P.S. Be eleven

Book Cover
Average Rating
Series:
Gaither sisters volume 2.
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Accelerated Reader:
IL: MG - BL: 4.6 - AR Pts: 8
Lexile measure:
770L
Description

The Gaither sisters are at it again! A sequel to the Newbery Honor Book One Crazy Summer, this Coretta Scott King Award-winning novel will find a home in the hearts of readers who loved Brown Girl Dreaming and As Brave as You.

After spending the summer in Oakland, California, with their mother and the Black Panthers, Delphine, Vonetta, and Fern arrive home with a newfound streak of independence. That doesn't sit well with Big Ma, who doesn't like the way things are changing.

Neither does Delphine. Pa has a new girlfriend. Uncle Darnell comes home from Vietnam, but he's not the same. And her new sixth-grade teacher isn't the fun, stylish Miss Honeywell&;it's Mr. Mwila, a stern exchange teacher from Zambia.

But the one thing that doesn't change during this turbulent year is the advice that Delphine receives from her mother, who reminds her not to grow up too fast. To be eleven while she can.

Readers who enjoy Christopher Paul Curtis's The Watsons Go to Birmingham and Jacqueline Woodson&;s Brown Girl Dreaming will find much to love in this book. Rita Williams-Garcia's books about Delphine, Vonetta, and Fern can also be read alongside nonfiction explorations of American history such as Jason Reynolds's and Ibram X. Kendi's books.

Each humorous, unforgettable story in this trilogy follows the sisters as they grow up during one of the most tumultuous eras in recent American history, the 1960s. Read the adventures of eleven-year-old Delphine and her younger sisters, Vonetta and Fern, as they visit their kin all over the rapidly changing nation&;and as they discover that the bonds of family, and their own strength, run deeper than they ever knew possible.

&;The Gaither sisters are an irresistible trio. Williams-Garcia excels at conveying defining moments of American society from their point of view.&; &;Publishers Weekly (starred review)

Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780061938634
9780062246134
9780061938627
9780062208507
Accelerated Reader:
MG
Level 4.6, 8 Points
Lexile measure:
770L
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Tagging
Tags:

No Tags, Be the first to tag this record!


Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work IDf06f1a32-f18e-c100-ac80-744c3558b485
Grouping Titlep s be eleven
Grouping Authorrita williams garcia
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2021-01-20 04:51:35AM
Last Indexed2021-01-20 05:06:30AM
Novelist Primary ISBN9780061938634

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_levelMG
accelerated_reader_point_value8
accelerated_reader_reading_level4.6
auth_author2Johnson, Sisi Aisha,
authorWilliams-Garcia, Rita.
author2-role3M Company.
Johnson, Sisi Aisha,narrator.
hoopla digital.
author_displayWilliams-Garcia, Rita
available_at_addisonAddison Public Library
collection_addisonChildren
detailed_location_addison1st Floor- Children's Books
Axis 360
Online Hoopla Collection
Online OverDrive Collection
display_descriptionThe Gaither sisters are back in Brooklyn, where changes large and small come to their household as they grow up during the turbulent 1960s.
format_addisonBook
eAudiobook
eBook
format_category_addisonAudio Books
Books
eBook
eBooks
idf06f1a32-f18e-c100-ac80-744c3558b485
isbn9780061938627
9780061938634
9780062208507
9780062246134
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
hoopla:MWT11632367Online Hoopla CollectionOnline HooplaeAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueHooplahttps://www.hoopladigital.com/title/11632367?utm_source=MARCAvailable Online
axis360:bl2014036127bl2014036127Axis 360Online Axis 360eBookeBook1falsetrueAxis 360http://ereadil.axis360.baker-taylor.com/Title?itemid=0012326851Available OnlineAxis 360
ils:.b12407446.i129663681st Floor- Children's BooksjFIC WILLIAMS R.1falsefalseCheck ShelfOct 29, 2018jfic
external_econtent:ils:.b12804320Online1falsetrueCloud Libraryhttp://ebook.3m.com/library/AddisonPublicLibrary-document_id-aur7ug9Available Onlinejd
overdrive:2d6c5404-4e03-4413-b5d5-25cd652b3983-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook1falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
itype_addisonJuvenile Fiction
eCollection
last_indexed2021-01-20T11:06:30.888Z
lexile_score770
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
local_callnumber_addisonOnline
jFIC WILLIAMS R.
owning_library_addisonAddison Public Library
Addison Public Library Online
owning_location_addisonAddison Public Library
primary_isbn9780061938634
publishDate2013
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
hoopla:MWT11632367eAudiobookAudio BooksUnabridged.EnglishAmistad, 2013.1 online resource (1 audio file (6hr., 11 min.)) : digital.
axis360:bl2014036127eBookeBookFirst edition.EnglishAmistad, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers, [2013]1 online resource (274 pages)
ils:.b12407446BookBooksFirst edition.EnglishAmistad, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers, [2013]274 pages ; 22 cm.
external_econtent:ils:.b12804320eBookeBooksEnglishHarperCollins, 2013.288 p.
ils:.b12804320eBookeBooksEnglishHarperCollins, 2013.288 p.
overdrive:2d6c5404-4e03-4413-b5d5-25cd652b3983eBookeBookEnglishQuill Tree Books2013
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_addison
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
hoopla:MWT11632367Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsefalse
axis360:bl2014036127bl2014036127Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsefalse
ils:.b12407446.i12966368On ShelfCheck Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 12, 20, 21
external_econtent:ils:.b12804320Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsetrue
overdrive:2d6c5404-4e03-4413-b5d5-25cd652b3983-1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
seriesGaither sisters
series_with_volumeGaither sisters|2
subject_facet
African Americans
African Americans -- Fiction
African Americans -- Juvenile fiction
Bedford-Stuyvesant (New York, N.Y.) -- History -- 20th century -- Fiction
Bedford-Stuyvesant (New York, N.Y.) -- History -- 20th century -- Juvenile fiction
Bedford-Stuyvesant (New York, N.Y.) -- Juvenile fiction
Brooklyn (New York, N.Y.) -- History -- 20th century -- Fiction
Brooklyn (New York, N.Y.) -- History -- 20th century -- Juvenile fiction
Conduct of life -- Juvenile fiction
Electronic books
Family life -- New York (State) -- Brooklyn -- Fiction
Family life -- New York (State) -- Brooklyn -- Juvenile fiction
Family life -- New York (State) -- New York -- Fiction
Fiction
Girls & Women
Girls & Women -- JUVENILE FICTION
Girls -- Conduct of life -- Juvenile fiction
Historical fiction
History
Juvenile works
Letters -- Juvenile fiction
Mothers -- Juvenile fiction
Multigenerational
Multigenerational -- Family
New York (State) -- New York -- Brooklyn
Prejudice & Racism
Prejudice & Racism -- Social Issues
Sisters
Sisters -- Fiction
Sisters -- Juvenile fiction
title_displayP.S. Be eleven
title_fullP. S. Be Eleven
P.S. Be Eleven [electronic resource] Williams-Garcia, Rita.
P.S. Be eleven / by Rita Williams-Garcia
P.S. be eleven / by Rita Williams-Garcia
P.S. be eleven [electronic resource] / Rita Williams-Garcia
title_shortP.S. Be eleven
topic_facetAfrican Americans
Conduct of life
Family life
Girls
Girls & Women
Historical Fiction
History
Juvenile Fiction
Letters
Mothers
Multigenerational
Prejudice & Racism
Sisters