The stranger in the woods: the extraordinary story of the last true hermit

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
Many people dream of escaping modern life, but most will never act on it. This is the remarkable true story of a man who lived alone in the woods of Maine for 27 years, making this dream a reality—not out of anger at the world, but simply because he preferred to live on his own. New York Times bestsellerIn 1986, a shy and intelligent twenty-year-old named Christopher Knight left his home in Massachusetts, drove to Maine, and disappeared into the forest. He would not have a conversation with another human being until nearly three decades later, when he was arrested for stealing food. Living in a tent even through brutal winters, he had survived by his wits and courage, developing ingenious ways to store edibles and water, and to avoid freezing to death. He broke into nearby cottages for food, clothing, reading material, and other provisions, taking only what he needed but terrifying a community never able to solve the mysterious burglaries. Based on extensive interviews with Knight himself, this is a vividly detailed account of his secluded life—why did he leave? what did he learn?—as well as the challenges he has faced since returning to the world. It is a gripping story of survival that asks fundamental questions about solitude, community, and what makes a good life, and a deeply moving portrait of a man who was determined to live his own way, and succeeded.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9781101875681
9781101924938
9781101875698
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Tagging
Tags:

No Tags, Be the first to tag this record!


Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work IDf8c86af6-4d0c-ba09-da55-ba37cd21441d
Grouping Titlestranger in the woods the extraordinary story of the last true hermit
Grouping Authormichael finkel
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2020-09-26 04:51:09AM
Last Indexed2020-09-26 05:04:45AM
Novelist Primary ISBN9781101875681

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
auth_author2Bramhall, Mark,
authorMichael Finkel
author2-roleBramhall, Mark,narrator.
cloudLibrary.
author_displayFinkel, Michael
available_at_addisonAddison Public Library
collection_addisonAdults
detailed_location_addison2nd Floor- Adult Books
Axis 360
Online OverDrive Collection
display_description"For readers of Jon Krakauer and The Lost City of Z, a remarkable tale of survival and solitude--the true story of a man who lived alone in a tent in the Maine woods, never talking to another person and surviving by stealing supplies from nearby cabins for twenty-seven years. In 1986, twenty-year-old Christopher Knight left his home in Massachusetts, drove to Maine, and disappeared into the woods. He would not have a conversation with another human being until nearly three decades later when he was arrested for stealing food. Living in a tent even in winter, he had survived by his wits and courage, developing ingenious ways to store food and water, to avoid freezing to death. He broke into nearby cottages for food, clothes, reading material, and other provisions, taking only what he needed, but terrifying a community never able to solve the mysterious burglaries. Based on extensive interviews with Knight himself, this is a vividly detailed account of the why and how of his secluded life--as well as the challenges he has faced returning to the world. A riveting story of survival that asks fundamental questions about solitude, community, and what makes a good life, and a deeply moving portrait of a man who was determined to live his own way, and succeeded"--Publisher description.
format_addisonBook
eAudiobook
eBook
format_category_addisonAudio Books
Books
eBook
eBooks
idf8c86af6-4d0c-ba09-da55-ba37cd21441d
isbn9781101875681
9781101875698
9781101924938
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
ils:.b18726641.i138095202nd Floor- Adult Books974.1 FIN1falsefalseCheck ShelfNov 07, 2019anf
overdrive:c28e9d75-6a09-4956-b495-4420ee845a3b-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook2falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadChecked Out
axis360:bl2017015343bl2017015343Axis 360Online Axis 360eAudiobookAudio Books1falsetrueAxis 360http://ereadil.axis360.baker-taylor.com/Title?itemid=0019834292Available OnlineAxis 360
external_econtent:ils:.b19338260Online1falsetrueCloud Libraryhttp://ebook.yourcloudlibrary.com:80/library/AddisonPublicLibrary-document_id-mw5v9z9Available Onlinead
itype_addisonNonfiction
eCollection
last_indexed2020-09-26T10:04:45.68Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formNon Fiction
literary_form_fullNon Fiction
local_callnumber_addison974.1 FIN
Online
owning_library_addisonAddison Public Library
Addison Public Library Online
owning_location_addisonAddison Public Library
primary_isbn9781101875681
publishDate2017
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
ils:.b18726641BookBooksFirst edition.EnglishAlfred A. Knopf, 2017.203 pages : map, illustrations ; 22 cm.
overdrive:c28e9d75-6a09-4956-b495-4420ee845a3beBookeBookEnglishKnopf Doubleday Publishing Group2017
axis360:bl2017015343eAudiobookAudio BooksUnabridged.EnglishRandom House Audio, [2017]1 online resource (1 audio file)
ils:.b19338260eBookeBooksEnglishKnopf Doubleday Publishing Group, 2017.224 p.
external_econtent:ils:.b19338260eBookeBooksEnglishKnopf Doubleday Publishing Group, 2017.224 p.
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_addison
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:.b18726641.i13809520On ShelfCheck Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 12, 20, 21
overdrive:c28e9d75-6a09-4956-b495-4420ee845a3b-1Checked OutChecked Outfalsefalsetruefalsefalsefalse
axis360:bl2017015343bl2017015343Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsefalse
external_econtent:ils:.b19338260Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsetrue
subject_facetAdventurers & Explorers -- BIOGRAPHY & AUTOBIOGRAPHY
Audiobooks
Biography & Autobiography
Downloadable audio books
Downloadable audiobooks
Electronic books
Forests & Rainforests -- Ecosystems & Habitats
Hermits -- Maine -- Smithfield Region -- Biography
Knight, Christopher Thomas, -- 1965-
Nature
New England (CT, MA, ME, NH, RI, VT) -- Northeast
Nonfiction
Recluses -- Maine -- Smithfield Region -- Biography
Smithfield Region (Me.) -- Biography
Solitude -- Case studies
Survival -- Case studies
Thieves -- Maine -- Smithfield Region -- Biography
Travel
e-Audiobooks
title_displayThe stranger in the woods : the extraordinary story of the last true hermit
title_fullThe Stranger in the Woods The Extraordinary Story of the Last True Hermit
The Stranger in the Woods The Extraordinary Story of the Last True Hermit [electronic resource] Finkel, Michael.
The stranger in the woods : the extraordinary story of the last true hermit / Michael Finkel
title_shortThe stranger in the woods
title_subthe extraordinary story of the last true hermit
topic_facetAdventurers & Explorers
Biography & Autobiography
Downloadable audiobooks
Forests & Rainforests
Hermits
Knight, Christopher Thomas
Nature
New England (CT, MA, ME, NH, RI, VT)
Nonfiction
Recluses
Solitude
Survival
Thieves
Travel
e-Audiobooks