The dream lover: A Novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLERElizabeth Berg has written a lush historical novel based on the sensuous Parisian life of the nineteenth-century writer George Sand—which is perfect for readers of Nancy Horan and Elizabeth Gilbert.At the beginning of this powerful novel, we meet Aurore Dupin as she is leaving her estranged husband, a loveless marriage, and her family’s estate in the French countryside to start a new life in Paris. There, she gives herself a new name—George Sand—and pursues her dream of becoming a writer, embracing an unconventional and even scandalous lifestyle.Paris in the nineteenth century comes vividly alive, illuminated by the story of the loves, passions, and fierce struggles of a woman who defied the confines of society. Sand’s many lovers and friends include Frédéric Chopin, Gustave Flaubert, Franz Liszt, Eugène Delacroix, Victor Hugo, Marie Dorval, and Alfred de Musset. As Sand welcomes fame and friendship, she fights to overcome heartbreak and prejudice, failure and loss. Though considered the most gifted genius of her time, she works to reconcile the pain of her childhood, of disturbing relationships with her mother and daughter, and of her intimacies with women and men. Will the life she longs for always be just out of reach—a dream?Brilliantly written in luminous prose, and with remarkable insights into the heart and mind of a literary force,The Dream Lover tells the unforgettable story of a courageous, irresistible woman.Praise for The Dream Lover“Exquisitely captivating . . . Sand’s story is so timely and modern in an era when gender and sexual roles are upended daily.”USA Today“Fantastic . . . a provocative and dazzling portrait . . . Berg tells a terrific story, while simultaneously exploring sexuality, art, and the difficult personal choices women artists in particular made—then and now—in order to succeed. . . . The book, imagistic and perfectly paced, full of dialogue that clips along, is a reader’s dream.”The Boston Globe“Absorbing . . . an armchair traveler’s delight . . . Berg rolls out the wonders of nineteenth-century Paris in cinematic bursts that capture its light, its street life, its people and sounds. . . . The result is an illuminating portrait of a magnificent woman whose story is enriched by the delicate brush strokes of Berg’s colorful imagination.”Chicago Tribune“Berg weaves an enchanting novel about the real life of George Sand.”Us Weekly“Lavishly described . . . Berg uses her own skill as a writer to graphically present the reader with a clear picture of a brilliant, yet flawed woman.”—FredericksburgFree Lance–Star“[A] beautiful, imaginative re-creation . . . Berg’s years-long immersion in the writings of and about Sand has resulted in a remarkable channeling of Sand’s voice.”Library Journal(starred review)“Berg offers vivid, sensual detail and a sensitive portrayal of the yearning and vulnerability behind Sand’s bold persona.”Publishers Weekly“A thoroughly pleasant escape . . . [Sand is] intoxicating, beautiful, gifted, desirous, unconventional and heartbroken.”Kirkus Reviews
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780812993158
9781491578131
9780679644705
9781491578124
UPC:
9781491578124
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Tagging
Tags:

No Tags, Be the first to tag this record!


Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work IDf9e19229-d254-70d7-32d5-b6f31d5f5f2f
Grouping Titledream lover
Grouping Authorelizabeth berg
Grouping Categorybook
Grouping LanguageEnglish (eng)
Last Grouping Update2020-09-25 04:51:16AM
Last Indexed2020-09-25 05:07:39AM
Novelist Primary ISBNnone

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_point_value0
accelerated_reader_reading_level0
auth_author2Sutton-Smith, Emily.
authorElizabeth Berg
author2-role3M Company.
Sutton-Smith, Emily.
author_displayBerg, Elizabeth
available_at_addisonAddison Public Library
collection_addisonAdults
detailed_location_addison2nd Floor- Adult Audio Books
2nd Floor- Adult Books
Online OverDrive Collection
display_description"George Sand was a 19th century French novelist known not only for her novels but even more for her scandalous behavior." The Dream Lover gives "insight into the heart and mind of a woman who was considered the most passionate and gifted genius of her time."--
format_addisonBook
Book on CD
eBook
format_category_addisonAudio Books
Books
eBook
eBooks
idf9e19229-d254-70d7-32d5-b6f31d5f5f2f
isbn9780679644705
9780812993158
9781491578124
9781491578131
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
overdrive:d56f30d5-e83e-4158-b148-4053ff7d5201-1Online OverDrive CollectionOnline OverDriveeBookeBook5falsetrueOverDriveAdobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive ReadAvailable Online
external_econtent:ils:.b16207841Online1falsetrueCloud Libraryhttp://ebook.3m.com/library/AddisonPublicLibrary-document_id-eyk6cg9Available Onlinead
ils:.b15002068.i1333136x2nd Floor- Adult BooksFIC BERG E.1falsefalseCheck ShelfAug 13, 2019afic
ils:.b14996996.i133351082nd Floor- Adult Audio BooksAUDIO BOOK FIC BERG E.1falsefalseCheck ShelfMar 21, 2017aabrb
itype_addisonAudiobook on CD
Fiction
eCollection
last_indexed2020-09-25T10:07:39.598Z
lexile_score-1
literary_formFiction
literary_form_fullFiction
local_callnumber_addisonAUDIO BOOK FIC BERG E.
FIC BERG E.
Online
owning_library_addisonAddison Public Library
Addison Public Library Online
owning_location_addisonAddison Public Library
primary_isbn9780812993158
primary_upc9781491578124
publishDate2015
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
overdrive:d56f30d5-e83e-4158-b148-4053ff7d5201eBookeBookEnglishRandom House Publishing Group2015
ils:.b16207841eBookeBooksEnglishRandom House Publishing Group, 2015.384 p.
external_econtent:ils:.b16207841eBookeBooksEnglishRandom House Publishing Group, 2015.384 p.
ils:.b15002068BookBooksFirst edition.EnglishRandom House, [2015]356 pages ; 24 cm.
ils:.b14996996Book on CDAudio BooksUnabridged.EnglishBrilliance Audio[2015]10 audio discs (12 hr., 50 min.) : digital, CD audio ; 4 3/4 in.
recordtypegrouped_work
scoping_details_addison
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:d56f30d5-e83e-4158-b148-4053ff7d5201-1Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruetruefalsefalsefalse
external_econtent:ils:.b16207841Available OnlineAvailable Onlinefalsetruefalsefalsefalsetrue
ils:.b15002068.i1333136xOn ShelfCheck Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 12, 20, 21
ils:.b14996996.i13335108On ShelfCheck Shelffalsetruetruefalsefalsetrue0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 12, 20, 21
seriesBrilliance Audio on compact disc
George Sand
series_with_volumeBrilliance Audio on compact disc|
George Sand|
subject_facetAudiobooks
Biographical -- FICTION
Biographical fiction
Electronic books
Historical -- FICTION
Historical fiction
Literary -- FICTION
Novelists -- Fiction
Sand, George, -- 1804-1876 -- Fiction
title_displayThe dream lover : a novel
title_fullThe Dream Lover A Novel [electronic resource] Berg, Elizabeth.
The Dream Lover A Novel of George Sand
The dream lover : a novel / Elizabeth Berg
The dream lover : a novel / Elizabeth Berg
title_shortThe dream lover
title_subA Novel
topic_facetBiographical
Fiction
Historical
Historical Fiction
Literary
Novelists
Sand, George
upc9781491578124