A dedicated man: an Inspector Banks mystery

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Scribner,
Pub. Date:
c1988 [i.e. 1991]
Language:
English
Description

New York Times bestselling and Edgar Award-winning author Peter Robinson delivers a compelling and chilling story of evil in the most unexpected places&;perfect for fans of Jo Nesbo and Ian Rankin.

A dedicated man is dead in the wild outdoors&;a former university professor, wealthy historian and archaeologist who loved his adopted village. It is a particularly heinous slaying, considering the esteem in which the victim, Harry Steadman, was held by his neighbors and colleagues&;by everyone, it seems, except the one person who bludgeoned the life out of the respected scholar and left him half-buried in a farmer's field.

Detective Chief Inspector Alan Banks left the violence of London behind for what he hoped would be the peaceful life of a country policeman. But the brutality of Steadman's murder only reinforces one ugly, indisputable truth: Evil can flourish in even the most beautiful of settings. There are dangerous secrets hidden in the history of this remote community that have already led to one death. And Banks will have to plumb a dark and shocking local past to find his way to a killer before yesterday's sins cause more blood to be shed.

A Dedicated Man is a riveting, fascinating, and thoroughly thrilling novel of suspense.

Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780684192659
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Tagging
Tags:

No Tags, Be the first to tag this record!


Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work IDed8eaf49-2289-b83e-9a7e-0b716944c948
Grouping Titlededicated man an inspector banks mystery
Grouping Authorrobinson peter
Grouping Categorybook
Last Grouping Update2019-05-02 04:51:12AM
Last Indexed2019-12-08 04:54:47AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
authorRobinson, Peter, 1950-
author_displayRobinson, Peter
available_at_addisonAddison Public Library
collection_addisonAdults
detailed_location_addison2nd Floor- Adult Books
display_description
format_addisonBook
format_category_addisonBooks
ided8eaf49-2289-b83e-9a7e-0b716944c948
isbn9780684192659
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
ils:.b10072597.i100789272nd Floor- Adult BooksCRIME ROBINSON P.1falsefalseCheck ShelfFeb 15, 2019afic
itype_addisonFiction
last_indexed2019-12-08T10:54:47.074Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
local_callnumber_addisonCRIME ROBINSON P.
owning_library_addisonAddison Public Library
owning_location_addisonAddison Public Library
primary_isbn9780684192659
publishDate1991
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
ils:.b10072597BookBooksEnglishScribner, c1988 [i.e. 1991]261 p. ; 22 cm.
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_addison
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:.b10072597.i10078927On ShelfCheck Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 12, 20, 21
seriesInspector Alan Banks mysteries
series_with_volumeInspector Alan Banks mysteries|2
subject_facetBanks, Alan (Fictitious character)
Mystery fiction
Police -- England -- Yorkshire -- Fiction
Yorkshire (England) -- Fiction
title_displayA dedicated man : an Inspector Banks mystery
title_fullA dedicated man : an Inspector Banks mystery / Peter Robinson
title_shortA dedicated man
title_suban Inspector Banks mystery
topic_facetBanks, Alan (Fictitious character)
Fiction
Mystery fiction
Police