The only girl in the world: a memoir
(Book)

Book Cover
Average Rating
Contributors:
Gauthier, Ursula, author.
Hunter, Adriana, translator.
Published:
New York : Little, Brown and Company, 2017.
ISBN:
9780316466622, 031646662X
Status:
2nd Floor- Adult Books
BIO 362.76 JULIEN M.
Description
An Amazon Best Book of the Month: For readers of Room and The Glass Castle, an astonishing memoir of one woman rising above an unimaginable childhood. Maude Julien's parents were fanatics who believed it was their sacred duty to turn her into the ultimate survivor -- raising her in isolation, tyrannizing her childhood and subjecting her to endless drills designed to "eliminate weakness." Maude learned to hold an electric fence for minutes without flinching, and to sit perfectly still in a rat-infested cellar all night long (her mother sewed bells onto her clothes that would give her away if she moved). She endured a life without heat, hot water, adequate food, friendship, or any kind of affectionate treatment. But Maude's parents could not rule her inner life. Befriending the animals on the lonely estate as well as the characters in the novels she read in secret, young Maude nurtured in herself the compassion and love that her parents forbid as weak. And when, after more than a decade, an outsider managed to penetrate her family's paranoid world, Maude seized her opportunity. By turns horrifying and magical, The Only Girl in the World is a story that will grip you from the first page and leave you spellbound, a chilling exploration of psychological control that ends with a glorious escape.
Also in This Series
Copies
Location
Call Number
Status
Last Check-In
2nd Floor- Adult Books
BIO 362.76 JULIEN M.
Check Shelf
Dec 19, 2018
More Like This
Other Editions and Formats
More Details
Format:
Book
Edition:
First North American edition.
Physical Desc:
273 pages : illustration ; 22 cm.
Language:
English

Notes

Description
"Maude Julien's parents were fanatics who believed it was their sacred duty to turn her into the ultimate survivor--raising her in isolation and subjecting her to endless drills designed to "eliminate weakness." Maude learned to hold an electric fence for minutes without flinching, and to sit perfectly still in a rat-infested cellar all night long (her mother sewed bells onto her clothes that would give her away if she moved). She endured a life without heat, hot water, adequate food, friendship, or any kind of affectionate treatment. But Maude's parents could not rule her inner life. Befriending the animals on her parents' lonely estate as well as the characters in the novels she read in secret, young Maude nurtured in herself the compassion and love that her parents forbade as weak. And when, after more than a decade, an outsider managed to penetrate her family's paranoid world, Maude seized her opportunity to break free. By turns horrifying and magical, [this book] is a story that will grip you from the first page and leave you spellbound by its chilling exploration of psychological control that ends with a glorious escape."--Jacket.
Language
Translated from the French.
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Tagging
Tags:

No Tags, Be the first to tag this record!


Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

Julien, M., Gauthier, U., & Hunter, A. (2017). The only girl in the world: a memoir. First North American edition. New York: Little, Brown and Company.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Julien, Maude, 1957-, Ursula, Gauthier and Adriana, Hunter. 2017. The Only Girl in the World: A Memoir. New York: Little, Brown and Company.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Julien, Maude, 1957-, Ursula, Gauthier and Adriana, Hunter, The Only Girl in the World: A Memoir. New York: Little, Brown and Company, 2017.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Julien, Maude, Ursula Gauthier, and Adriana Hunter. The Only Girl in the World: A Memoir. First North American edition. New York: Little, Brown and Company, 2017. Print.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2010. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
d0ee5a25-8973-068b-5aae-f04cb82487c0
Go To GroupedWork

Record Information

Last Sierra Extract TimeMay 01, 2020 10:52:53 AM
Last File Modification TimeSep 01, 2020 09:45:13 PM
Last Grouped Work Modification TimeJan 26, 2021 04:51:38 AM

MARC Record

LEADER03046cam a2200517Ii 4500
001ocm1013189364
003OCoLC
00520180119102220.0
008171128r20172017nyua          000 0aeng d
010 |a 2017934593
019 |a 1016328117
020 |a 9780316466622|q (hardcover)
020 |a 031646662X|q (hardcover)
035 |a (OCoLC)1013189364|z (OCoLC)1016328117
040 |a CGL|b eng|e rda|c CGL|d CGL|d OCLCO|d BDX|d ZQP|d ZHB|d JAI|d CZA|d IUK|d TXLPL|d VP@|d BUR|d IGA|d OCLCQ|d P@N|d CNEDM|d TXHUT|d TJZ|d OCP|d JVK
0411 |a eng|h fre
043 |a e-fr---
049 |a JVKA
05014|a HV6626.54.F8|b J8513 2017
08204|a 362.76092|a B|2 23
092 |a BIO 362.76 JULIEN M.
1001 |a Julien, Maude,|d 1957-|e author.
24514|a The only girl in the world :|b a memoir /|c Maude Julien with Ursula Gauthier ; translated by Adriana Hunter.
250 |a First North American edition.
264 1|a New York :|b Little, Brown and Company,|c 2017.
264 4|c ©2017.
300 |a 273 pages :|b illustration ;|c 22 cm.
336 |a text|b txt|2 rdacontent.
337 |a unmediated|b n|2 rdamedia.
338 |a volume|b nc|2 rdacarrier.
520 |a "Maude Julien's parents were fanatics who believed it was their sacred duty to turn her into the ultimate survivor--raising her in isolation and subjecting her to endless drills designed to "eliminate weakness." Maude learned to hold an electric fence for minutes without flinching, and to sit perfectly still in a rat-infested cellar all night long (her mother sewed bells onto her clothes that would give her away if she moved). She endured a life without heat, hot water, adequate food, friendship, or any kind of affectionate treatment. But Maude's parents could not rule her inner life. Befriending the animals on her parents' lonely estate as well as the characters in the novels she read in secret, young Maude nurtured in herself the compassion and love that her parents forbade as weak. And when, after more than a decade, an outsider managed to penetrate her family's paranoid world, Maude seized her opportunity to break free. By turns horrifying and magical, [this book] is a story that will grip you from the first page and leave you spellbound by its chilling exploration of psychological control that ends with a glorious escape."--Jacket.
546 |a Translated from the French.
60010|a Julien, Maude,|d 1957-
650 0|a Abused children|z France|v Biography.
650 0|a Psychologically abused children|z France|v Biography.
650 0|a Adult child abuse victims' writings.
650 0|a Psychological torture.
655 7|a Autobiographies.|2 lcgft.
7001 |a Gauthier, Ursula,|e author.
7001 |a Hunter, Adriana,|e translator.
7300 |a Derrière la grille.|l English.
907 |a .b20007462|b 05-08-19|c 08-09-17
998 |a an|b 01-19-18|c m|d a |e -|f eng|g nyu|h 4|i 1
999 |a ss
994 |a C0|b JVK
945 |g 1|i 31338006315177|j  - - |k 12-19-18|l anf |o -|p $27.00|q -|r -|s - |t 0|u 2|v 0|w 0|x 0|y .i14016242|z 01-19-18