The German girl

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
2016
Language:
English
Description
AN INTERNATIONAL BESTSELLER

Featured in Entertainment Weekly, People, The Millions, and USA TODAY

“An unforgettable and resplendent novel which will take its place among the great historical fiction written about World War II.” —Adriana Trigiani, bestselling author of The Shoemaker's Wife


A young girl flees Nazi-occupied Germany with her family and best friend, only to discover that the overseas refuge they had been promised is an illusion in this “engrossing and heartbreaking” (Library Journal, starred review) debut novel, perfect for fans of The Nightingale, Lilac Girls, and The Tattooist of Auschwitz.

Berlin, 1939. Before everything changed, Hannah Rosenthal lived a charmed life. But now the streets of Berlin are draped in ominous flags; her family’s fine possessions are hauled away; and they are no longer welcome in the places they once considered home. A glimmer of hope appears in the shape of the St. Louis, a transatlantic ocean liner promising Jews safe passage to Cuba. At first, the liner feels like a luxury, but as they travel, the circumstances of war change, and the ship that was to be their salvation seems likely to become their doom.

New York, 2014. On her twelfth birthday, Anna Rosen receives a mysterious package from an unknown relative in Cuba, her great-aunt Hannah. Its contents inspire Anna and her mother to travel to Havana to learn the truth about their family’s mysterious and tragic past.

Weaving dual time frames, and based on a true story, The German Girl is a beautifully written and deeply poignant story about generations of exiles seeking a place to call home.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9781501121234
9781501121142
9781410493576
9781508226864
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Tagging
Tags:

No Tags, Be the first to tag this record!


Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work IDf71c2516-743f-e8f4-e6e7-01fd6256d224
Grouping Titlegerman girl
Grouping Authorarmando lucas correa
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2022-09-29 04:41:12AM
Last Indexed2022-09-29 05:07:14AM

Solr Fields

accelerated_reader_point_value
0
accelerated_reader_reading_level
0
auth_author2
Caistor, Nick
author
Correa, Armando Lucas, 1959-
author2-role
Caistor, Nick,translator
author_display
Correa, Armando Lucas
available_at_addison
Addison Public Library
collection_addison
Adults
detailed_location_addison
2nd Floor- Adult Books
Online OverDrive Collection
display_description
1939, Berlin. Hannah Rosenthal's family is no longer welcome in the places that once felt like home. Hannah and her best friend, Leo Martin, make a pact: whatever the future has in store for them, they'll meet it together. Hope appears in the form of the SS St. Louis, offering Jews safe passage out of Germany, bound for Havana. Seven decades later in New York City, Anna Rosen receives a strange package from an unknown relative in Cuba, her great-aunt Hannah. The subsequent quest will help Anna understand her place and her purpose in the world.
format_addison
Book
Large Print
eAudiobook
format_category_addison
Audio Books
Books
eBook
id
f71c2516-743f-e8f4-e6e7-01fd6256d224
isbn
9781410493576
9781501121142
9781501121234
9781508226864
itype_addison
Fiction
last_indexed
2022-09-29T10:07:14.752Z
lexile_score
-1
literary_form
Fiction
literary_form_full
Fiction
local_callnumber_addison
FIC CORREA A.
LT FIC CORREA A.
Online OverDrive
owning_library_addison
Addison Public Library
Addison Public Library Online
owning_location_addison
Addison Public Library
Online OverDrive Collection
primary_isbn
9781501121234
publishDate
2016
publisher
Atria Books
Simon & Schuster Audio
Thorndike Press
recordtype
grouped_work
subject_facet
Historical fiction
Jews -- Cuba -- Fiction
Jews, German -- Fiction
Large type books
Lion's Club donation, 2016-2017
title_display
The German girl
title_full
The German Girl A Novel
The German girl / Armando Lucas Correa
The German girl / Armando Lucas Correa ; translated by Nick Caistor
title_short
The German girl
topic_facet
Fiction
Historical Fiction
Jews
Jews, German
Large type books
Literature

Solr Details Tables

item_details

Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent URLDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocation
overdrive:de6b9bb7-59db-4b15-9f2c-0bc7b2e0a42d-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueOverDriveChecked Out
overdrive:de6b9bb7-59db-4b15-9f2c-0bc7b2e0a42d1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeAudiobookAudio Books0falsetrueOverDriveChecked Out
ils:.b18482077.i137414212nd Floor- Adult BooksLT FIC CORREA A.1falsefalseCheck ShelfOct 23, 2020afic
ils:.b18505077.i137406472nd Floor- Adult BooksFIC CORREA A.1falsefalseCheck ShelfAug 27, 2021afic

record_details

Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
overdrive:de6b9bb7-59db-4b15-9f2c-0bc7b2e0a42deAudiobookAudio BooksEnglishSimon & Schuster Audio2016
ils:.b18482077Large PrintBooksLarge print editionEnglishThorndike Press2016559 pages (large print) ; 23 cm.
ils:.b18505077BookBooksFirst Atria books hardcover editionEnglishAtria Books2016343 pages, 10 unnumbered pages of plates : illustrations ; 24 cm.

scoping_details_addison

Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:de6b9bb7-59db-4b15-9f2c-0bc7b2e0a42d-1Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsefalse
overdrive:de6b9bb7-59db-4b15-9f2c-0bc7b2e0a42d1Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:.b18482077.i13741421On ShelfCheck Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 10, 12, 20, 21
ils:.b18505077.i13740647On ShelfCheck Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 10, 12, 20, 21