Mr. Churchill's secretary: a novel
(Book)

Book Cover
Average Rating
Series:
Published:
New York : Bantam Books Trade Paperback, ©2012.
ISBN:
9780553593617, 0553593617
Status:
2nd Floor- Adult Books
CRIME MACNEAL S.
Description
For fans of Jacqueline Winspear, Laurie R. King, and Anne Perry, Mr. Churchill&;s Secretary captures the drama of an era of unprecedented challenge&;and the greatness that rose to meet it.London, 1940. Winston Churchill has just been sworn in, war rages across the Channel, and the threat of a Blitz looms larger by the day. But none of this deters Maggie Hope. She graduated at the top of her college class and possesses all the skills of the finest minds in British intelligence, but her gender qualifies her only to be the newest typist at No. 10 Downing Street. Her indefatigable spirit and remarkable gifts for codebreaking, though, rival those of even the highest men in government, and Maggie finds that working for the prime minister affords her a level of clearance she could never have imagined&;and opportunities she will not let pass. In troubled, deadly times, with air-raid sirens sending multitudes underground, access to the War Rooms also exposes Maggie to the machinations of a menacing faction determined to do whatever it takes to change the course of history.Ensnared in a web of spies, murder, and intrigue, Maggie must work quickly to balance her duty to King and Country with her chances for survival. And when she unravels a mystery that points toward her own family&;s hidden secrets, she&;ll discover that her quick wits are all that stand between an assassin&;s murderous plan and Churchill himself.In this daring debut, Susan Elia MacNeal blends meticulous research on the era, psychological insight into Winston Churchill, and the creation of a riveting main character, Maggie Hope, into a spectacularly crafted novel.
Also in This Series
Copies
Location
Call Number
Status
2nd Floor- Adult Books
CRIME MACNEAL S.
Check Shelf
More Like This
Other Editions and Formats
More Details
Format:
Book
Physical Desc:
373 pages ; 21 cm.
Language:
English

Notes

Description
After German Luftwaffe bomb London, Maggie Hope--trained in math and code breaking, but only able to find a job as Winston Churchill's secretary--uses the access her position demands to try to unravel an assassination plot.
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Tagging
Tags:

No Tags, Be the first to tag this record!


Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

MacNeal, S. E. (2012). Mr. Churchill's secretary: a novel. New York: Bantam Books Trade Paperback.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

MacNeal, Susan Elia. 2012. Mr. Churchill's Secretary: A Novel. New York: Bantam Books Trade Paperback.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

MacNeal, Susan Elia, Mr. Churchill's Secretary: A Novel. New York: Bantam Books Trade Paperback, 2012.

MLA Citation (style guide)

MacNeal, Susan Elia. Mr. Churchill's Secretary: A Novel. New York: Bantam Books Trade Paperback, 2012. Print.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2010. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
59e5bc1d-8feb-9004-73ad-59b9728c3a6b
Go To GroupedWork

Record Information

Last Sierra Extract TimeFeb 04, 2020 11:48:44 AM
Last File Modification TimeSep 01, 2020 09:52:19 PM
Last Grouped Work Modification TimeDec 01, 2020 04:51:28 AM

MARC Record

LEADER02317cam a22005054a 4500
001ocm692288116
003OCoLC
00520200203121442.0
008110722s2012    nyu    e      000 1 eng  
010 |a 2011027603
019 |a 785231868|a 798733096|a 974298698|a 981584523|a 1005470021
020 |a 9780553593617|q (pbk.)
020 |a 0553593617|q (pbk.)
035 |a (OCoLC)692288116|z (OCoLC)785231868|z (OCoLC)798733096|z (OCoLC)974298698|z (OCoLC)981584523|z (OCoLC)1005470021
040 |a DLC|b eng|c DLC|d BTCTA|d BDX|d ABG|d YDXCP|d ZAC|d VP@|d CZA|d BWX|d EYP|d UBY|d AZZPT|d OCLCF|d CHVBK|d OCLCQ|d OCL|d GL3|d NZAUC|d OCLCO|d OCL|d XFG|d NZIPP|d OCLCO|d LTP|d TXLBH|d IGA|d SFR|d BYV|d OCLCA|d OCLCQ|d T7F|d OCLCO|d QT4|d OCL|d BRL|d OCLCA|d MCT|d OCLCO|d JYQ|d LKC|d OCLCO|d LMJ|d OCLCO|d UZA|d UTP|d OCLCO|d IQ0|d JX9|d OCLCO|d TXUPP|d OCLCO|d OCL|d CHBRC|d OCLCO|d JVK
043 |a e-uk-en
049 |a JVKA
05000|a PS3613.A2774|b M7 2012
08200|a 813/.6|2 22
092 |a CRIME MACNEAL S.
1001 |a MacNeal, Susan Elia.
24510|a Mr. Churchill's secretary :|b a novel /|c Susan Elia MacNeal.
260 |a New York :|b Bantam Books Trade Paperback,|c ©2012.
300 |a 373 pages ;|c 21 cm.
336 |a text|b txt|2 rdacontent.
337 |a unmediated|b n|2 rdamedia.
338 |a volume|b nc|2 rdacarrier.
4901 |a Maggie Hope mystery ;|v 1.
520 |a After German Luftwaffe bomb London, Maggie Hope--trained in math and code breaking, but only able to find a job as Winston Churchill's secretary--uses the access her position demands to try to unravel an assassination plot.
60010|a Churchill, Winston,|d 1874-1965|v Fiction.
650 0|a Americans|z England|z London|v Fiction.
650 0|a Private secretaries|v Fiction.
650 0|a World War, 1939-1945|z Great Britain|v Fiction.
650 0|a Nazis|v Fiction.
650 0|a Secretaries|v Fiction.
655 7|a Thrillers (Fiction)|2 lcgft.
655 7|a Historical fiction.|2 lcgft.
655 7|a Romance fiction.|2 lcgft.
655 7|a Spy stories.|2 gsafd.
830 0|a Maggie Hope mystery ;|v 1.
907 |a .b22205238|b 02-03-20|c 01-09-20
998 |a af|b 02-03-20|c m|d a |e -|f eng|g nyu|h 0|i 1
999 |a ss
994 |a C0|b JVK
945 |g 1|i 31338006736471|j  - - |k  - - |l afic |o -|p $16.00|q -|r -|s - |t 2|u 0|v 0|w 0|x 0|y .i14565730|z 02-03-20