The broken wings
(Book)

Book Cover
Average Rating
Published:
New York : Citadel Press, c1957.
Status:
2nd Floor- Adult Books
892.785 GIB
Description
In Broken Wings, Kahlil Gibran uncovers the glory and pain of young love. This loosely autobiographical story is in the tradition of Romeo and Juliet, but with Gibran's characteristic lush Oriental settings and images. A young Kahlil is introduced to Faris Karama, a wealthy and good-hearted merchant of Beirut, and his daughter, Salma. Kahlil and Salma are deeply attracted to one another and continue to meet regularly, with the blessings of Faris Karama. But a powerful priest, Father Ghalib, in order to gain access to the Karama fortune, demands that his son be allowed to marry Salma. Kahlil and Salma find ways to continue meeting in secret, but their love is doomed and Gibran exposes the social and personal hypocrisy that forbids true love to blossom. Broken Wings is a deeply moving love story that explores the spiritual theme of the meaning of human existence in a world that contains profound beauty and love amidst the stains of greed and pains of suffering. Gibran eloquently speaks of the ways of the heart that can be denied, but only with tragic results. Juan Cole's translation captures the magic of Gibran's matchless Arabic prose.
Also in This Series
Copies
Location
Call Number
Status
Last Check-In
2nd Floor- Adult Books
892.785 GIB
Check Shelf
Apr 15, 2014
More Like This
Other Editions and Formats
More Details
Format:
Book
Physical Desc:
128 pages ; 21 cm.
Language:
English

Notes

General Note
Translation of al-Ajniḥah al-mutakassirah (romanized form)
Tagging
Tags:

No Tags, Be the first to tag this record!


Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

Gibran, K. (1957). The broken wings. New York: Citadel Press.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Gibran, Kahlil, 1883-1931. 1957. The Broken Wings. New York: Citadel Press.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Gibran, Kahlil, 1883-1931, The Broken Wings. New York: Citadel Press, 1957.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Gibran, Kahlil. The Broken Wings. New York: Citadel Press, 1957. Print.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2010. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
9acea0ff-83e7-3498-c0dc-77ceccfb8df7
Go To GroupedWork

Record Information

Last File Modification TimeMar 13, 2019 04:50:32 AM
Last Grouped Work Modification TimeMar 29, 2020 09:00:01 PM

MARC Record

LEADER00947cam a22002651 4500
001ocm00350622
00519901103141600.0
008760422s1957    nyu           000 0 engx 
010 |a  57011769 /L/r83
019 |a 1123909|a 2871420|a 3365340|a 7089848
040 |a DLC|c DLC|d m.c.
0411 |a engara
0500 |a PJ7826.I2|b B7
082 |a 892.73
092 |a 892.785 GIB
1001 |a Gibran, Kahlil,|d 1883-1931.
24514|a The broken wings /|c translated from the Arabic by Anthony R. Ferris.
2600 |a New York :|b Citadel Press,|c c1957.
300 |a 128 p. ;|c 21 cm.
500 |a Translation of al-Ajniḥah al-mutakassirah (romanized form)
73002|a Ajniḥah al-mutakassirah.|l English.
907 |a .b10036611|b 11-21-05|c 05-05-04
998 |a an|b 05-05-04|c m|d a |e -|f eng|g nyu|h 4|i 2
935 |a AAF-0691
945 |g 1|i 31338000930955|j  - - |k 04-15-14|l anf |n A|o -|p $3.00|q -|r -|s - |t 0|u 17|v 2|w 0|x 0|y .i10040687|z 05-06-04