A dedicated man: an Inspector Banks mystery

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Scribner,
Pub. Date:
c1988 [i.e. 1991]
Language:
English
Description

New York Times bestselling and Edgar Award-winning author Peter Robinson delivers a compelling and chilling story of evil in the most unexpected places—perfect for fans of Jo Nesbo and Ian Rankin.

A dedicated man is dead in the wild outdoors—a former university professor, wealthy historian and archaeologist who loved his adopted village. It is a particularly heinous slaying, considering the esteem in which the victim, Harry Steadman, was held by his neighbors and colleagues—by everyone, it seems, except the one person who bludgeoned the life out of the respected scholar and left him half-buried in a farmer's field.

Detective Chief Inspector Alan Banks left the violence of London behind for what he hoped would be the peaceful life of a country policeman. But the brutality of Steadman's murder only reinforces one ugly, indisputable truth: Evil can flourish in even the most beautiful of settings. There are dangerous secrets hidden in the history of this remote community that have already led to one death. And Banks will have to plumb a dark and shocking local past to find his way to a killer before yesterday's sins cause more blood to be shed.

A Dedicated Man is a riveting, fascinating, and thoroughly thrilling novel of suspense.

Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780684192659
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Tagging
Tags:
No Tags, Be the first to tag this record!
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID ed8eaf49-2289-b83e-9a7e-0b716944c948
Grouping Title dedicated man an inspector banks mystery
Grouping Author robinson peter
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2019-05-02 04:51:12AM
Last Indexed 2019-06-24 04:51:46AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author Robinson, Peter, 1950-
author_display Robinson, Peter
available_at_addison Addison Public Library
collection_addison Adults
detailed_location_addison 2nd Floor- Adult Books
display_description
format_addison Book
format_category_addison Books
id ed8eaf49-2289-b83e-9a7e-0b716944c948
isbn 9780684192659
item_details ils:.b10072597|.i10078927|2nd Floor- Adult Books|CRIME ROBINSON P.|||1|false|false|||||Check Shelf|Feb 15, 2019|afic||
itype_addison Fiction
last_indexed 2019-06-24T09:51:46.395Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_addison CRIME ROBINSON P.
owning_library_addison Addison Public Library
owning_location_addison Addison Public Library
primary_isbn 9780684192659
publishDate 1991
record_details ils:.b10072597|Book|Books||English|Scribner,|c1988 [i.e. 1991]|261 p. ; 22 cm.
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_addison
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:.b10072597 .i10078927 On Shelf Check Shelf false true true false false true 0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 12, 20, 21
series Inspector Alan Banks mysteries
series_with_volume Inspector Alan Banks mysteries|2
subject_facet Banks, Alan (Fictitious character), Mystery fiction, Police -- England -- Yorkshire -- Fiction, Yorkshire (England) -- Fiction
title_display A dedicated man : an Inspector Banks mystery
title_full A dedicated man : an Inspector Banks mystery / Peter Robinson
title_short A dedicated man :
title_sub an Inspector Banks mystery
topic_facet Banks, Alan (Fictitious character), Fiction, Mystery fiction, Police