Monster of Florence himself.


Like one of Preston's thrillers, The Monster of Florence, tells a remarkable and harrowing story involving murder, mutilation, and suicide-and at the center of it, Preston and Spezi, caught in a bizarre prosecutorial vendetta.

format_addisoneAudiobook
eBook
format_category_addisonAudio Books
eBook
ided3a7e4e-f4c7-2fe5-6d31-d12ccde4bbf1
isbn9780446593564
9781415955253
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
overdrive:2d343451-f40d-4604-9f6e-ebb260b897f51Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books0falsetrueOverDriveOverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive ListenChecked Out
overdrive:2d343451-f40d-4604-9f6e-ebb260b897f5-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueOverDriveOverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive ListenChecked Out
overdrive:72ef9312-cb22-49dd-a156-1dcc6f4a0220-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook1falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
overdrive:72ef9312-cb22-49dd-a156-1dcc6f4a02201Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook0falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
last_indexed2021-04-14T10:07:28.667Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formNon Fiction
literary_form_fullNon Fiction
local_callnumber_addisonOnline OverDrive
owning_library_addisonAddison Public Library Online
owning_location_addisonOnline OverDrive Collection
primary_isbn9781415955253
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
overdrive:2d343451-f40d-4604-9f6e-ebb260b897f5eAudiobookAudio BooksEnglishBooks on Tape
overdrive:72ef9312-cb22-49dd-a156-1dcc6f4a0220eBookeBookEnglishGrand Central Publishing
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_addison
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:2d343451-f40d-4604-9f6e-ebb260b897f51Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsetrue
overdrive:2d343451-f40d-4604-9f6e-ebb260b897f5-1Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsefalse
overdrive:72ef9312-cb22-49dd-a156-1dcc6f4a0220-1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
overdrive:72ef9312-cb22-49dd-a156-1dcc6f4a02201Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
title_displayThe Monster of Florence
title_fullThe Monster of Florence
title_shortThe Monster of Florence
topic_facetHistory
Law
Nonfiction
True Crime