P.S. Be eleven

Book Cover
Average Rating
NoveList Series:
Gaither sisters volume 2.
Series:
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Accelerated Reader:
IL: MG - BL: 4.6 - AR Pts: 8
Lexile measure:
770L
Description

The Gaither sisters are at it again! A sequel to the Newbery Honor Book One Crazy Summer, this Coretta Scott King Award-winning novel will find a home in the hearts of readers who loved Brown Girl Dreaming and As Brave as You.

After spending the summer in Oakland, California, with their mother and the Black Panthers, Delphine, Vonetta, and Fern arrive home with a newfound streak of independence. That doesn't sit well with Big Ma, who doesn't like the way things are changing.

Neither does Delphine. Pa has a new girlfriend. Uncle Darnell comes home from Vietnam, but he's not the same. And her new sixth-grade teacher isn't the fun, stylish Miss Honeywell—it's Mr. Mwila, a stern exchange teacher from Zambia.

But the one thing that doesn't change during this turbulent year is the advice that Delphine receives from her mother, who reminds her not to grow up too fast. To be eleven while she can.

Readers who enjoy Christopher Paul Curtis's The Watsons Go to Birmingham and Jacqueline Woodson’s Brown Girl Dreaming will find much to love in this book. Rita Williams-Garcia's books about Delphine, Vonetta, and Fern can also be read alongside nonfiction explorations of American history such as Jason Reynolds's and Ibram X. Kendi's books.

Each humorous, unforgettable story in this trilogy follows the sisters as they grow up during one of the most tumultuous eras in recent American history, the 1960s. Read the adventures of eleven-year-old Delphine and her younger sisters, Vonetta and Fern, as they visit their kin all over the rapidly changing nation—and as they discover that the bonds of family, and their own strength, run deeper than they ever knew possible.

“The Gaither sisters are an irresistible trio. Williams-Garcia excels at conveying defining moments of American society from their point of view.” —Publishers Weekly (starred review)

Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780061938634
9780062246134
9780061938627
9780062208507
9781470361808
Accelerated Reader:
MG
Level 4.6, 8 Points
Lexile measure:
770L
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Tagging
Tags:

No Tags, Be the first to tag this record!


Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work IDf06f1a32-f18e-c100-ac80-744c3558b485
Grouping Titlep s be eleven
Grouping Authorrita williams garcia
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2023-01-30 04:00:50AM
Last Indexed2023-01-30 04:53:40AM

