The Whale Warriors: the battle at the bottom of the world to save the planet's largest mammals

Book Cover
Average Rating
Author:
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
2007.
Language:
English
Description
In the tradition of The Perfect Storm, The Whale Warriors takes us on a hair-raising journey aboard a whale-saving pirate ship with a vigilante crew whose mission is to stop illegal Japanese whaling in the stormy remote seas off Antarctica.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9781400125272
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Tagging
Tags:

No Tags, Be the first to tag this record!


Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work IDf0d9a755-ad42-6ae0-77e1-bf8e9c391bf7
Grouping Titlewhale warriors the battle at the bottom of the world to save the planets largest mammals
Grouping Authorpeter heller
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2021-06-12 04:51:40AM
Last Indexed2021-06-12 05:08:25AM
Novelist Primary ISBN9781400135271

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
auth_author2Boles, James.
authorPeter Heller
author2-roleBoles, James.
hoopla digital.
author_displayHeller, Peter
available_at_addisonOnline OverDrive Collection
detailed_location_addisonOnline Hoopla Collection
Online OverDrive Collection
display_description

In the tradition of The Perfect Storm, The Whale Warriors takes us on a hair-raising journey aboard a whale-saving pirate ship with a vigilante crew whose mission is to stop illegal Japanese whaling in the stormy remote seas off Antarctica.

For two months, journalist Peter Heller rode aboard the vegan pirate ship Farley Mowat as it stalked its prey---a Japanese whaling fleet---through the storms and ice of Antarctica. The ship is black, flies under a jolly roger, and carries members of the Sea Shepherd Society, a radical environmental group who are willing to die to stop illegal whale hunting.

The Sea Shepherd ship, led by the charismatic Captain Paul Watson---a modern-day anti-Ahab---takes extreme risks in defense of whales and ratchets up the stakes. The ship is almost sunk twice, once in a force gale. Heller re-creates a nail-biting showdown when Watson and the crew attempt to ram an enormous Japanese whaling ship on the high seas, trying to tear open its hull with a steel blade called a "can opener." The crews on board both ships know that there will be no assistance in this desolate part of the ocean. In thirty-five-foot seas, it is a deadly game of Antarctic chicken and a fast-paced, rollicking adventure in which the stakes cannot be higher.

format_addisoneAudiobook
format_category_addisonAudio Books
eBook
idf0d9a755-ad42-6ae0-77e1-bf8e9c391bf7
isbn9781400125272
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
hoopla:MWT10756412Online Hoopla CollectionOnline HooplaeAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueHooplahttps://www.hoopladigital.com/title/10756412?utm_source=MARCAvailable Online
overdrive:4e0e80f7-e17c-4915-873e-2c8b4d2a12fa1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books0falsetrueOverDriveOverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive ListenAvailable Online
overdrive:4e0e80f7-e17c-4915-873e-2c8b4d2a12fa-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueOverDriveOverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive ListenAvailable Online
last_indexed2021-06-12T10:08:25.85Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formNon Fiction
literary_form_fullNon Fiction
local_callnumber_addisonOnline OverDrive
owning_library_addisonAddison Public Library Online
owning_location_addisonOnline OverDrive Collection
primary_isbn9781400125272
publishDate2007
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
hoopla:MWT10756412eAudiobookAudio BooksUnabridged.EnglishTantor Audio, 2007.1 online resource (1 audio file (660 min.)) : digital.
overdrive:4e0e80f7-e17c-4915-873e-2c8b4d2a12faeAudiobookAudio BooksEnglishTantor Media, Inc.2007
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_addison
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
hoopla:MWT10756412Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsefalse
overdrive:4e0e80f7-e17c-4915-873e-2c8b4d2a12fa1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue
overdrive:4e0e80f7-e17c-4915-873e-2c8b4d2a12fa-1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
subject_facetHeller, Peter, -- 1959- -- Diaries
Heller, Peter, -- 1959- -- Travel -- Antarctic Ocean
Whales -- Conservation -- Antarctic Ocean
Whaling -- Antarctic Ocean
title_displayThe Whale Warriors The Battle at the Bottom of the World to Save the Planet's Largest Mammals
title_fullThe Whale Warriors The Battle at the Bottom of the World to Save the Planet's Largest Mammals
The whale warriors : the battle at the bottom of the world to save the planet's largest mammals [electronic resource] / Peter Heller
title_shortThe Whale Warriors
title_subthe battle at the bottom of the world to save the planet's largest mammals
topic_facetConservation
Heller, Peter
Nature
Nonfiction
Travel
Whales
Whaling