The German girl: A Novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
2016.
Language:
English
Description
AN INTERNATIONAL BESTSELLER Featured in Entertainment Weekly, People, The Millions, and USA TODAY &;An unforgettable and resplendent novel which will take its place among the great historical fiction written about World War II.&; &;Adriana Trigiani, bestselling author of The Shoemaker's Wife A young girl flees Nazi-occupied Germany with her family and best friend, only to discover that the overseas refuge they had been promised is an illusion in this &;engrossing and heartbreaking&; (Library Journal, starred review) debut novel, perfect for fans of The Nightingale, Lilac Girls, and The Tattooist of Auschwitz.Berlin, 1939. Before everything changed, Hannah Rosenthal lived a charmed life. But now the streets of Berlin are draped in ominous flags; her family&;s fine possessions are hauled away; and they are no longer welcome in the places they once considered home. A glimmer of hope appears in the shape of the St. Louis, a transatlantic ocean liner promising Jews safe passage to Cuba. At first, the liner feels like a luxury, but as they travel, the circumstances of war change, and the ship that was to be their salvation seems likely to become their doom. New York, 2014. On her twelfth birthday, Anna Rosen receives a mysterious package from an unknown relative in Cuba, her great-aunt Hannah. Its contents inspire Anna and her mother to travel to Havana to learn the truth about their family&;s mysterious and tragic past. Weaving dual time frames, and based on a true story, The German Girl is a beautifully written and deeply poignant story about generations of exiles seeking a place to call home.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9781501121234
9781501121241
9781501121142
9781410493576
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Tagging
Tags:

No Tags, Be the first to tag this record!


Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work IDf71c2516-743f-e8f4-e6e7-01fd6256d224
Grouping Titlegerman girl
Grouping Authorarmando lucas correa
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2020-10-27 08:34:28AM
Last Indexed2020-10-27 08:36:47AM
Novelist Primary ISBNnone

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
auth_author2Caistor, Nick,
authorCorrea, Armando Lucas, 1959-
author2-roleCaistor, Nick,translator.
author_displayCorrea, Armando Lucas
collection_addisonAdults
detailed_location_addison2nd Floor- Adult Books
Online OverDrive Collection
display_description1939, Berlin. Hannah Rosenthal's family is no longer welcome in the places that once felt like home. Hannah and her best friend, Leo Martin, make a pact: whatever the future has in store for them, they'll meet it together. Hope appears in the form of the SS St. Louis, offering Jews safe passage out of Germany, bound for Havana. Seven decades later in New York City, Anna Rosen receives a strange package from an unknown relative in Cuba, her great-aunt Hannah. The subsequent quest will help Anna understand her place and her purpose in the world.
format_addisonBook
Large Print
eBook
format_category_addisonBooks
eBook
idf71c2516-743f-e8f4-e6e7-01fd6256d224
isbn9781410493576
9781501121142
9781501121234
9781501121241
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
ils:.b18482077.i137414212nd Floor- Adult BooksLT FIC CORREA A.1falsefalseTemporarily UnavailableOct 23, 2020afic
overdrive:d78c236a-8773-4036-a89e-19bdec824cf0-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook1falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadChecked Out
ils:.b18505077.i137406472nd Floor- Adult BooksFIC CORREA A.1falsefalseDue Oct 19, 2020Oct 28, 2019afic
itype_addisonFiction
last_indexed2020-10-27T13:36:47.532Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
local_callnumber_addisonFIC CORREA A.
LT FIC CORREA A.
owning_library_addisonAddison Public Library
owning_location_addisonAddison Public Library
primary_isbn9781501121234
publishDate2016
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
ils:.b18482077Large PrintBooksLarge print edition.EnglishThorndike Press, 2016.559 pages (large print) ; 23 cm.
overdrive:d78c236a-8773-4036-a89e-19bdec824cf0eBookeBookEnglishAtria Books2016
ils:.b18505077BookBooksFirst Atria books hardcover edition.EnglishAtria Books, 2016.343 pages, 10 unnumbered pages of plates : illustrations ; 24 cm.
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_addison
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:.b18482077.i13741421Currently UnavailableTemporarily Unavailablefalsefalsetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 12, 20, 21
overdrive:d78c236a-8773-4036-a89e-19bdec824cf0-1Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsefalse
ils:.b18505077.i13740647Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 12, 20, 21
subject_facetHistorical fiction
Jews -- Cuba -- Fiction
Jews, German -- Fiction
Large type books
Lion's Club donation, 2016-2017
title_displayThe German girl
title_fullThe German Girl A Novel
The German girl / Armando Lucas Correa
The German girl / Armando Lucas Correa ; translated by Nick Caistor
title_shortThe German girl
title_subA Novel
topic_facetFiction
Historical Fiction
Jews
Jews, German
Large type books
Literature