Prince Charles: the passions and paradoxes of an improbable life

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • The life and loves of Prince Charles are illuminated in a major new biography from the New York Times bestselling author of Elizabeth the Queen—perfect for fans of The Crown.

Sally Bedell Smith returns once again to the British royal family to give us a new look at Prince Charles, the oldest heir to the throne in more than three hundred years. This vivid, eye-opening biography—the product of four years of research and hundreds of interviews with palace officials, former girlfriends, spiritual gurus, and more, some speaking on the record for the first time—is the first authoritative treatment of Charles’s life that sheds light on the death of Diana, his marriage to Camilla, and his preparations to take the throne one day.

Prince Charles brings to life the real man, with all of his ambitions, insecurities, and convictions. It begins with his lonely childhood, in which he struggled to live up to his father’s expectations and sought companionship from the Queen Mother and his great-uncle Lord Mountbatten. It follows him through difficult years at school, his early love affairs, his intellectual quests, his entrepreneurial pursuits, and his intense search for spiritual meaning. It tells of the tragedy of his marriage to Diana; his eventual reunion with his true love, Camilla; and his relationships with William, Kate, Harry, and his grandchildren.

Ranging from his glamorous palaces to his country homes, from his globe-trotting travels to his local initiatives, Smith shows how Prince Charles possesses a fiercely independent spirit and yet has spent more than six decades waiting for his destined role, living a life dictated by protocols he often struggles to obey. With keen insight and the discovery of unexpected new details, Smith lays bare the contradictions of a man who is more complicated, tragic, and compelling than we knew, until now.

Praise for Prince Charles

“[Smith] understands the British upper classes and aristocracy (including the royals) very well indeed. . . . [She] makes many telling, shrewd points in pursuit of realigning the popular image of Prince Charles.”—William Boyd, The New York Times Book Review

“[A] masterly account.”The Wall Street Journal

“Thoroughly researched and insightful . . . In this profile, it is clear [Smith] got inside the circular barriers that protect the man and his position. The Charles that emerges is, as the subtitle suggests, both a paradox and a creature of his passions.”The Washington Times

“[A] compellingly juicy bio . . . Windsor-philes will be mesmerized.”People

Prince Charles paints an affectingly human portrait. . . . Smith writes about [Charles’s life] with a skill and sympathy she perfected in her 2012 biography of Charles’s mother.”The Christian Science Monitor

“Comprehensive and admirably fair . . . Until his accession to the throne, Smith’s portrait will stand as the definitive study.”—Booklist (starred review)

“[A] fascinating book that is not just about a man who would be king, but also about the duties that come with privilege.”—Walter Isaacson

“Sally Bedell Smith has given us a complete and compelling portrait of the man in the shadow of the throne. It’s all here, from the back stairs of the palaces to the front pages of the tabs.”—Tom Brokaw
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9781400067909
9780812988437
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Tagging
Tags:

No Tags, Be the first to tag this record!


Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work IDf80da437-1f7b-11cc-c1f0-513d4bd27aec
Grouping Titleprince charles the passions and paradoxes of an improbable life
Grouping Authorsally bedell smith
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2022-09-24 04:40:46AM
Last Indexed2022-09-24 05:09:12AM

Solr Fields

accelerated_reader_point_value
0
accelerated_reader_reading_level
0
author
Smith, Sally Bedell, 1948-
author_display
Smith, Sally Bedell
available_at_addison
Addison Public Library
collection_addison
Adults
detailed_location_addison
2nd Floor- Adult Books
Online OverDrive Collection
display_description
Prince Charles is the oldest heir to the British throne in more than three hundred years. This biography -- the product of four years of research and hundreds of interviews with palace officials, former girlfriends, spiritual gurus, and more -- is filled with fresh insights into Charles's life, in and out of the public eye. It begins with his lonely childhood, in which he struggled to live up to his father's expectations and sought companionship from the Queen Mother and his great-uncle Lord Mountbatten. It follows him through difficult years at school, his early love affairs, his intellectual quests, his entrepreneurial pursuits, and his intense search for spiritual meaning. It tells of the tragedy of his marriage to Diana; his eventual reunion with his true love, Camilla; and his relationship with William, Kate, Harry, and his grandchildren. Ranging from his glamorous palaces to his country homes, from his globe-trotting travels to his local initiatives, Smith shows how Prince Charles possesses a fiercely independent spirit and yet has spent more than six decades waiting for his destined role. His life is dictated by protocol, yet he often struggles to obey it. He seeks influence and authority, yet he lives perpetually in the shadow of his mother and the beloved next generation of royals. Smith lays bare the contradictions of a man who is more complicated, tragic, and compelling than we knew, until now.
format_addison
Book
eBook
format_category_addison
Books
eBook
id
f80da437-1f7b-11cc-c1f0-513d4bd27aec
isbn
9780812988437
9781400067909
itype_addison
Nonfiction
last_indexed
2022-09-24T10:09:12.945Z
lexile_score
-1
literary_form
Non Fiction
literary_form_full
Non Fiction
local_callnumber_addison
BIO 941.085 CHARLES
Online OverDrive
owning_library_addison
Addison Public Library
Addison Public Library Online
owning_location_addison
Addison Public Library
Online OverDrive Collection
primary_isbn
9781400067909
publishDate
2017
publisher
Random House
Random House Publishing Group
recordtype
grouped_work
subject_facet
Charles, -- Prince of Wales, -- 1948-
Charles, -- Prince of Wales, -- 1948- -- Family
Great Britain -- History -- Elizabeth II, 1952-
Princes -- Great Britain -- Biography
Windsor, House of
title_display
Prince Charles : the passions and paradoxes of an improbable life
title_full
Prince Charles : the passions and paradoxes of an improbable life / Sally Bedell Smith
Prince Charles The Passions and Paradoxes of an Improbable Life
title_short
Prince Charles
title_sub
the passions and paradoxes of an improbable life
topic_facet
Biography & Autobiography
Charles
Family
History
Nonfiction
Princes
Windsor, House of

Solr Details Tables

item_details

Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent URLDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocation
overdrive:bc0f944b-ba71-46ea-87b0-22d9d847cb0e-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook2falsetrueOverDriveChecked Out
overdrive:bc0f944b-ba71-46ea-87b0-22d9d847cb0e1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook0falsetrueOverDriveChecked Out
ils:.b1915852x.i138480692nd Floor- Adult BooksBIO 941.085 CHARLES1falsefalseCheck ShelfJul 25, 2017anf

record_details

Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical DescriptionAbridged
overdrive:bc0f944b-ba71-46ea-87b0-22d9d847cb0eeBookeBookEnglishRandom House Publishing Group2017
ils:.b1915852xBookBooksFirst editionEnglishRandom House[2017]xxii, 596 pages, 32 unnumbered pages of plates : illustrations (chiefly color), map ; 25 cm.

scoping_details_addison

Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:bc0f944b-ba71-46ea-87b0-22d9d847cb0e-1Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsefalse
overdrive:bc0f944b-ba71-46ea-87b0-22d9d847cb0e1Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsetrue
ils:.b1915852x.i13848069On ShelfCheck Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 10, 12, 20, 21