Solr Fields

accelerated_reader_interest_level
MG
accelerated_reader_point_value
8
accelerated_reader_reading_level
4.6
auth_author2
Johnson, Sisi Aisha
author
Williams-Garcia, Rita
author2-role
3M Company
Johnson, Sisi Aisha,narrator
hoopla digital
author_display
Williams-Garcia, Rita
available_at_addison
Addison Public Library
collection_addison
Children
detailed_location_addison
1st Floor- Children's Books
Axis 360
Online Hoopla Collection
Online OverDrive Collection
display_description
The Gaither sisters are back in Brooklyn, where changes large and small come to their household as they grow up during the turbulent 1960s.
format_addison
Book
eAudiobook
eBook
format_category_addison
Audio Books
Books
eBook
eBooks
id
f06f1a32-f18e-c100-ac80-744c3558b485
isbn
9780061938627
9780061938634
9780062208507
9780062246134
9781470361808
itype_addison
Juvenile Fiction
eCollection
last_indexed
2023-01-30T10:53:40.338Z
lexile_score
770
literary_form
Fiction
literary_form_full
Fiction
local_callnumber_addison
Online
Online OverDrive
jFIC WILLIAMS R.
owning_library_addison
Addison Public Library
Addison Public Library Online
owning_location_addison
Addison Public Library
Online OverDrive Collection
primary_isbn
9780061938634
publishDate
2013
publisher
Amistad, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers
HarperCollins
Quill Tree Books
Recorded Books
recordtype
grouped_work
series
Gaither sisters
series_with_volume
Gaither sisters|2
subject_facet
African Americans
African Americans -- Fiction
African Americans -- Juvenile fiction
Bedford-Stuyvesant (New York, N.Y.) -- History -- 20th century -- Fiction
Bedford-Stuyvesant (New York, N.Y.) -- History -- 20th century -- Juvenile fiction
Bedford-Stuyvesant (New York, N.Y.) -- Juvenile fiction
Brooklyn (New York, N.Y.) -- History -- 20th century -- Fiction
Brooklyn (New York, N.Y.) -- History -- 20th century -- Juvenile fiction
Conduct of life -- Juvenile fiction
Electronic books
Family life -- New York (State) -- Brooklyn -- Fiction
Family life -- New York (State) -- Brooklyn -- Juvenile fiction
Family life -- New York (State) -- New York -- Fiction
Fiction
Girls & Women
Girls & Women -- JUVENILE FICTION
Girls -- Conduct of life -- Juvenile fiction
Historical fiction
History
Juvenile works
Letters -- Juvenile fiction
Mothers -- Juvenile fiction
Multigenerational
Multigenerational -- Family
New York (State) -- New York -- Brooklyn
Prejudice & Racism
Prejudice & Racism -- Social Issues
Sisters
Sisters -- Fiction
Sisters -- Juvenile fiction
title_display
P.S. Be eleven
title_full
P.S. Be Eleven
P.S. Be Eleven [electronic resource] Williams-Garcia, Rita.
P.S. Be eleven / by Rita Williams-Garcia
P.S. be eleven / by Rita Williams-Garcia
P.S. be eleven [electronic resource] / Rita Williams-Garcia
title_short
P.S. Be eleven
topic_facet
African Americans
Conduct of life
Family life
Girls
Girls & Women
Historical Fiction
History
Juvenile Fiction
Letters
Mothers
Multigenerational
Prejudice & Racism
Sisters

Solr Details Tables

item_details

Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent URLDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocation
axis360:bl2014036127bl2014036127Axis 360Online Axis 360eBookeBook1falsetrueAxis 360http://ereadil.axis360.baker-taylor.com/Title?itemid=0012326851Available OnlineAxis 360
hoopla:MWT11632367Online Hoopla CollectionOnline HooplaeAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueHooplahttps://www.hoopladigital.com/title/11632367?utm_source=MARCAvailable Online
ils:.b12407446.i129663681st Floor- Children's BooksjFIC WILLIAMS R.1falsefalseCheck ShelfDec 20, 2022jfic
overdrive:22db22fc-1fac-487c-9079-f36337804a6a-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueOverDriveChecked Out
overdrive:22db22fc-1fac-487c-9079-f36337804a6a1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books0falsetrueOverDriveChecked Out
external_econtent:ils:.b12804320Online1falsetrueCloud Libraryhttp://ebook.3m.com/library/AddisonPublicLibrary-document_id-aur7ug9Available Onlinejd

record_details

Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
axis360:bl2014036127eBookeBookFirst editionEnglishAmistad, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers[2013]1 online resource (274 pages)
hoopla:MWT11632367eAudiobookAudio BooksUnabridgedEnglishQuill Tree Books20131 online resource (1 audio file (6hr., 10 min.)) : digital.
ils:.b12407446BookBooksFirst editionEnglishAmistad, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers[2013]274 pages ; 22 cm.
overdrive:22db22fc-1fac-487c-9079-f36337804a6aeAudiobookAudio BooksEnglishRecorded Books2013
external_econtent:ils:.b12804320eBookeBooksEnglishHarperCollins2013288 p.
ils:.b12804320eBookeBooksEnglishHarperCollins2013288 p.

scoping_details_addison

Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
axis360:bl2014036127bl2014036127Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsefalse
hoopla:MWT11632367Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsefalse
ils:.b12407446.i12966368On ShelfCheck Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 10, 12, 20, 21
overdrive:22db22fc-1fac-487c-9079-f36337804a6a-1Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsefalse
overdrive:22db22fc-1fac-487c-9079-f36337804a6a1Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsetrue
external_econtent:ils:.b12804320Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsetrue