The Whale Warriors: The Battle at the Bottom of the World to Save the Planet's Largest Mammals

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
2007
Language:
English
Description
In the tradition of The Perfect Storm, The Whale Warriors takes us on a hair-raising journey aboard a whale-saving pirate ship with a vigilante crew whose mission is to stop illegal Japanese whaling in the stormy remote seas off Antarctica.



For two months, journalist Peter Heller rode aboard the vegan pirate ship Farley Mowat as it stalked its prey-a Japanese whaling fleet-through the storms and ice of Antarctica. The ship is black, flies under a jolly roger, and carries members of the Sea Shepherd Society, a radical environmental group who are willing to die to stop illegal whale hunting.



The Sea Shepherd ship, led by the charismatic Captain Paul Watson-a modern-day anti-Ahab-takes extreme risks in defense of whales and ratchets up the stakes. The ship is almost sunk twice, once in a force gale. Heller re-creates a nail-biting showdown when Watson and the crew attempt to ram an enormous Japanese whaling ship on the high seas, trying to tear open its hull with a steel blade called a "can opener." The crews on board both ships know that there will be no assistance in this desolate part of the ocean. In thirty-five-foot seas, it is a deadly game of Antarctic chicken and a fast-paced, rollicking adventure in which the stakes cannot be higher.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9781400125272
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Tagging
Tags:

No Tags, Be the first to tag this record!


Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work IDf0d9a755-ad42-6ae0-77e1-bf8e9c391bf7
Grouping Titlewhale warriors the battle at the bottom of the world to save the planets largest mammals
Grouping Authorpeter heller
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2022-06-28 04:40:55AM
Last Indexed2022-06-28 05:19:45AM

Solr Fields

accelerated_reader_point_value
0
accelerated_reader_reading_level
0
auth_author2
Boles, James
author
Heller, Peter
author2-role
Boles, James
hoopla digital
author_display
Heller, Peter
available_at_addison
Online OverDrive Collection
detailed_location_addison
Online Hoopla Collection
Online OverDrive Collection
display_description

In the tradition of The Perfect Storm, The Whale Warriors takes us on a hair-raising journey aboard a whale-saving pirate ship with a vigilante crew whose mission is to stop illegal Japanese whaling in the stormy remote seas off Antarctica.

For two months, journalist Peter Heller rode aboard the vegan pirate ship Farley Mowat as it stalked its prey---a Japanese whaling fleet---through the storms and ice of Antarctica. The ship is black, flies under a jolly roger, and carries members of the Sea Shepherd Society, a radical environmental group who are willing to die to stop illegal whale hunting.

The Sea Shepherd ship, led by the charismatic Captain Paul Watson---a modern-day anti-Ahab---takes extreme risks in defense of whales and ratchets up the stakes. The ship is almost sunk twice, once in a force gale. Heller re-creates a nail-biting showdown when Watson and the crew attempt to ram an enormous Japanese whaling ship on the high seas, trying to tear open its hull with a steel blade called a "can opener." The crews on board both ships know that there will be no assistance in this desolate part of the ocean. In thirty-five-foot seas, it is a deadly game of Antarctic chicken and a fast-paced, rollicking adventure in which the stakes cannot be higher.

format_addison
eAudiobook
format_category_addison
Audio Books
eBook
id
f0d9a755-ad42-6ae0-77e1-bf8e9c391bf7
isbn
9781400125272
last_indexed
2022-06-28T10:19:45.814Z
lexile_score
-1
literary_form
Non Fiction
literary_form_full
Non Fiction
local_callnumber_addison
Online OverDrive
owning_library_addison
Addison Public Library Online
owning_location_addison
Online OverDrive Collection
primary_isbn
9781400125272
publishDate
2007
publisher
Tantor Audio
Tantor Media, Inc.
recordtype
grouped_work
subject_facet
Heller, Peter, -- 1959- -- Diaries
Heller, Peter, -- 1959- -- Travel -- Antarctic Ocean
Whales -- Conservation -- Antarctic Ocean
Whaling -- Antarctic Ocean
title_display
The Whale Warriors The Battle at the Bottom of the World to Save the Planet's Largest Mammals
title_full
The Whale Warriors The Battle at the Bottom of the World to Save the Planet's Largest Mammals
The whale warriors : the battle at the bottom of the world to save the planet's largest mammals [electronic resource] / Peter Heller
title_short
The Whale Warriors
title_sub
The Battle at the Bottom of the World to Save the Planet's Largest Mammals
topic_facet
Conservation
Heller, Peter
Nature
Nonfiction
Travel
Whales
Whaling

Solr Details Tables

item_details

Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocation
hoopla:MWT10756412Online Hoopla CollectionOnline HooplaeAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueHooplahttps://www.hoopladigital.com/title/10756412?utm_source=MARCAvailable Online
overdrive:4e0e80f7-e17c-4915-873e-2c8b4d2a12fa-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueOverDriveOverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive ListenAvailable Online
overdrive:4e0e80f7-e17c-4915-873e-2c8b4d2a12fa1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books0falsetrueOverDriveOverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive ListenAvailable Online

record_details

Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
hoopla:MWT10756412eAudiobookAudio BooksUnabridgedEnglishTantor Audio20071 online resource (1 audio file (660 min.)) : digital.
overdrive:4e0e80f7-e17c-4915-873e-2c8b4d2a12faeAudiobookAudio BooksEnglishTantor Media, Inc2007

scoping_details_addison

Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
hoopla:MWT10756412Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsefalse
overdrive:4e0e80f7-e17c-4915-873e-2c8b4d2a12fa-1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
overdrive:4e0e80f7-e17c-4915-873e-2c8b4d2a12fa1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue